We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view; over priced food disappointing!”

Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses
Ranked #56 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Victoria West
Cross street: Esquimalt Road
Transit: The BC Transit #25 public city bus stops directly in front of Spinnakers. Big bus hop on/hop off service also stops directly in front of the property. Akal Airporter service from Victoria International airport is available, with drop off on site. The Victoria Harbour Ferries stop is a short 5-minute walk away, ask the captain for directions.
Description: Spinnakers Gastro Brewpub and Guesthouses is a place that offers it all! Open seven days a week 8:00 am - 11:00 pm, guests are welcome to stop by any time of day to enjoy fresh, local food and great beer! Breakfast served-8am-2pm, Lunch menu available after 11am and Dinner Menu after 5pm.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
927 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Great view; over priced food disappointing!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Overlooking the water; great location. Upstairs is buzzing with activity and live music...today was a Celtic trio. Restaurant downstairs is quieter, and comfortable. Sampled a few beer, sorry no to my liking. Best to sample any beer you are interested in. As for food....very limited gluten free choices. Ended up having fries and a chicken breast for $11. We shared the Tasting Plate: cheese, meat, and jelly all good but beer soaked pear was not very good...the spice left a bad, lingering after taste. Not a lot of food for $15.50. Entrees included: Pulled Port Sandwich(13.75), Salmon Sandwich(16.00), and a very expensive Halibut and Chips for $18. The food was good at best. Our server was helpful, but he was also busy with several tables to cover. Leary to try again...many other places in Victoria to try first.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    342
    143
    62
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Strange Beer and Over-Priced Food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband loves trying out brewpubs when we travel, so we stopped at Skinnaker's for lunch at the suggestion of our hotel. We made the mistake of ordering a beer which they described as a "German-style beer" without asking for a sample first. It was pale yellow, cloudy and had a distinctly sour taste--nothing like any beer we've ever had in Germany. We sent it back and ordered another amber ale, which was at least drinkable, although we'd never order again. For lunch we decided to share an order of mussels. The taste was good, but the portion was very small. When she put down the bowl, we thought the kitchen had already divided it into two servings. No, we received about 15 mussels total, several of which were empty, for which they charged us $17! The good news is that they didn't charge us for the undrinkable beer, but we did not go back and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayhawk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best seafood platter and best breakfast”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I've been to Spinnakers a few times now and every time I'm impressed. I love the fresh local features. The smoked seafood plate is a favourite. My mom and I had one of the best breakfasts ever…The view is great and the staff are friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LJRYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A "Must" When Visiting Victoria”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The place is popular, so arrive early or be prepared to wait for a table. They have a wide array of brews and menu items. We went there for the fish & chips.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Beer”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Wanna have some great beer (they serve more than beer) with incredible food? Oh, and a nice atmosphere? Go to this place. Food is awesome, and local. Very unique. Really enjoyed our server as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Millionmyller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing