We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Outweighs No Pool”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Oswego is perfectly situated close to the water and all amenities. But what really impressed my husband and I was the service. They front desk is so kind and accommodating, they allowed us to check in very early. Shortly after we arrived they called up to our room to check if everything was ok. Wow! that doesn't happen very often. All room are suites so if you would prefer a night in everything is there. The only thing we had wished for was a patio and a pool. We got the last room in the hotel at short notice so that couldn't be helped. This is a top notch hotel that we highly recommend!

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your stay with us.

Our guest experience is #1 importance for the team. We want our guests to be wowed and looked after whilst staying with us. The little details we do we hope that our guests enjoy but, also we want to ensure that each guest is looked after whilst staying with us.

We hope to see you again at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,844)
There are newer reviews for The Oswego Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

When I booked the hotel bases on reviews and pictures, I wasn't expecting such positive surprise. The hotel is a lot nices than the pictures and the service is excellent. Fully recommended.

The room has a lot of space, small kitchen, beautifull bathroom and a sofabed in the living room.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank RCotoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Please tell everyone about your stay with us - positive reviews from our guests are valued and appreciated. We will pass on your positive comments to the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is okay but wifi Internet service is POOR at best!

Breakfast was bland.


Close to Victoria Clipper but I would not recommend if you want to connect on wifi... If you want to eat there are much better restaurants nearby.

Internet sucks... Staff can not help ....

If you need or want Internet don't stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rondalebkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

We appreciate you writing a review about your recent visit to the Oswego so that we can listen to your concerns and continue to strive for a better guest experience. I am sorry that the internet impacted your overall view of the hotel, service, location and standards.

Our internet is complimentary for our guests. We will continue to work with our Bell internet provider for any issues that affect our guests service with the internet. We offer a direct line to Datavalet for our guests to speak to qualified technicians if they have any issues. Unfortunately our staff are unable to troubleshoot in-depth internet issues hence why we have the support available for our guests.

During your stay we did you not have any service impacting internet issues but recognize that at times with high hotel occupancy and many devices being used at any given time that the internet for our guests can be impacted by this.

Again I apologize for any dissatisfaction you encountered with your stay with us.

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Well located in a calm neighbourhood at 100m from the water and so on walking distance of the center. Friendly service, parking below, great suites for families with two rooms, two badrooms and fully equiped kictchen. Spotless inside, good beds apart from the living bed that is a pull-out sofa (far less comfortable than the beds). You can easily rent this with two couples having each their own privacy with the two seperate rooms. We chose the family suites at the higher floors because of the possible view but that was not worth the extra money spent as the view is limited with the surrounding buildings and the green.
We did not use the restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and this will be passed onto the team

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I would highly recommend this boutique hotel. After a long nine hour travel day with a baby, I was frazzled and nervous that my luck for the day would land me with a hotel disaster. I was pleasantly surprised to discover The Oswego Hotel. The location is perfect, just a couple blocks from all the excitement, but on a quiet street with lots of street parking (saves on hotel parking fees). The staff was polite and accommodating and even upgraded us to a bigger room to make us a little more comfortable, after seeing all the luggage we were packing around. The room was clean and spacious with a very well equipped kitchen and large fridge. The view from the room was looking out on a neighborhood which gave us an "at home" feeling as we watched people walking their dogs and kids out front. The breakfast room service was delicious... dinner was just ok, but there are tons of fabulous places to eat within a quick walk.. Stay here... you'll be happy you did.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We understand that travelling can be stressful and we are pleased that we contributed to taking some of that stress away from you and your family.

Your positive comments about the hotel, location and service I will definitely pass onto the Oswego team

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Walking distance to attractions & grocery store to make the most of the well equipped kitchen. The hotel staff could not be faulted they were friendly, polite and very helpful. We also had our dog with us who was also very welcome with his own treats, bed and walking map. Would recommend this hotel and stay again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and appreciate the positive comments about the service and team

We welcome pets in designated rooms and again we appreciate that all family members enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that when your travels bring you back to Victoria that you come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at this gem of a hotel. We are residents in Victoria and sometimes love being tourists in our own hometown. Since it was Symphony Splash last evening, we decided to avoid all the parking issues and challenges with driving home through the crowds...what a great idea!
Check in was smooth and our one-bedroom suite delightful. As many have already said, the suites have a full kitchen with everything a person would need (full fridge, dishwasher, French Press). Although a full fridge was not necessary for us, we did like having a place to put our chilled bottle of wine.
As others have said, no air conditioning. But, nice cool breeze when we opened the doors to our deck, so not a problem. Victoria rarely gets warm enough for air conditioning, so this recent hot spell is quite unusual. Cool evening breezes make up for no AC.
The hotel is a one block walk to Belleville Street which takes you straight into the inner harbor (another two blocks), so a very easy stroll to the Empress Hotel, Museum, Parliament Buildings and dozens of great restaurants.
We loved the little touches like the carafes of water by our bedsides when we returned in the evening. Each carafe had a mint leaf in the water ... much appreciated!
Will stay again when we want an evening in the heart of Victoria!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Wow - what a review - its positive and appreciative of all elements of your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the team.

We recognize that there are many choices of hotels in Victoria, we appreciate that you chose us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the not to distant future.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,053 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £92 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing