We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Victoria getaway!”
Review of Ashcroft House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashcroft House B&B
Ranked #16 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoying another "long weekend" visit to Victoria with friends who discovered this beautiful accommodation in 2007. This is our third visit and we so look forward to it. Everything is perfect in this exceptionally-decorated heritage home near Beacon Hill Park, the Terry Fox statue and the waterfront. Breakfast for all appetites is always more than enough, and a feast for the eyes and more. Hosts Paulanne and Dave go above and beyond every day! A wealth of information so that you enjoy your stay to the fullest! We appreciate the extra special touches to accommodate their guests' schedules and activities. Looking forward to our next stay!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SandiCDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent 5 nights recently at Ashcroft House, enjoying the hospitality of Paulanne and David, the owners. Their B&B is small with well appointed rooms and great amenities including cookies and port on the sideboard and a groaningly large breakfast. As it is too much to eat for most mortals, Paulanne provides baggies so you can take your extra muffins, scones, etc., with you for later munching. Pace yourself, as the main course was delightful every day and included French toast with ginger and cream cheese stuffing, a great flourless quiche, waffles, fresh smoked salmon, amazing eggs and sausages, etc. Worth the stay just for the breakfast. They know the area well and recommended restaurants and music in the neighborhood that we felt were great choices. Their B&B is very close to the water and to a lovely park but it is not a long walk down to Victoria Harbor as well.

Room Tip: I checked out all the rooms and they are all lovely and very well decorated. Only difference I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Itinerant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Absoloutely brilliant B&B - Paulanne is so friendly and made us feel really welcome and helped us find our way around really easily - very comfortable room - we stayed in the Wedgwood room which is spacious, clean and with lovely attention to detail in both the bedroom and ensuite - great location on quiet, pretty street near to Beacon Hill Park which is fantastic. The outer harbour and view of the mountains is just a few minutes walk away along a beautfiul beach but equally you can easily walk to the inner harbour and downtown for the best of both worlds. Area felt very safe and friendly. The breakfast was delicious! Really great cooking and flavour combinations - and don't worry if you have a small appetite as Paulanne kindly lets you take with you any baked goods you cannot manage - we had muffins and scones for lunch! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeggiePatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had the good fortune to discover the Ashcroft House while planning our 35th Anniversary trip to Victoria. The Orchid Suite proved to be a wonderful 'home base' for our daily excursions around the greater Victoria area. 'Luxurious' can barely describe the spacious ensuite, complete with enormous tub, soft terry robes and ample candles which made us feel truly pampered. The kitchenette was pleasant and adequate for preparing simple dinners on the nights we decided not to venture out again.
Paulanne and David were excellent and unobtrusive hosts who made us feel at home immediately. They provided excellent tips about local eateries and attractions. With Beacon Hill Park and some clean gravel beaches just steps away, and with downtown just a short walking distance, there was lots to see and do.
And the breakfasts!! Every day brought new culinary delights. My personal favorites were the fig & chocolate scones, while my wife loved the double-layered french toast with cream cheese & candied ginger within and topped with real maple syrup. Space does not allow for a complete rundown of the multi-course menus, complete with fresh fruit combinations (e.g: dragonfruit & pear), egg dishes, gourmet sausages, etc. etc.
We met some charming fellow travelers from all over the globe and all-in-all had a most relaxing and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob707P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We love B&B's for their charm, and especially their opportunity to meet other travelers over breakfast. The Ashcroft scored in all respects. The rooms were charming and the beds comfortable, and the location was close enough to walk to most of Victoria's downtown attractions. The breakfasts were sensational and bountiful, and our table of six included interesting folks from CA and the Midwest.

Room Tip: We had the Cotswald, which was smaller but more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing stay! Paulanne and David are consummate hosts and the house itself is wonderful. Rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast is huge and the scones are great! Downtown is an easy 15 minute walk and the ocean is a block away. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank twjc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ashcroft House B&B has everything one could want in a Victorian setting. We stayed in the Wedgwood Room on the second floor, and it was very comfortable and quiet. The omelet at breakfast was delicious--wish I could have the recipe! We hope to stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#3 of 92 in Victoria
290 reviews
Rockland
Fairholme Manor
Fairholme Manor
#5 of 92 in Victoria
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#4 of 92 in Victoria
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashcroft House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft House B&B

Address: 670 Battery St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1E5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £82 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, please enjoy our 1898 heritage bed and breakfast with all modern amenities! Our fabulous location offers stunning seaside paths, tranquil strolls in Beacon Hill Park and all just a quick 15 minute walk to Victoria's famous Inner Harbour! Awake refreshed and enjoy our healthy, sumptuous, home made 4 course breakfasts. No interrupting your day of exploring for lunch! 4 star Canada Select ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashcroft House B&B Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing