We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek Hotel”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sleek Hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What we liked about this hotel was its location. It is at a walking distance of the Parliament building and Empress Hotel (Government Street). It is also close to the famous Beacon Hill Park and the Dallas road waterfront trail. We had a very comfortable king size bed and nice kitchenette (well furnished). We also had a balcony and the bathroom was big with a deep soaking tub and big shower. Well renovated. We also liked that when they did the turn-down at night, they left a pitcher of mint water on the bedside tables.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belsou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We appreciate you as a hotel guest! Thank you for staying with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. We do not have any King size beds in the hotel but in our studio suites have great queen size beds.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    392
    89
    37
    21
See reviews for
398
832
81
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My group of three stayed at this hotel for a girls get away and it was absolutley fantastic! The spa service we had was amazing and we felt completely relaxed afterwards!
We stayed for three nights and it was so comfortable and so close to everything downtown! It was on a quiet street and it made for a pleasant sleep in the evening!

Unfortunately however when we had our massages the housekeeping service didn't come into our room to change sheets and towels. We were out all morning so they did have ample opportunity to change sheets and towels. When we called the front desk they said that the housekeeping went home at four but they would try to get clean towels to the room. The towels took an hour. We weren't impressed. Other than this fact, we had a lovely staty!

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better view you'll have. We were on the first floor above the hotel lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is situated in the centre of Victoria, in a quiet street. The breakfast and coffee are delicious and the staff is very friendly! The only point we did like less was there is no airco: fortunately we had a room on the 8th floor so we could open the balcony door all night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

There are many hotels in Victoria without air conditioning. We find that with our local climate it does not normally get to hot - our recent heatwave would challenge that theory. All of our suites have ceiling fans and additional fans can be requested.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was conveniently located between ferries, Fisherman's wharf and harbor area. Everywhere was within easy walking distance. Our suite felt more like an apartment than a mere room. The suite was beautifully decorated and had full amenities. We will stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jstar0240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at - we are thrilled that you had a great stay and enjoyed the location and amenities.

Have a good summer and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Booked as part of a Victoria clipper package from Seattle. 2 blocks from the ferry. Thrifty grocery is a short walk in James bay. Bed was a little mushy. Would love a firm bed in a hotel someday!
Nice room layout with kitchen living and separate sleeping spaces.
Wifi was terrible. So slow and frustrating. We wanted to follow soccer and bicycle racing and couldn't.
Maid service insisted on knocking after we hung the do not disturb sign after returning up our room at 2:00pm. Geez.
Room Coffee is okay, not great. French press is messy. Fully appointed kitchen. Much appreciated.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sleeperpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

We do have very strict policies about accessing suites with DND and the staff are not permitted to. It was my understanding with speaking to the staff member concerned and her managr that the staff member accessed after the DND was removed later in the afternoon.

All of our suites do have the French Press and aCoffee drip machine also. 2 options.

Our apologies that you found the TV and Wifi not up to standard - we will continue to work with our internet provider to give resolution.

We hope to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Why would anyone stay anywhere else in Victoria. Perfect location. Elegant and quiet. Plus good food. We recently took a Victoria Clipper package. Oswego was one of the hotel choices. Upon arrival we upgraded to a suite at a very reasonable rate. Unless you need a large pretentious fancy hotel with a huge lobby, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne04284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We work closely with the Clipper and our close proximity for our guests to the Clipper terminal makes it an ideal place to stay.

We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities and very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I booked through Clipper Vacations and came with two girlfriends. We had a one bedroom suite... Full kitchen! We enjoyed our stay, were within a short walking distance to everything, staff was friendly and helpful! We loved the water available as soon as we entered the lobby! We all slept well... Sleeper sofa was comfy too. Would stay again and would ask for a harbor view next time!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the hotel location and the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,634 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,995 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing