We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel - Amazing Value”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel - Amazing Value”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Second time staying here and feels like home away from home. Rooms are clean, spacious and have everything. Proximity to downtown and the inner harbour is so convenient. Restaurant is more than just a hotel restaurant. And service is outstanding. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vernongirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Wow - thank you! Your comments are fantastic and we are so pleased you have enjoyed your repeat stays with us.

Come back and visit us again soon so we can continue to ensure you have a wonderful stay and let you know how much we value you as our hotel guest

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    417
    96
    39
    21
See reviews for
437
878
86
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed one night at this modern but boutique-style hotel. Our spacious studio suite was nicely appointed with a well-equipped kitchenette and great bathroom. Weather was hot and the room had only a portable A/C unit that was completely inadequate so it made sleeping difficult. Would be much better in cooler weather. Location can't be beat. Just a block from the Inner Harbour and many of the best activities Victoria has to offer. Our room had a view of the Parliament Buildings. Room price was very competitive for a mid-summer high-season stay. Parking is extra charge but reasonable and very secure. Staff was pleasant and efficient. Will look forward to returning in future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foulaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Upon reading your review I noted that you stayed in one of our Studio suites. A small portion of these suites do not have balconies and therefore portable air-conditioning units are placed in each suite during the summer months. All other suites have both ceiling fans, stand up fans and all windows and doors open.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again perhaps during the fall and winter when the weather is cooler.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise,AZ
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I agree with a prior reviewer regarding the comment about the noisy seagulls. Since we left the window open and the door cracked open for some air due to no a/c, the noisy squawking seagulls woke us up around 4am and we could not get back to sleep. Other than that, this is a wonderful hotel. Very clean and modern, excellent proximity to the Clipper ferry dock being just a short two block walk down a side street. We upgraded to a suite which was very large with a nice kitchenette and sitting area and very large bathroom. I enjoyed the H2o toiletries. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful, some of the best I've ever encountered! When we mentioned that our room was very warm, they sent up a nice rotating fan and opened the windows for fresh air. All would have been just fine except for those darned seagulls.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AZSWtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and service.

We do live on the coast and live in harmony with the wildlife that also live close to us. Seagulls are everywhere and it seems are noisier during the summer months. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about their noise or proximity to the hotel but we also recognize that they cause a lack of sleep with this at times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were very impressed when we visited this hotel in June. The staff were welcoming and very helpful making us feel that nothing was too much trouble.

Our suite was modern, beautifully furnished with a well equipped kitchen as well as dining furniture and comfortable seating area. It was one of the few without a balcony but this did not spoil our enjoyment.

I had previously read criticism about the lack of air conditioning but our room had it installed. Maybe in response to this. Unfortunately the outlet pipe went through a corner of the window which stopped the blind fully closing at that end. Hopefully that was just a temporary fix.

Do not let this comment put you off visiting the Oswego. You would be missing a little gem. The location is very close to the harbour but without the hustle and bustle and traffic. The in house food is excellent and there are good restaurants very near by.

We travelled by car and found that the underground car park was very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the positive feedback and comments.

Yes we do have air-conditioning in a small group of our studio suites. Only the suites without balconies have this. All of our other suites have doors and windows that they can be opened. We provide also ceiling fans and extra portable fans as required.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is a beautifully located place within Victoria BC....within walking distance of most destinations. The staff go out of their way to be helpful and if you book your attractions through the front desk, you get a discount. We got great recommendations to restaurants, and additional information on certain downtown interests that we hadn't thought of. The beds are so comfortable that we wished the sea gulls didn't wake up so early - when one is near the ocean it is something to get use too. The fruit and chocolates were a wonderful touch. This hotel is located a 'bit' off the touristy area which makes it quieter as far as traffic is concerned. One can use the kitchenette, if savings on breakfast/lunch/dinner are an issue, this is a plus...appliances are available. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAP5104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Yes please come back soon. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay along with the service and standards.

The team work hard together to provide the best experience for our guests.

Thank you for your understanding with regards to the Seagulls.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, NH
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the good: location to the clipper ferry terminal (short 3/4 block walk), nice location to major attractions, incredibly helpful staff, turn down service & discount on bistro, nice design eco friendly hotel (no a/c- not needed, gets cool at night); however without the a/c we slept with slider open which let all the city noise in. So unfortunately if it wasn't the blast of a cruise ship or a loud car, it was the seagulls squawking in the morning. I'd suggest to management to supply ear plugs for guests. :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kewpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Glad that you enjoyed the many aspects of the hotel including our service and standards.

Yes unfortunately the Seagulls can be a little loud during the summer months. We live in harmony with them but recognize that they can be noisy. My apologies that this is out of our control to ensure quietness.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Oswego! It was a quick and easy walk to everywhere you'd want to go in downtown Victoria. We had arrived via the Clipper Ferry from Seattle and the hotel is less than 5 minutes walking (with luggage) from the pier.

The name Oswego Hotel is misleading -- it should be Oswego Suites! The room we stayed in was well appointed with a large bathroom (steam shower & separate soaking tub), a full kitchen complete with stovetop and dishwasher (we didn't use it, but it was very convenient!), a large bed and great big windows.

Note: They give you a 20% off card for food in their restaurant upon checkin. We did take advantage of this for breakfast in the morning, but even with the 20% off, we felt that $40 for breakfast was way too overpriced, and although the food was decent, it certainly wasn't worth the price.

Next time we are in Victoria we will be staying at the Oswego Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your positive comments to the team.

My apologies that you found the breakfast a little to costly. We do analyze other city restaurants etc and feel that our pricing is competitive along with the guest 20% discount. I will pass on your comments to the food and beverage team so can continue to listen to our guests and adjust accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,059 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,036 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing