We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING hotel only blocks from the harbor”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING hotel only blocks from the harbor”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect from this non-chain hotel, but I was blown away. Although it is located on a quiet residential street, it is only a couple of blocks from the harbor. The location is super convenient for those disembarking a cruise ship.

My room was SPOTLESS and well appointed. Free WiFi, a comfortable bed, and a kitchen made for a perfect stay. The front desk staff was top notch. I would rate this hotel on par with a Westin or W - def above a Marriott or Crowne Plaza.

I have paid 3x as much for hotels in other cities that disappointed me, but The Oswego Hotel exceeded all my needs. If returning to Victoria, this would be the first hotel that I would book.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecaarch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Wow thank you for your review and your comments

Yes we are an independent boutique style hotel and our service is attentive and refined. We value our guests and having such a strong repeat clientele base we work hard for our guests to enjoy our hotel and service whilst staying with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the 'little touches' that provided this great experience.

Come back and visit again soon

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    417
    95
    39
    21
See reviews for
436
877
86
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Fantastic hotel/apartment-friendly, professional, stylish and casual all rollled into one delightful place to stay. They even let us take our bicycles into the room. I'd definitely recommend the jazz night and dinner. I've stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world and this is in my top 3!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zdas8979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Wow - we appreciate the accolade. I will pass on your positive comments to our team.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities during your stay with us.

Come back and visit us again soon - we look forward to welcoming you

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port McNeill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It's my third time staying at this hotel and I always feel so spoiled. The service is amazing and the room is super clean. I love the fact it has a full kitchen. It made it easier for my friend who is on a special diet.This hotel feels like having a condo in a beautiful city and the location is very convenient and yet in a quiet area.The staff is always so accommodating. They upgraded me to a two bedroom and it made my stay so much more comfortable...much appreciated since I was in town for surgery. They also extended the check out time so it would be more comfortable while waiting for my follow up doctor's appointment. I had some food from the restaurant downstairs and it was excellent. The underground parking is so convenient, secure and very clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyne131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel. We value our guests and the staff always goes above and beyond to ensure you and each of our guests are happy with your stay with us.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stay here in mid-May. I did read that there was no air conditioning and thought it would be ok. Unfortunately there was a heat wave the week we were there and it was SO HOT in our room! My 2 year old daughter woke up at 4am and said "i'm hot!" so I opened the balcony door. It might be ok if you could keep the balcony door open all day and night (the windows in the living room are puny), but as we have a toddler, this was not an option for us (think-curious toddlers who like to climb-no go on the third floor). Anyway, it was a nice hotel, staff was very friendly, and it's certainly not their fault someone decided to build this condo without AC! Also would be nice to have a pool, but I had the choice between a pool and a kitchen and with a toddler we chose the kitchen :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradyna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the overall hotel amenities and service.

Victoria's climate is normally mild but the week you stayed with us in May it was hotter than usual. Very few hotels in Victoria do have air conditioning. Our suites do have windows that open and ceiling fans to cool down the suites during the day.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Don't give ratings like this often, but there is nothing that could have made this stay better! Spotlessly clean, superior service throughout the hotel, amazing setting just 3 blocks from the harbor, and apartment-sized room with everything provided. The Oswego is tucked back into a neighborhood just off the beaten path which was even more perfect.
I could not recommend this hotel more highly. It was our 40th anniversary and while checking in, there was a couple who had just been married so we remarked at how good that date was to get married. The next day, the staff brought up a plate of strawberries and wonderful chocolate truffles and a hand-written note from the manager wishing us a very happy anniversary. How do you top that?

Room Tip: Every room is unique and a different floor plan. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duaneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for an amazing and positive review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay and all aspects met and exceeded your expectations. I will pass on your wonderful comments to our team.

Happy Anniversary and we appreciate that you chose our hotel to celebrate your special occasion.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the very near future.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was our second stay, and once again it was excellent all around, from start to finish!!
Staff was excellent, room was clean and well equipped, food was great in restaurant!!
We enjoyed the Wednesday Night Jazz on both visits!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trksandlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Appreciate you coming back and being one of our repeat guests - our guest experience is a huge focus for the team! We are pleased that you encountered a positive stay previously and this past stay with us.

We hope that you come back and stay again very soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I took the Ferry from Port Angeles. It was a short walk to the hotel. I arrived at 10 am too early I thought for my room. I was expecting to wait until 3 for my room. To my surprise they offered me a 1 bedroom suite that was ready then for a minimal charge. I was so excited and happy to have my room early. The rooms are the size of a small apt with a modern Deco. Very nice and clean. It felt like home. I went down and had a delicious breakfast and was able to fit in a nap before I my 5 hour walk around town. I made arrangements with the front desk for a tour of gardens the next morning. Checked my luggage at the hotel and enjoyed my day at the Gardens and the Museum before I took the 4 pm Ferry back to Port Angeles.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are nice. They have balcony's and kitchens fully stocked if you are sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realtortothestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.

We recognize that when travelling it can be stressful and tiring. We try our best to accommodate early check in requests or offer alternative room types for a nominal fee if available so that early check ins can be given.

I will pass on your positive comments about your stay with us to our team.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,058 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing