We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, well priced feed in Victoria”

John's Place Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 1,196 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great, well priced feed in Victoria”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We dined at John's Place for breakfast. It was the day of the annual Victoria Day parade, so the place was packed. Although the restaurant was full, we managed to be seated at a table in what we felt was a very short time. The meal was worth the wait. This is a place you really must visit in Victoria. The meals are well priced and the portions are sizeable. Half serves of some dishes are available (I had a half serve of Eggs Benedict which was perfect for me). The staff were very friendly and efficient. The photo memorabilia covering the walls is worth a look on its own.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    345
    78
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great comfort food & great service”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We have been to John's Place for breakfast many times over the years & have never been disappointed. Have been for lunch twice recently & the food & service as always was excellent - love the Oriental Chicken Salad on a tortilla bowl & also the Thai Spring Rolls. Large menu, great food, good portions & try & save space - or come back - for a slice of one of their delicious pies or cheesecakes! Veggie & GF options. Eat where the locals eat is always a good motto! The prices are good too & the service friendly & efficient.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IndigoJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Homecooked Meals with Plenty of Satisfaction”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was fortunate to eat here several times, while I visited the area. My meals were massive, satisfying and worth the wait! The Chai Lattes are fantastic, while the omelets are huge! The added touch of home comes in the form of warm, baked loaf slices with a hint of Rosemary and slices of pie. Simply delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PinkMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Can't beat their breakfasts”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Honestly, while it may feel like a chore to wait in line for breakfast, it's worth it! The menu is HUGE, with choices for everyone including those of us who are gluten free, and as an added bonus, the gluten free waffle didn't taste gluten free at all, which is usually the case. The portions are huge, the whipped maple syrup is divine, and the atmosphere is fun. I've been going here since I was a teenager, but have never reviewed it before.....been away for awhile and went back this weekend, and wasn't disappointed. Even the waitress I remembered from years ago was still there, and still as charming and efficient as ever! The only thing I have to complain about is the cost of the lattes....while tasty (they use Lavazza coffee which is my favourite), $4.75 for a double is terrible! Anyway, go and enjoy...John's Place is worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thejourneygenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food and fun.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Saturday morning breakfast, about a 10 minute wait. Staff are really friendly and fun. Food, typical fare, but really good and generous portions. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Place Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to John's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing