We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homecooked Meals with Plenty of Satisfaction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John's Place Restaurant

John's Place Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 1,175 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Homecooked Meals with Plenty of Satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was fortunate to eat here several times, while I visited the area. My meals were massive, satisfying and worth the wait! The Chai Lattes are fantastic, while the omelets are huge! The added touch of home comes in the form of warm, baked loaf slices with a hint of Rosemary and slices of pie. Simply delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PinkMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    325
    70
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Can't beat their breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Honestly, while it may feel like a chore to wait in line for breakfast, it's worth it! The menu is HUGE, with choices for everyone including those of us who are gluten free, and as an added bonus, the gluten free waffle didn't taste gluten free at all, which is usually the case. The portions are huge, the whipped maple syrup is divine, and the atmosphere is fun. I've been going here since I was a teenager, but have never reviewed it before.....been away for awhile and went back this weekend, and wasn't disappointed. Even the waitress I remembered from years ago was still there, and still as charming and efficient as ever! The only thing I have to complain about is the cost of the lattes....while tasty (they use Lavazza coffee which is my favourite), $4.75 for a double is terrible! Anyway, go and enjoy...John's Place is worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thejourneygenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food and fun.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Saturday morning breakfast, about a 10 minute wait. Staff are really friendly and fun. Food, typical fare, but really good and generous portions. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Every time I fly back home, I always make sure to have a meal in John's Place. Yes the line is long, but its worth it. From the newly added gluten free items, to the friendly staff, the food leaves you completely full. Everything from the breakfast menu that includes great waffles, to the perogies, no matter what you choose, it will be great!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleeWinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Mecca of Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We come to John's every time we are in Victoria and are never disappointed with the food, particularly the homemade bread.........TDF. Shepard's pie, bangers + mash, meatloaf.........all done to perfection and in sizeable quantities. Friendly, chatty staff, good tunes and funky (probably priceless) memorabilia. Good luck on another 30 years.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_LeeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Place Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to John's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing