We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful retreat at a stressful time”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I love the Oswego!! I've stayed in the studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites for business and family get-aways and will never stay anywhere else in Victoria.

Last week I booked a one-bedroom suite for my parents as my dad had some medical appointments in Victoria. The Oswego actually offers a discount if you are visiting for medical reasons. The care and concern the staff exhibited was exceptional; they really care! The full kitchen was ideal for my dad to bring his own food and juicer and follow his medical diet. My parents both really enjoyed the lovely Oswego; it helped to turn a difficult situation into a peaceful get-away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoomChickaCUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your stay with us.

We would like to wish your family member a speedy recovery.

We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious suites with the fully equipped kitchens in all room types.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel through an overnight trip with the Victoria Clipper. We arrived a bit early to check our bags in, but they had a room available for us. The front desk employees were very kind and offered up loads of helpful information. Everything was clean and crisp. Our room was very tidy and had everything we needed and then some. A small kitchen, music player, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. This hotel would be perfect for an extended stay as well; unfortunately we only had one night. The location was easy to find and close to the heart of Victoria. We received a courtesy call to be sure our room met our needs which I thought was very nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short or long stay while visiting Victoria.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

Our guest experience is very important to the team as we value our guests so much. I am glad that you enjoyed the special touches that make our guests experience so much more.

We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Oswego Hotel was a good experience. When we arrived our room was not ready so they gave us gave us drinks at no charge and then upgraded our room. The rooms and hotel was very clean and updated. My only downer would be no free breakfast like most places. You do have a full kitchen in your room so stop by a market first and get supplies for your meals. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdsmallville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

All of our suites have full kitchens and many of our guests enjoy preparing their own food in their kitchens. We do have breakfast available in room service or also in the O bistro. However, we do not advertise a complimentary breakfast is available.

We hope to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A few fresh apples, French press in-room coffee and fresh cream in the fridge (not to mention the lovely Victoria Art Gallery book on the coffee table) .... just a few reasons to stay in this great Boutique Hotel. I could also mention the lovely decor, view of Victoria houses with a glimpse of water in the background and friendly service.

We stayed here with a gift certificate received through a silent auction for the Victoria Prostate Center ... so this place has a heart, too.

Room Tip: I think we had a premium suite; apparently some of the room have had recent upgrades but the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Wow, what a lovely review and we are thrilled you enjoyed the unique things that the Oswego has to offer.

Yes we are strong supporters in the community and sincerely give back to many non profit organizations on a regular basis.

Thank you for coming to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I travel to Victoria every year, and, hands down, this has been the best hotel experience after 15 years of trying different properties. It is a block from the inner harbour, and so central. If you have a car, splurge and pay the $15 a day for parking as it is limited during the week, weekends are not as limited. If you ask for a south facing room, you will have a view of the Olympic mtn's. Rooms with a view of the Empress and harbour are limited in general due to the Harbour Towers hotel on its north side. We had a pleasant surprise upgrade upon arrival to a 2 bedroom suite (huge! We were wishing to share it with friends but thankfully the hotel has a no noise policy after 11 pm). Spotlessly clean, and it's contemporary decor that just fits with the west coast theme will ensure we will return to stay here next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandKEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Please keep coming back to stay with us as - we appreciate you!

We are glad that you found us in the vast array of hotel choices in Victoria. Happy that you enjoyed the location and hotel amenities.

See you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

If you're a couple and used to a king sized bed, this is not the hotel for you. I didn't get an ounce of sleep last night and I'm exhausted. Almost too tired to write this review!

When I called guest services, they informed me flatly, that ALL of the rooms have queen beds. Yikes!

So tonight, my hubby will have to sleep on the pull out... Really a shame because the room, while lovely, was very, very expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the suites overall but our apologies that a queen size bed made for an uncomfortable night for you and your husband.

The rate that was paid for the suite was in line with our low season rates.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

More then we were expecting... We booked a studio, expecting a very small room, not even close! The room was large and included a galley type kitchen with every utensil included. The bathroom was large and clean with separate tub and shower. Fast internet also provided. My only complaint was that the previous occupant of the room set the alarm clock before leaving and we were awakened in the middle of the night, besides that a wonderful Hotel!! Staff helpful with directions to local sights. We will stay at the Oswego again! Book in combination with Clipper for a great price!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our suites. We have recently renovated our Studio suites and replaced with a queen size bed. Yourselves like many of our guests are now enjoying the studio and the small kitchen included.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,137 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,080 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £80 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing