We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Victoria”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
“Best place to stay in Victoria”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is an outstanding little hotel in Victoria. Perfect for a few nights or a few weeks. We have stayed several times and loved it each time. The suites are clean and spacious with great balconies (especially the ones with the ocean views), and the kitchenettes are perfect for holidays where you want to prepare a little of your own food. Great restaurant downstairs for breakfast or dinner. Lovely staff. Fair and reasonable price which is really appreciated these days. I highly recommend this hotel and I just hope it doesn't get too busy so I can always stay there whenever I am in town!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the balconies with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_Ashley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel as your hotel of choice whilst staying in Victoria. We like to look after all of our guests but, we really value our loyal repeat guests too.

I am glad that you enjoyed the areas of the hotel and the service.

Our guests are important to us and we will continue to strive to deliver the best service and standards that we can give.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    418
    96
    40
    21
See reviews for
439
878
86
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were unfamiliar with this hotel when we booked, but we were very impressed with the staff, the service and the facility. Courteous, attentive staff and a clean and modern suite. Perfect location just a bit off the harbour so away from the full blown hustle and bustle, but close enough to get to activities quickly. Turn down service was a pleasant surprise. We stayed for a full week and really appreciated a welcoming place to return to each day. The staff was very helpful each time we required assistance with extra items, car rentals, etc. We would absolutely recommend this hotel again - especially for couples or business trips. Was a treat for our family (teens probably a better fit than wee ones).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your enjoyable stay at the hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our spacious suites partnered with our amenities and service for an extended period of time.

We appreciate you choosing our hotel to stay at and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had the opportunity to spend 2 nights at the Oswego Hotel in early April, 2014 along with our brother and sister-in-law. We absolutely loved the 2-bedroom suite, the complete kitchen facilities, the lounge area and fabulous views from the 2 balconies. It was perfect!
The turn down service with chocolates and mint water was delightful and so unexpected!
Each and every staff member was so courteous and helpful.
We would highly recommend the Oswego, and in fact, we did, and our daughter and family members enjoyed the same experience on the Easter weekend in April. They enjoyed the extra special attention and treats offered for the small dog they had with them - they were 'over the moon' with the service and attention they received!
On all our overnight trips to Victoria, we will definitely stay at the Oswego, and we will look forward to it. (Caroline & John Poloni, South Surrey/White Rock, BC)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinePoloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderfully positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and also the service and standards that are important to the team for our guests.

We do love pets and assign them in designated rooms and provide them with welcome amenities. We know that for many people their family pet being welcomed and enjoying the vacation is just as important as people.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us next time you are in Victoria. In the meantime I hope that you have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I are on our annual wedding anniversary trip, and had the pleasure of staying at The Oswego in Victoria.
The room was perfect - clean, modern, great view and well-appointed.
The staff here really went the extra mile to make our anniversary stay special - we were surprised to come back to our room in the evening with a turn-down service done complete with chocolates on our bed, mint water at our bedsides, and a plate of delicious flavour filled chocolates topped with a ground cherry!
The only downside is that parking was not included in the booking price, nor were there bathrobes as were quoted on the booking website, but overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenFM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us - we appreciate it!

The team work hard on providing a high level of service for our guest's experience - we are glad that we delivered on these points for you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the very near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is an absolutely perfect boutique hotel in a charming city. The rooms are like 1 Brm condos. Excellent layout, very spacious, well-appointed, great views, exceptional staff, secure parking. And..a very good dining room. Wish this was a chain so that we could stay in this hotel wherever we travelled. You will be delighted.

Room Tip: if you can get room 901, you will be very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Wow, thank you for your review! Your comments will be passed onto the hardworking team we have.

We are very pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the service offered.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We chose his hotel on the recommendation of tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the core downtown area and we could walk to places we were interested in seeing. The rooms are are really good size with kitchens, a small table to eat at and plenty of utensils and cutlery. Our bed was super comfortable. A supermarket is a 10 min walk away, the concierge gave great directions. The staff were always welcoming and happy to answer questions. My only gripe was the shower pressure was not fabulous, but this was very minor in light of the comfortable room and superb service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. We very pleased that you enjoyed the many aspects of the hotel.

We have passed on your comments regarding the maintenance issues with the our maintenance team as we haven't received any previous complaints about shower pressure.

We hope you come back and stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have stayed at this wonderful hotel on two occasions, first time in a one bedroom and second in a two bedroom. They were well appointed, very conveniently appointed and service was superb. They are very pet friendly, but the rooms were immaculate both times. If you want a view of the harbor, this is not the hotel for you. But it's only one block away, a lot quieter, and just a classy place. No spa or pool, but that was not important to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandTom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay (s) at the Oswego hotel. The team work hard to provide the best guest experience and we are glad that we delivered this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,060 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,036 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing