We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience”
Review of Restaurant Matisse - CLOSED

Restaurant Matisse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$27
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Wharf Street
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Although we waited for our table for around 15 minutes after making a reservation, the Prix fixe menu made up for the glitch. An incredible french dining experience, highly recommended. Four courses with wine pairing for each course(timing was a little off for one of the pairings). Lobster bisque, crepe du jour, duck breast perfectly seasoned and beautiful desserts. All the impressive things about french dining - elegant, casual, delicious! Around $100 per person.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank chowaniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Restaurant Matisse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 256 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Waiter had quite a condescending, patronizing air about himself ... really don't need a lecture about every food item ... and when someone asks question, response shouldn't sound as if they're dumb for asking it. (I understand you want to show off that you're bilingual but your French accent isn't even that good pal) That guy really made the dining experience here sub-par. As for the food, no complaints, but this place is definitely a tad overrated judging from the Trip Advisor comments thus far.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank nettap101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

An absolutely fantastic dining experience. We had the fixed 4 course and wine pairing - excellent all the way around. One of out best dining experiences of all time - a must try ! - reservation is a must !

2  Thank Daveyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
403JOHN403, Owner at Restaurant Matisse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello Daveyyc from Calgary, We do like playing with the pairings of wines
Glad you enjoyed your visit to Matisse. Hope to see you on your next trip to Victoria
Stay well, Thanks John @ Matisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have fallen in love with Restaurant Matisse; it is truly Victoria’s best restaurant. No visit to Victoria is complete without dining at Restaurant Matisse. The owner, John Phillips, helps make the dinner a remarkable experience. His love of fine food, excellent service and great wine shows up in every aspect of the restaurant.

We were there on Friday, July 18th around 6:00PM. The atmosphere is one of elegant casual. It is not large so I would strongly suggest reservations.

Dining at Matisse is like going to Heaven. The food is outstanding. We started with the crepe du jour and the “Seasonal Salad Creation”. For an entrée, my wife had the Breast of Duck, and I had the Rabbit du jour. (Bugs bunny couldn’t have been prepared better.) Both entrees were magnificent. It was a most enjoyable dinner, and the prices are very, very reasonable considering the fine quality of the meals.

Please try Matisse; you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
403JOHN403, Owner at Restaurant Matisse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you Arthur P. for your kind remarks and comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Matisse
I also think the chef prepares the best rabbit in the city. Hope to see you and your wife on your next visit to our fair city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The owner of this place is quite the character, and definitely part of the draw for people. All four of us had the prix fixe dinner and everything was outstanding, including the wine pairings, each of which was carefully described along with each course as presented. Duck, rabbit, lamb, and fish--it was all wonderful. Service was provided at a reasonable pace for such an upscale place. Go to Matisse. You will not be disappointed.

4  Thank Swampcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP403, Owner at Restaurant Matisse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hello to Swampcactus and friends, I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your
dinner here at Matisse. The Chef works hard to ensure that your meals
are of the finest ingredients, I, have fun with the pairings. Hope to see you again
on your next trip to the beautiful city of Victoria
John @ Matisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Matisse also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing