We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Drinks & Appies”
Review of Vista 18

Vista 18
Reserve with OpenTable
Vista 18 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 1,189 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: US$23 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Fairfield Rd
Transit: 1/2 block from Vista 18 is Douglas Street which is one of the main routes for our transit system. Some of the main routes with stops here are 1, 2, 2A, 4, 7, 7N, 21, 27, 28, 30, 31, 70 and 75. For full details, please visit www.bctransit.com
Description: Located on the 18th floor of Chateau Victoria Hotel & Suites, Vista 18 Westcoast Grill and Wine Bar takes dining with a view to the next level. Guests are treated to a regional dining experience where they can sample the best that the area has to offer, while taking in the view of Victoria's bustling Inner Harbour or the Juan de Fuca Strait and Olympic Mountains. Come enjoy the live music in our lounge on Friday and Saturday nights while sampling martinis and small bites; or come for a delicious dinner in the restaurant. Our menu features fresh, seasonal cuisine prepared by our talented culinary team. Complement any experience with wine from our extensive list featuring many offerings from Vancouver Island and B.C. wine regions. Vista 18 is a dining experience not to be missed.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Drinks & Appies”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Loved the Martini list - lots of yummy choices. Loved the view-absolutely stunning. Appetizers were good but portion size was small for the price point. Automatic 17% gratuity - which I find offensive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank christiehoward94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    119
    64
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A bit too pretentious.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I shared the linguine, and we each had the potato and leek soup. I had high hopes for a better meal. The food was fine, but not awe-inspiring. Stay away from the house merlot.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankFromAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and artfully arranged”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our waitress was super friendly and offered suggestions when we asked.
The restaurant has a new chef, and kudos to him, the food was scrumptious for sure.
Will definitely return here when in Victoria!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TennilleAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“It must have been our lucky night”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Based on the other reviews we really were lucky when a group of us went for dinner. The idea was to enjoy the Dine Around Victoria experience and certainly we did. A perfect size serving of grilled octopus was so good it had to be shared. The braised endives were tasty but the wine sauce was not the perfect match. The lamb was certainly good and the portion satisfied along with the sides, including kidney "chips". Another high point was the "vinegar" pie, a sliver of perfect custardy apples cooked with a hint of vinegar and brie cream. Imaginative and so good. On checking all the other menus offered around town for this annual dining event, Vista 18 certainly raised the bar as far as creative menus, many others were so pedestrian. It makes you wonder why chefs don't use this event as a chance to show off instead of playing it safe. Kudos to Vista 18 for showing us something different.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely view with dreadful food”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Dinner was probably one of the worst I've had in a very long time. This overpriced restaurant in an upscale hotel needs to review its prices and menu. The bread was cold and stale; the soup was hot, but that's all; the lamb was grey and limp, and the rib part was mostly a lump of fat with a few shards of meat. The dessert was a dense, hard mass of bread cubes sitting on bits of microwaved chocolate. This what they called mason jar chocolate bread pudding.

The service was efficient and pleasant, but this could not make up for a pretty awful meal. This was my first, but definitely my last visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carmel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vista 18 also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Vista 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing