We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stage

Stage
Ranked #73 of 1,176 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Stage is a small-plate restaurant and wine bar located across from the Belfry Theatre in Victoria's trendy Fernwood neighbourhood. Stage supports local farmers, food artisans, and serves a variety of tapas-style dinner offerings. Options range from duck confit and crispy chicken to made-in-house sausage, vegetarian dishes and the city's largest cheese selection. The 55 seat restaurant's vibe is upbeat and funky while maintaining a classy and unique feel. Brick walls, reclaimed hardwood floors, hanging candles, and rotating local art, all combine to create a truly local Victoria experience. Stage has also won several awards including Top 10 new restaurant in 2005 by En Route Magazine, Restaurant of the Year by Vancouver Magazine, and a Silver Medal at the 2013 and 2014 Vancouver International Wine Festival."Winning over patrons from Fernwood and beyond"! - N.Y. Times
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fabulous find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were recommended here by one of the staff in our hotel in Oak Bay. We ended up at Stage on two of our four nights in Victoria, it was SO good. We tried the lamb merguez sausage, the fried brussels, the edamame with garlic and chilli, the Sooke trout, the duck confit, the seared scallop risotto, the cider glazed pork belly - all superb. The wine tastings offered all went well with our food choices. AND do try the peanut butter chocolate bar - OMG! How can something like that be so tasty yet still light? We sat at the bar both visits and the guys there know their stuff. They're constantly attentive, never intrusive. We loved the place and will make a bee line next visit to Victoria. Thanks guys!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DWYGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    49
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good but not awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner here but, frankly, have had much better small plate dinners elsewhere. That said, the olives were REALLY tasty, and we liked having the opportunity to taste so many local wines by the glass. We also enjoyed the an octopus special and the duck confit. Homemade pork sausage with a pierogi was just ordinary, however the pierogi was very good.
The restaurant is small and they do not take reservations for parties under 6 people.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alvalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“this place is awesome and well worth the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I can't say enough good things about this place. The service is excellent, the bartender awesome and the owner even comes and says hello.
I love the wine list, all of which can be ordered by the glass and the small plates are excellent.
My personal favourite is their roasted/fried? brussel sprouts. Who would have thought they could taste so good.
Forget the others, this is THE small plates wine bar to check out in Victoria.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theonlysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wine Bar + Amazing Small Plates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We hiked from Downtown Victoria in search of great BC wines by the glass and creative small plates.

Homemade sausage, in house smoked duck pastrami, handmade gnocchi...we couldn't say no.

Very helpful and friendly staff, hip decor and well worth the walk from the harbour.

Go!

Helpful?
Thank Cyrenius82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great small plates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The concept of sharing small plates of different dishes means that you can taste most of the menu! The wine list is very comprehensive, with a wide choice of BC, and farther afield wines.
The fried Haloumi cheese is, nice and salty , the mussels in curry coconut cream are divine, and the pork belly is decadent with a sweet, sticky sauce. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu items, and the service was prompt and friendly. A lovely spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyTBC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stage also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing