We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Back!”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I first visited the Owsego when they opened a number of years ago. Upon my arrival this time there was a personal note from the manager welcoming me back! ( nice touch you...) While there was a wedding on Saturday night which closed the bistro, the staff made great recommendations for cool restaurants in walking distance. Our room was spotless, quiet and a great couples escape. We'll be back!

Room Tip: chose a room numbered X08 ( south side) for a great view of the Cascades in WA, just across the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neo604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review - We definitely value all of our guests but especially our guests that keep returning to stay with us. We appreciate you!

Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our location and amenities

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,881 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The suite was large and comfortable, with modern high-end decor. Bed was great, and all suites have kitchenettes and luxurious bathrooms.
Staff was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable, and noticed that hotel security was perhaps a step above.
We only stayed one night, but it would probably be good for longer stays, although there is no pool or hot tub. Had breakfast only in the restaurant (too many favourite restaurants in the area!), and although the food was quite good the service was slow, even though it was not busy.
The lounge is very quiet, if you like that, but we weren't there the night they have live jazz, so may be livelier then.
Overall, would be happy to stay here again if the price was right (which it sometimes is)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review.

I apologize that you found our service a little slow in the O Bistro. I have passed your comments onto the Food and Beverage Supervisor so that we can improve for all of our guests.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel overall and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Oswego for a work function; even though it was a 'no-name' brand hotel, I was pleasantly surprised; boutique chocolates in the room, personalized welcome letter, chocolates on the pillow at night, and even a carafe of water with a mint leaf at bed side. You don't see that in your standard hotel! The building was built as a condo complex, so the rooms are all a good size; some with separate 1 or 2 bedrooms + full kitchen. The only drawback for me was there was no air conditioning, although opening a window or the balcony door allows the breeze from the ocean to roll right though.
I will be back, for pleasure, next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLHTCUSE2-Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location of the hotel is good and the staff are very friendly. It seems to be more of a residential hotel, because the lobby is very small and the lounge and breakfast room not particularly inviting. My suite was large, but the bathroom was off the kitchenette rather than the bedroom, which was awkward. I could have settled in for a month, however, with the full-sized refrigerator and stove, and big closets!

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thornReginaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, location and amenities.

We pride ourselves on our quieter location off the Inner Harbour and spacious suites. We do not have any people that live at the hotel and are 100% hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The staff at the Oswego is fantastic. The rooms are trendy, new, clean and professionally decorated. My husband and I travel frequently to resorts all over North America, and this hotel is comparable to some of the top 5 star resorts that we've visited. I've stayed at the Oswego in the past when I work for a local company here in Victoria, and travelled once a month for business. I've always received consistent service and quality. I never had one bad experience with this hotel, and one of the reasons I come back and continue to recommend this place to anyone travelling to Victoria. The prices are extremely competitive making it an easy decision. If I could say one thing that would push this hotel over the top, it would be to have faster internet service for those who do business.

Located just a block away from the epicenter of Victoria, you won't need to drive anywhere to see all of the sites and do business. We were upgraded from a one to two bedroom suite and it was absolutely beautiful. We were welcome by a plate of chocolates and a nice message from the management. Our beds were turned down with more chocolates when we arrived home that evening. If you're looking for a home away from home type feeling, you'll love this place. I highly recommend the Oswego Hotel to any new visitors who want to receive the best that Victoria has to offer. Thank You Oswego for a wonderful visit, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up on the West side have ocean views and are quieter. The two bedroom suites are wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmcgraw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for such a positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel, location and amenities partnered with attentive and special service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent two days recently in a one bedroom suite on the 4th floor of the Oswego Hotel and couldn't have been happier or more comfortable. The suite is roomy, comfortable and well appointed, and the deck was a wonderful place for cocktails and morning coffee. We had no water view from our room but the ambiance of the tree-lined street/neighborhood was delightful, especially when the horse-drawn carriages went by. Our dog was treated like one of the family and he really appreciated the little tasty treats, food and water bowls, and plush bed waiting for him in the room. We humans were delighted with the candies left for us as a welcoming gift. We would stay here again although we might want to try a room with a water view next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunnybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review - we are so pleased you enjoyed the little detailed things that we do for our guests to make them feel special

We welcome pets and recognize that they are important family members too and therefore need to be treated well also.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great location and view of the city and very clean hotel. With all of those it had the potential to be a 4.5. However NO King size beds, NO windows curtains, NO safe box and very poor wifi ( altough it's included for no extra charge!) they also allow pet's. due to all of that we ended up giving it only a 3.5

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review. We apologize for the issues you encountered.

We do not have King size beds in the hotel. We do not advertise that we have them and recognize that this can be disappointing if you are used to this size of bed.

We will continue to work with our internet provider to provide the best complimentary Wi-fi experience for our guests.

All points you have mentioned I will discuss with my team so that we continue to strive for a wonderful guest experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,117 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,063 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £85 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing