We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Need Met!”
Review of Ashcroft House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashcroft House B&B
Ranked #13 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Every Need Met!”
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We spent a wonderful night here, with our 3 older children and my 2 elderly parents (including a blind father!), after a long day at a family Christmas party. This was the perfect place to rest and recover, all our varied needs were provided for and anything else we wanted (pizza delivered to the door, for instance) easily available.
The breakfast was everything advertised and more - even doggie bags for the home-baked pastries we couldn't manage on top of all the other wonderful food.
Many thanks to Paula Ann and David for their excellent hospitality and caring attention!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druryperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
107
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This B&B was a fantastic find. We received a first class welcome and our room was fantastic, a lovely bed and good size bathroom. As for the breakfasts, what can we say, they were an adventure for the taste buds and beautifully presented. Look out for the hummingbirds in the tree outside the breakfast room window. The property was well located only a 10 minute or so walk to the centre of Victoria, if you take the direct route, or a pleasant stroll into Victoria along the coast.
What really made this B&B stand out compared to the others that we stayed in during our trip were the little add on’s. There was complimentary bottled water available in a communal fridge, there were always home made cookies available, there was a computer with internet and printer available for the guests use and there was a pleasant communal area to sit and relax.
The B&B was far better than any 5* hotel and Paulanne was so helpful, always interested in where you were going and giving advise on directions and times.
If we ever come back to Victoria we will certainly stay here. Thank you so much for making our stay in Victoria so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldgang598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

David and Paulanne were just the perfect host and hostess. The house is charming and beautifully decorated, with each room a delight. Our bed was fabulous...I'd like to own it. Paulanne's breakfast was nummy and generous and they both gave us great info to help us enjoy Victoria. The location is terrific, too. We stayed in a more expensive place the previous night and feel that Ashcroft is a much better value. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnaleeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My wife and I stayed here two nights and we will certainly be back. Our room was quite large with a private washroom. The common area was one of the most welcoming we've ever encountered, and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic! It's not very often you are served a four-course breakfast with authentic homemade English scones - how fitting for Victoria!

The location is great - easy to find and within walking distance to the ocean and inner Victoria Harbour.

**Bonuses: We've stayed at a few B & B's, but what we especially liked about this B & B was the tea, coffee, water and access to guest computer (and wifi) that was available anytime, in addition to M & M's, cookies, and sherry downstairs. Lastly, our room was 'made-up' during the day, which we did not expect.

We give top marks for value because the location, at this price-point, with breakfast included, the finer Victoria hotels just don't compare.

-D & E

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davinci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Paulanne and David couldn't have been more accomodating. they welcomed us with open arms and took care of us. They were the ultimate hosts and this was from the very start of the day with a breakfast that couldn't be beat until we came in late and poured ourselves a glass of sherry to take up to bed at night with some excellent cookies. The Ashcroft House was a wonderful place to stay and I would recommentd this place to any and all who are headed to Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wine_anyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We have tried many Bed and Breakfasts in Victoria and have settled on this one. Friendly owners, huge delicious breakfast, comfortable clean rooms, what more can you ask for ? Street parking is available and close enough to downtown's many amenities. No need to waste any food, either, baggies are given out so you can take a pastry with you to savour later.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurallee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Ashcroft House July 14-16, 2010. What a wonderful experience. We were in the "Orchid Suite" that had a very large bathroom with a great shower and soaking tub. A kitchen was also included along with flat panel television. The king size bed was so comfortable.
Paulanne and David are terrific hosts and answer any questions you may have and reccomend activities and dining options.
The highlight of your stay is Paulanne's and David,s breakfast. Wow.......what a treat it is. Everything from fresh baked scones to "secret" french toast. Absolutely the best breakfast around. Plastic baggies are even included to wrap your left overs for later!
One of the nicest B&B's we have ever stayed in.
Thank you Paulanne and David for a wonderful stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashcroft House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft House B&B

Property: Ashcroft House B&B
Address: 670 Battery St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1E5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, please enjoy our 1898 heritage bed and breakfast with all modern amenities! Our fabulous location offers stunning seaside paths, tranquil strolls in Beacon Hill Park and all just a quick 15 minute walk to Victoria's famous Inner Harbour! Awake refreshed and enjoy our healthy, sumptuous, home made 4 course breakfasts. No interrupting your day of exploring for lunch! 4 star Canada Select ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashcroft House B&B Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing