We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, Affordable and So Central Too”

Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #55 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Qualicum Beach, BC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, Affordable and So Central Too”
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I have stayed with Dan & Naoko at their Carriage House Bed & Breakfast for many years now. They are consistently helpful and friendly while providing a very comfortable stay. The location is an easy walk from the downtown area in the attractive James Bay neighbourhood with its tree lined streets and heritage homes. From the B & B you can easily walk to Beacon Hill Park, the Empress Hotel, shops, restaurants, the Island Bus station, the floatplanes or cruise ships. Dan & Naoko provide a very nice hot breakfast and if you need any helpful hints, they are eager to please and to make your stay in Victoria memorable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this B & B and found it to be comfortable and very will situated. The rooms themselves were a bit dated (and no TV) but otherwise comfortable. Breakfast was lovely both mornings and the hosts Dan and Naoko were really kind, helpful and informative. The best thing about this B & B is its proximity to the city centre. Entirely walkable to the city whilst being suburban at the same time. Unusually for a stay in the city, the only traffic that awoke me was the sea planes above!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooeyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Very convenient location, we travelled to Victoria by bus/ferry/bus from Vancouver airport and it was an easy walk to b and b from bus depot down near harbourside area. Victoria is a delightful place, very picturesque and a trip to Butchart Gardens is definitely worthwhile.
Dan and Naoko start you off with a great breakfast, perfect host and hostess.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallcanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We arrived late-ish 8 pm, but this did not seem to be a problem for Dan & Naoko. Our breakfast was the same both days, there was a small charge for internet use, and our room did not have a TV. We found the hosts interesting to talk to. The B&B is in a quiet residential part of Victoria, an easy walk to the harbour. There is a English pub on the opposite corner, which served great food.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solo_passenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggpappa11
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I was a little surprised when my family arrived to stay in the cottage seeing what appeared to be a garage but was definitely pleased to find a huge washroom area and plenty of space for at least two couples who wanted to share costs on accommodations. Extremely close to downtown area being four blocks from the harbour front.

Great food and were provided with a choice for breakfast each morning during our stay.

Great find

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigpappa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

This is a good B&B with an excellent breakfast and friendly hosts, but the best thing about it is the location in a quiet residential neighborhood an easy walk (about half a mile) to the harbor and the center of Victoria. This means that you don't need a car unless you want to do a lot of traveling outside the heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soaringhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

This Bed and Breakfast is only a short walk away from the Parliament buildings and BC Museum in Victoria, set in the small older tree-lined streets of the peninsula.

We stayed in the carriage house cottage, which is a conversion of the old horse-drawn carriage house. The conversion has been very nicely done, with a large double bed in the main area, and a loft bed that was very cozy! There is a small kitchen area for cooking your own food, and a spacious bathroom (with hot tub for winter stays!).

Though you can cook your own food, the breakfast provided by the hosts, Dan & Naoko is a must! (The french toast is definitely a good way to start the day!)

All in all a great bed and breakfast, and one that I would love to stay in again.

  • Liked — The loft bed!
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svalbard_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
John Lewis House B&B
John Lewis House B&B
#12 of 93 in Victoria
140 reviews
James Bay
Heathergate House B&B
Heathergate House B&B
#19 of 93 in Victoria
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Island Suites
#34 of 93 in Victoria
15 reviews
James Bay
Robert Porter House B&B
Robert Porter House B&B
#26 of 93 in Victoria
48 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 596 Toronto St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1P4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing