We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Robert Porter House B&B
Ranked #30 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We have no hesitation in recommending this home for a short or long stay. Anne's warm welcome and hospitality was maintained throughout our week-long stay, and we left really feeling at home. Our room, the Beacon Hill West, was attractively furnished, spacious and comfortable, The breakfast menu was our choice, a wonderful and filling start to each day and there was always a "doggie bag" over to keep us going as we explored Victoria. Each day Anne helped us find our way, all the way to arranging a stop for the airport bus, a cheap and convenient ride. If we ever visit Victoria again, this will be our lodging of choice.
Patrick and Jocelyn Bloomfield.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatJocBloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

What can you say about a pristine house with the greatest location right in downtown Victoria. A five minute walk to the harbour, situated next to Beacon Hill park and across the street from the Museum affords you the luxury of not having to rent a vehicle for any of your adventures. On top of these amazing attributes , your host, Ann, is an incredible woman who makes your stay one to remember. Her daily meals are geared to your whims and tastes, and her friendly manner and banter you will not find elsewhere, guaranteed!! To truly experience Victoria and the Harbour there is no other option! We'll done Ann, I will return!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmjm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

What can I say: excellent location 5mn walk from the harbour behind the museum, secure underground car park, great room, spacious and luxurious with little patio, fireplace and free standing bathtub in room, amazing breakfast with smoked salmon and anything we wanted, really. Ann truely did her best to make us feel at home and cook what we liked, in big portions, she arranged our orca tour, even gave us a bag with muesli bars and apples for a snack on the boat, she advised us on great pubs, let me use internet, and had even upgraded our room without us asking.
The house changed owners, so let's hope it does not change, but as long as Ann manages the place it will be fine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikin0ei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I was a guest at the Robert Porter House and what can I say? My experience was amazing. The accomodations are fantastic, the food is absolurely wonderful and Ann is by far the most hospitable person I've ever met. I felt right at home. Would I recommend it? In a New York Minute. Would I go back? Yes, but only if Ann is still working. If and when I'm back in Victoria, I will most certainly be a repeat guest at the Robert Porter House. Thank you so very much for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I had a conference in Victoria, BC and decided to take my husband along so we could make it a holiday. From the first contact I had with Ann to make the reservation, the experience was special. She was so friendly and accommodating. When we arrived, she greeted us with smiles and a warm welcome.

Our room was beautiful - the ideal romantic getaway room with a cozy bed, fireplace, in room bathroom and a private little courtyard/entrance for sitting outside to enjoy the lovely Victoria evenings. It was like having our own little apartment. The parking was not only free, but was in a secure parking garage.

And, oh, the breakfasts! Ann's breakfasts are legendary in quality and portions! She made us whatever we wanted, from Eggs Benedict to bagels and lox. Her cooking is amazing, and she made sure we had (more than) enough. On top of that, her sunny personality was charming, and she was really helpful in recommending places to eat and things to see and do. She made it very difficult to leave because we enjoyed her company and her food so much!

We came to see Victoria, but we will come back to stay at Robert Porter House, but specifically to see Ann. She is Victoria's greatest treasure!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

An easy stroll from the air and water terminals downtown. Anne greeted us as we came up the walk. The room was immaculate, and she surprised us with wine, chocolates, flowers and a card for our 25th anniversary. We coordinated our individual breakfasts with her for the next day and walked uptown to the Irish times Pub for a great draft beer and fish&chips. The next day breakfast was fabulous. Anne's background is English and in culinary arts. We walked over to the Greyline terminal (about 2 blocks) and hopped a shuttle for Butchart Gardens.
The bed was very nice, and sitting in front of the gas fireplace with a glass of wine was cozy when we came back from the gardens, as the weather was chilly the first couple of days. We didn't use the little patio, however it would be a real amenity in warm weather.
We loved every minute of our stay in Victoria and at the Robert Porter house. The location can't be beat, and Anne is the best hostess you could wish for. I recommend giving her a call or sending an email and booking directly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs021114c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My husband and I spent two nights in the Beacon Hill West Room. We had booked the McClure Room, but when we arrived, Ann said that we were the only guests for the two nights, and she thought we might really enjoy staying in a slighty larger room--we were very grateful. Although, I don't think any room in the House would have been a dissapointment. We loved our stay.

Ann was the beyond a fabulous hostess. It was clear she loves what she does. Her breakfasts were out of this world--and anything we wanted. She made my husband bagels and lox one morning--not just bagels and lox, also fresh cucumbers, tomatoes, and eggs--just perfect. Another morning fabulous omlets with the freshest ingredients. She kept offering more so we "wouldn't have to spend money on lunch". In addition to the main breakfast dish, she accomanied with fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins (different each day of our stay). Way more than one person could (or should) eat. The house/room were very clean. Nice exterior enterance to each room. Nice bathroom (in room). We hope to have an opportunity to visit again and would plan our trip around availability at the Robert Porter House. Thanks Ann for a fabulous stay in Victoria.

The location is fabulous--only a block from the Royal BC Museum (also a must see) and all other downtown restaurants. 2 blocks from the Ferry stop. For the price of the room, what a value--a fabulous location, great breakfast, underground secure parking, high speed internet, fabulous room, and super host.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mid_30s_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
James Bay
Heathergate House B&B
Heathergate House B&B
#19 of 92 in Victoria
59 reviews
James Bay
Pendray Inn and Tea House
Pendray Inn and Tea House
#11 of 92 in Victoria
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,890 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Porter House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Porter House B&B

Address: 649 Superior St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £79 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Robert Porter House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Porter House B&B Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing