We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Food, Great View, off the beaten path a bit.”

Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses
Ranked #58 of 1,206 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Victoria West
Cross street: Esquimalt Road
Transit: The BC Transit #25 public city bus stops directly in front of Spinnakers. Big bus hop on/hop off service also stops directly in front of the property. Akal Airporter service from Victoria International airport is available, with drop off on site. The Victoria Harbour Ferries stop is a short 5-minute walk away, ask the captain for directions.
Description: Spinnakers Gastro Brewpub and Guesthouses is a place that offers it all! Open seven days a week 8:00 am - 11:00 pm, guests are welcome to stop by any time of day to enjoy fresh, local food and great beer! Breakfast served-8am-2pm, Lunch menu available after 11am and Dinner Menu after 5pm.
Port Angeles, Wa.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Food, Great View, off the beaten path a bit.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We opened this place up for Sunday Morning Breakfast. It is a Brew Pub, everything on the menu seemed to have Beer as part of the process somewhere. All the items we orders were good. But I did not hear anybody rave about the food. The view from any seat is great. I found the food price above average. The wait staff was great.

All in all it was a great place to meet friends for breakfast but don't go if you are on a tight budget.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paharborview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    342
    143
    62
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Understaffed, cold food, long waits”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We visited Spinnaker's on a Sunday afternoon around 2pm. We were a group of 7 family and adult children's significant others. The server was pleasant and helpful but the place was horribly understaffed. After being seated and given menus we had a 20 minute wait for our drinks to arrive, for the duration it was difficult to get any attention from our server. The food was very mediocre, the soups were cold and the pasta sauces were salty. We have been to Spinnakers in the past and had some enjoyable meals but they seem to be processing too many customers with too little staff and very average bar food. We won't be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Surprise!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We heard about this place in a Victorian Magazine and decided to go looking for it. We were not disappointed when we stumbled upon it. My husband enjoyed the beer options, but as a non-drinker myself, I did not miss anything. They had several non-alcoholic beverage options. The food, however, was the best part. The "sampler platter" on the appetizer menu was fabulous! There was an item called "beer jelly" on the platter; it was the best thing ever (and I don't even like beer). My husband had a pizza and I a salad. Then, our last morning in Victoria, I suggested we go back for breakfast (it was around noon). They were still serving breakfast, which my husband was thrilled to find, but they also offered lunch as well, which made me happy. The shrimp melt sandwich was totally yummy; I highly recommend it. We say: Go to Spinnaker's Brewpub! It's well worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Kath327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better Than Brew Pub Food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Nice atmosphere, good food, plenty of beer selection (all made on premise), and friendly staff. It was a bit of a walk using the water taxi, but it was a nice day with a good view.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Off to a bad start”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

While our food, beer, and server were above average, the whole visit was tainted by the hostess rudely proclaiming that if we chose to sit on the patio we could not change our minds at some point and move inside. There is a way to pass along this moronic rule without sounding like a dictator and threatening. As such, we sat upstairs and the environment was neat and bustling. Visitors are to seat themselves if they venture upstairs so it was distracting to constantly have couples and families wander throughout the balcony to search for seating.

Every person sitting on the balcony was covered in a red blanket provided by the pub. I'd suggest this popular pub invest in heaters for their balcony to increase the seating available throughout the evening and allow patrons to appreciate the view of the harbour.

The pub is a 5-10 minute walk from a water taxi stand and the walk is full of various birds to watch and tourists and locals alike walking about.

The waitress recommended a certain beer for someone in our party and she did not disappoint. It was as close to a lager as the pub offers and it was yummy! The rest of us enjoyed our beer choices also.

Our server was excellent and attentive and we enjoyed the appetizers we chose. But we definitely felt the tone of the evening was set by our negative discussion with the hostess upon arrival.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing