We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Choice with a lovely Cat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiki Village Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tiki Village Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Good Choice with a lovely Cat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for one night at the Tiki Village Motor in, and found it to be clean, spacious, and the bed was comfortable. Plus, there was a lovely, friendly, long-haired orange cat patrolling the parking lot and lobby area. I'd stay here again on my way through town.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank latitude53er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here for one night. When you love authentic eerie highway architecture, this is quite a place! Polinesian style in Vernon BC :-) The room was clean, spacious and had a lovely balcony with evening sun facing the garden and pool. The staff was friendly. The place is better located near downtown than the chain motels. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenkVanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

It seems like people love to complain and trash others to make themselves feel better. I have stayed here many times and never had any problems. Quiet, comfortable, good service. The review about bullet holes is absolutely ridiculous. I think if there was a shooting at the Tiki, it would have made the paper!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flyrubberband13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

definitely one of the worst places i've stayed.... ever.
Had several room here and was booked for two days. We all had to pack up and leave after the first night because all the rooms were so bad.

had to sleep with all clothes on including hoody...
crumbs in bed.
used coffee still in coffee maker from previous renter
no hot water
bullet holes in one room
terrible service


the good:
fairly fast wireless internet
close to earls

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhorho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vernon hotels

Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel when I was a kid and have many happy memories of the place. Over the years it has changed hands and the place went a bit downhill. I am happy to say that it has improved a great deal with the new owners. The rooms have all been redone, new paint, flooring, beds, ect. Everything is clean including the little pool and hot tub, sauna. The courtyard that surrounds the hotel is very nice and lit up at night with tiki torches.. The restauarant on site is very convenient and very good food. I was very happy to see my old stomping ground back up to snuff and would highly recommend it for those who want a little oasis in Vernon

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

This is an older hotel and not the cleanest or freshest smelling. The air conditioner vent had about a years worth of dust/grime in it. Considering that we were there for the first heat wave of the year - it should have been cleaner. The sheets had black grease marks on the corners. The wicker furniture was filthy; sticky arm rests and dirty cushions. Carpet in the room was less than clean. And the walls were extremely thin; including the outside wall; making conversations of those arriving to their own rooms well known to us in our room. But I think the most disturbing part of the room's appearance was the clear plastic garbage bag placed strategically over the smoke detector. We wondered if staff or previous guests had placed it there. I think that may be a violation of fire codes??!
The only plus - very nice towels - plush, large and absorbent! Oh, and the beautiful Japanese gardens outside the back of the motel.
Other than that, I'd recommend staying elsewhere....

  • Liked — towels and the garden
  • Disliked — room filth, thin walls, smoke detector being covered - such a no-no!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lctbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TikiVillage, Manager at Tiki Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2008
Yes this is an older hotel...60 years old in fact. Unfortunately this guest had shown up right in the middle of our Spring clean-up. The carpets have all been cleaned and we are in the process of cleaning all the A/C units and their filters. Up until recently the cool weather did not require the use of air conditioners. Our housekeeping staff does an excellent job to ensure that the suites are always free of dust and debris. A previous guest was probably smoking in the room and placed a bag on the smoke detector. It was obviously missed by my staff; the ceiling is not their first priority when they go to clean a room. The black grease marks on the corners of the sheets??? All of our sheets are marked on the corners with permanent marker stating the sheet size, K for king size, Q for queen size, etc. We here at the Tiki Village take great pride in the appearance of our accomodations. Most guests find it quite comfortable and a majority of them are repeat customers, some going back 20 years. The Hilton it isn't, BUT it is a quiet, rustic little place off the main highway with a relaxing back yard and garden which is why we refer to it as Vernon's little oasis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernon hotels
1.6 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pacific Inn
0.8 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Vernon
Days Inn Vernon
#9 of 20 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#6 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Village Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Village Motor Inn

Property: Tiki Village Motor Inn
Address: 2408 34 St, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 5W8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tiki Village Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tiki Village Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing