We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs to top off an already bad experience here!”
Review of Turtle Hostel

Turtle Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Hostel
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

What a nightmare it was trying to book here & made worse by waking up with dozens of bed bug bites :-(
We called twice to book but was told by the lady at reception to call back later as she was too busy but they had availability! Third call lucky, we were able to book, well we thought we booked as we repeated our contact details & credit card at least 3 times & told her we would arrive between 5-6pm & she said she had a double room for us.
We arrived just after 5pm & got told there's no reservation for us! It took 15mins to convey to her that we had booked over the phone, gave her our credit card details & told we'd be arriving between 5-6pm.
In the end she moved a single girl out of the double room we had booked & in turn kicked a guy out of another room to give the bed to the girl who was in our room.
The only thing stopping us from walking out & going elsewhere (which we wanted to do at by this point) was that we had already called every accommodation in Victoria within our budget, earlier in the day before trying here & everywhere else was fully booked & we weren't picking up a rental car until the next day, or else we would have driven to Nanaimo!
We checked the room & bed as best we could but woke up with dozens of bed bug bites. We informed the host in the morning & asked if she was aware of bed bugs here & she told us that one other girl had previously notified her that she got bed bugs here.
The host gave us cream for the bites & said she would clean the room which I hope she does coz we had to fumigate our bags and all of our clothes & spent days being extremely itchy & embarrassed by the visible lumpy bites!
As for location, don't walk down Pandora St (between Douglas St & Quadra St) at night! There's a handful of junkies that harass people passing by, it's a very seedy part of the city!
Do yourself a favour, read & listen to the reviews & just go elsewhere! Talking to other guests they had just as hard a time when booking in as us. Hopefully they didn't also get bed bug bites?!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldwide_wandererz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

The place is cheap, but so is everything with it! You kind of feel sorry for the mess the elderly manager built for herself. She has absolutely no control over the place, who´s staying in which room, who´s paid or how long they are staying. She tried to bring some new guest into our room while we were sleeping(forgetting that the room was unavailable).

The biggest problem is the extremely dirty surroundings. One can tolerate certain things in a budget friendly hostel, but this is beyond comparison! The rooms are not cleaned between guests(huge piles of hair from previous guests gathered along the four walls), the showers and washroom seems to be full of other peoples dirt. You can almost understand why people don´t clean after themselves when the whole place is a threat to your health. We were lucky to have our sleeping bags with us so we didn´t have to sleep in the hairy bed sheets - although we do think they´d tried to wash them.

Oh yes! Be aware that there is a very big family taking up most of the first floor, including the kitchen. There are no windows in several rooms, no isolation whatsoever, historic non-functioning TV´s and NO TURTLE! Only plastic ones in a suitable disgustingly filthy aquarium in the "lobby".

On the positive side though, they lit up a vanilla scented candle in the washroom one night. I have no idea why, except a possible fire "accident" to get some insurance money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The only acceptable thing about this hostel is the price. The rooms are uncomfortable, and questionably clean. The woman in charge does, as stated in other reviews, barge in unannounced. The other guests are questionable, and intimidating. The shower was so nasty that we opted to drive around looking for a public pool to shower in instead, despite having driven from Kelowna that day. Overall: ABORT MISSION.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waxrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The place is very small, the rooms are cramped, the beds are metal bunkbeds and squeek to high heaven, good luck getting a good nights sleep!! If you want laundery done, you cant do your own, the woman of the place must do it for you at $6 a load. The smells to the place are terrible in kitchen and rooms. Theft of food and money are common. Have heard complaints by the staff that Black Mold was scraped, bleached, then painted over. The management takes no responsability for anything. The only stove to the place has only 2 working burners, the toaster only toasts on one side and the 2 fridges are so small, you can barely find any room in them, even though the place is not even full to capacity. When the place is full, good luck getting into a washroom. Summer rates are $26 a night unless you pay for 7 days, then it is $20 a night. Management is very bad for renting beds to very questionable people and do not seem to care in the least about any standards or laws of the hotel industry. As for privacy, forget it, management acts as they can enter any room at any time and they do. This is one of the worst places one could ever stay and it does make one wonder why the authorities have not closed the place down, due to the many legal infractions. CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP

Room Tip: For the extra $5 Victorias other hostels are a way better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The only thing that recommends this place is the price of $20! Small and cramped rooms, uncomfortable beds and a weird smell. We stayed for one night and left fairly pronto in the morning, but it did the job so can't complain too much because of the cheap price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hcmknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

looks good from the outside, wait until you see the inside. Its a homeless hostel that is not well maintained, super cheap room for a reason, had fun there anyway, just low class. Many strange people living there and watching tv. Could really use repairs or care, also some smell in bathroom and you dont feel like taking shower there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Arriving late in Victoria, we opted for the easiest cheapest place we could find just for the night.
If cheap is what you are looking for, cheap is what you get!
Plenty of interesting characters to amuse you and interesting decor (faux leather sponge mattresses, really?)
We stayed for as shorter time as possible, left ASAP in the morning. But for $20 a night in Victoria, what do you really expect?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnieC-J93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.5 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Hostel

Address: 1608 Quadra St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2L4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Victoria
Price Range: £20 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Turtle Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Turtle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Hostel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing