We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Oswego Hotel for four nights in July and had a most pleasant experience . It's a beautiful hotel,the staff are more then helpful and it's in an excellent location. We would definitely recommend it.It's just a few minutes walk from the Clipper Terminal and a short walk to Fisherman's wharf and downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We value that you were hotel guests and that you stayed with us. We know that there are many choices of hotels to stay at in Victoria - thank you for choosing us.

Our location is liked by so many guests being on the quieter side of the inner harbour but close to everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the not to distant future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our second stay at Oswego in a Premium 1-bedroom suite (room 908). We were on the 9th floor which was perfect as it was quiet, and nice and breezy for the hot weather. The room was spotless (as it was the last time we were there) and the hotel staff was friendly, accommodating, polite, and extremely helpful. They are literally the best trained hotel staff I have ever experienced.

The hotel is very quiet, no internal noise at all from elevators/other guests. Outside can be a bit noisy as downtown can be a bit loud but we weren't bothered by it. Lots of little amenities that make such a HUGE difference; like a fresh carafe of mint water delivered to your bedside every night, a top notch restaurant you get a 20% discount at, and Q-tips in the bathrooms (This is HUGE as it is something I have always wanted but never ever seen). The bathroom products are really great quality, and the parking is very reasonable at $15 a night. It is a close walk to all the main attractions including the Parliament building just down the street, the inner harbour, tons of shops and restaurants and a lively night-life scene.

All in all the very best hotel experience I have ever had, and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The upper few floors stay very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Wow, thank you for your wonderful accolade. I will pass on your amazing comments to the team.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the little details we do for our guests. We want you to have a great experience whilst staying with us and we are glad that we didn't disappoint.

Look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here just for 1 night and on the whole enjoyed it. The room (309) was a 2 bed roomed suite. Everything we needed was there, except Aircon. This seems to be a Canadian disease! Private secure parking parking is supplied for $15, which is a little steep. Free and efficient wifi was also supplied.
All staff encountered were very charming.

The only real niggle we had was that the bar closes at 10pm to everyone. I have never stayed at such a contemporary hotel where this happens. Still, there are a lot of other bars in the locality.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank doolally_w7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us.

The climate that we have in Victoria does not normally warrant air conditioning. All suites have ceiling fans and windows can be opened. Many of our guests find that the rooms cool down considerably once the windows are opened.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed our 3 day stay at the OSWEGO very much. Room 603.
Very nice and well accomodated room very close to the Waterfront.
The breakfast (not included) was nice and tasteful. The room had a kitchenette and was fully equiped. The bathroom was large and had seperated shower and bathtub. Lots of space. Beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for posting the photos of your suite whilst staying with us.

I will let the team know of your kind and positive comments.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What we liked about this hotel was its location. It is at a walking distance of the Parliament building and Empress Hotel (Government Street). It is also close to the famous Beacon Hill Park and the Dallas road waterfront trail. We had a very comfortable king size bed and nice kitchenette (well furnished). We also had a balcony and the bathroom was big with a deep soaking tub and big shower. Well renovated. We also liked that when they did the turn-down at night, they left a pitcher of mint water on the bedside tables.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Belsou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We appreciate you as a hotel guest! Thank you for staying with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. We do not have any King size beds in the hotel but in our studio suites have great queen size beds.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My group of three stayed at this hotel for a girls get away and it was absolutley fantastic! The spa service we had was amazing and we felt completely relaxed afterwards!
We stayed for three nights and it was so comfortable and so close to everything downtown! It was on a quiet street and it made for a pleasant sleep in the evening!

Unfortunately however when we had our massages the housekeeping service didn't come into our room to change sheets and towels. We were out all morning so they did have ample opportunity to change sheets and towels. When we called the front desk they said that the housekeeping went home at four but they would try to get clean towels to the room. The towels took an hour. We weren't impressed. Other than this fact, we had a lovely staty!

Room Tip: The higher up you go the better view you'll have. We were on the first floor above the hotel lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is situated in the centre of Victoria, in a quiet street. The breakfast and coffee are delicious and the staff is very friendly! The only point we did like less was there is no airco: fortunately we had a room on the 8th floor so we could open the balcony door all night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

There are many hotels in Victoria without air conditioning. We find that with our local climate it does not normally get to hot - our recent heatwave would challenge that theory. All of our suites have ceiling fans and additional fans can be requested.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £78 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing