We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice!”
Review of wharfside seafood grille - CLOSED

wharfside seafood grille
Price range: US$1 - US$74
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not a good choice!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Terrible food, less than lousy service, dirty cutlery that we asked to have replaced THREE times! We asked for water 6 or seven times....I could see if the the place was busy, but there were MAYBE three or four other tables. Our server was not only slow, but brought things out in the wrong order....the food was less than mediocre and the price was way too high. I agree with the other reviewer who suggested that the seafood is not fresh as they claim, but frozen, ugh! The veggies on my plate had zero taste, and how are you supposed to eat under cooked corn still on the cob, cut into 2" pieces and buried in a mud bath of mashed potatoes!?

I guess the location is the only the thing that warrants the pricing in this place. I went with a young lady who used to work there, and she told me they even have a separate menu for "tourists" and "locals" in terms of pricing. I thought she was kidding.....nope, she flat out asked the server, who stammered and denied....I would never go back to this place....too pricey and lousy in every way!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria H, General Manager at wharfside seafood grille, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We are so very sorry for your unsatisfactory experience. We need your help!!
1. Please identify the specific fish you ordered. I am at a loss as to which one it is. We will change suppliers if you let us know
2. On what date were you here and approx. where were you sitting please?
We can't solve the problems without your help to identify them. Again, please help.
We can confirm we no longer have a " local" menu!
We are trying to improve. Without specific help, we can't. We have made several improvements to date based upon specific critiques of "contributors". We would like to address your concerns. Please help.
Thank you for your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    32
    50
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“poor poor poor”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Supposedly fresh fish BUT it was either frozen or not fresh on the day or very badly cooked. A great site and waiting staff very good but all let down by the very poor quality food. In addition the waiter went to great detail to tell us that service was included in the bill but when I went to pay the chip/pin machine asked if I wanted to tip!!! NO!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria H, General Manager at wharfside seafood grille, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
I am so sorry you were disappointed with your fish meal. In order to help us, would you please let me know whcih specific fish you ordered and what you did not like about it? We are trying to respond to all complaints so we can improve our product. Please help us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not a delight”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed with what looked like it was going to be a treat whilst visiting Victoria. The food was my main disappointment - I ordered the shellfish delight at almost $25 and my mind was running away with what I imagined would be a feast - not only was it not a feast, it wasn't even a delight! It wouldn't even pass for a starter size portion back in the UK. I counted 12 mussels, 9 clams, 6 prawns and some small bits of squid floating around. There were 3 whole potatoes, one of which was undercooked, 2 ends of Sweetcorn which should have been discarded, and 3 green beans, in a sauce which was ok but not great. I had to have a dessert or I would have needed to go elsewhere for a meal, so I went for the New York cheesecake, thinking not much could go wrong, again it was just ok, the cake itself was manufactured and so ok, the slop they chucked on top didn't look right and didn't taste great either.

My other disappointment is that I was dining alone, and they evidently don't like this. Don't get me wrong the welcome was good, I was shown to a nice table, the waiter was pleasant enough, but when I compared how I was treated to how other guests around me were treated I felt very inferior. All the tables around me were welcomed with a glass of iced water, not me, I was just rushed to order and the water came with my wine. All the other tables were told about the specials of the day, not me. When my shellfish "delight" was taken away I was asked if I wanted the bill, no I wanted a menu choose a dessert as I was still hungry! When my dessert plate was cleared I was asked if I wanted the bill, which I accepted, but would have loved to have been offered a coffee to finish my meal.

For $76 including drink and tip, I left feeling ripped off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieTheChaplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria H, General Manager at wharfside seafood grille, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We apologize for the quantity of your meal. Because of your detailed description of the meal, we have been able to adjust the quantity and improve the value of the "Delight". Thank you for this help. Future diners will benefit from your critique. I can assure you, we do not condone the inferior treatment of single diners! If you can tell me what day you dined with us and approximately where you sat, we could possibly re-educate the server who took care of you that poorly. They need to improve as well. Please help us here. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Overpriced but pleasant”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

$10.00 for their version of a Bloody Mary made with clamto juice. Ok the drinks were tasty but for that price they should be. The stuffed mushroom appetizer was good. The steamer clams and muscles were a small portion. The waitstaff was adequate the view on a sunny day is what you pay for. 2 people, 4 drinks, 3 appetizers = $120.00.

OK but think you might find better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank man4pnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“I will be going back!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I'm australian so have exceptionally high standards when it comes to seafood, this was the best seafood platter (the admiral) that I've had in a very long time. Our server was excellent, friendly & helpful. The environment was great, I loved the style & feel of it, as well as the way the staff interacted with all the guests that i saw. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeannineBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed wharfside seafood grille also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing