We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best restaurants in Victoria”

Blue Crab Seafood House
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Crab Seafood House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,186 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$45
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: James Bay
Cross street: Montreal Street
Description: Frommer's International Guide calls the Blue Crab Seafood House, the "best seafood spot in Victoria". Blue Crab Seafood House has earned a reputation for excellence in seafood and West Coast Cuisine. The daily specials take advantage of the local catches for the freshest of ingredients. With an Ocean View from every table that is impossible to beat! Featuring Local Dungeness Crab & Giant King Crab. Very Celiac Friendly. Winner of the 2005 People's Choice Award and the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence in 2003 to 2012, the Blue Crab Seafood House offers a wide selection of Vancouver Island, BC, Pacific Northwest, and new world wines, including a selection of both favourites and hard to find wines. The lounge offers a casual atmosphere to go along with its menu. Local favourites include Vancouver Island Tuna Tacos, Halibut Fish & Chips & Thai Fish Pot.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaurants in Victoria”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have recently eaten twice at the Blue Crab and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great service, wonderful food and marvelous view. Price wise it is competitive to other similar restaurants in Victoria.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CamMagnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    234
    93
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet harbour view.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Well presented menus, excellent service. Delicious complimentary rosemary bread. The view is one of the best of the harbour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pearlqueen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We were a little underdressed”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Make sure you do not just walk off the street for dinner like we did. It is a hotel restaurant, but we were the only casual diners in shorts and t-shirts. The service was excellent, the halibut was absolutely wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good quality food but expensive”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this restaurant especially for their various crab main dishes. Entering the hotel and restaurant we felt it was a little outdated, the restaurant definately needs a new interior. That said we got a nice table close to the window with a beautiful view of the bay. Service was quick and they gave us good advice about pairing a BC wine with the crab. When the crab arrived it looked amazing and it tasted good. They gave us the lemon butter sauce. Reading an earlier review on Tripadvisor I have to admit that I agree with that review stating that everything tasted pretty salty. After the crab ( all crab and platter for 1) we asked for the bill. For 2 main Crab dishes and 1 bottle of wine the bill was CAD 170 incl. 20% tip. I thought that was pretty expensive for what we had. That's why I rate this restaurant with 3 stars. It was not the restaurant I expected reading the raving reviews on Tripadvisor. It was not the restaurant I expect when paying CAD 170......

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food. Great view. ”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Chose the lunch location from trip advisor reviews. Beautiful view of the bay. Pity the restaurant did not have outdoor seating as it was a sunny day. Nonetheless food was delicious - we had the seafood sandwich, the chowder, the halibut special, the beef brisket sandwich and the crab cakes. All very good.

Helpful?
Thank PrincessDumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Crab Seafood House also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Blue Crab Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing