We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting the Outback”
Review of The Outback Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Outback Resort
Camrose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visiting the Outback”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This was an amazing resort, beautiful accomodations and the view was awesome. Unit was very clean and comfortable.Loved our stay, very nice touches, fireplace, TVS in very room.
We will be back with our family.

Room Tip: Cabin 25 was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraCamrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    9
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our stay at the Outback Resort in Vernon B.C. was awesome! It is located in a very natural setting and right by the lake. we stayed in a condo that was just beautiful, well decorated and fully stocled with full kitchen and laundry room. Very quiet and peaceful location where we could spend our mornings outside drinking coffee and soaking it all in. I forgot my phone in the condo when we left and they were kind enough to meet us in town and return my phone befiore we had to leave to catch a flight!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

These are all privately owned homes in a gated area that participate in the rental program. The place I stayed in was a two bedroom two bath unit among the trees. It had modern appliances and everything you need to cook your own meals including a BBQ.
I needed a last minute place to stay with a full kitchen and close to friends in Vernon. This place more than suited my needs. I am planning to come back with friends and family next time. The homes are in a quiet little area surrounded by trees and right near the lake. It is also minutes from Ellison park which is a popular mountain biking and hiking area. There is also a private beach area. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at one of the townhouses by the trout lake. The townhouse was a three bedroom, with 2 bedroom & 2 bathrooms on the first floor and the master bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The house had everything one may need to comfortably leave there for a few days. I included all kitchen supplies, dishes, small appliances, barbecue, etc. the sheets & towels were clean, but some other things were not cleaned such as the stuff in the oven's drawer were quite oily. There were lots of hair left in the dryer & the sofa and cushions were not spotless.
We chose this location for 2 reasons: it's free wifi and the location being kids friendly. Unfortunately the wifi did not work - we were given a network name and a password but they did not work. We called several times but we were told that they have left message and sent email to the owner - the owner never got back to us for the duration of our stay. Being an IT specialist I logged into the router and found out that the network name we were given was wrong but I did not have the admin password to fix the issue. This sat us back quite a bit. Also we had a toddler with us who loves water and this being a kids friendly location with small pools, we were hoping to use the pool facility - but again another set back you cannot take kids wearing swim diapers to the pool. So we could not use the pool either. Overall the place was nice and we wnjoyed our stay but next time we will stay at a place that is more kids friendly with better amenities and better servic.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fstrraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I am writing this review on the last day of our trip, I booked on of the Outback Ridge Homes for a business retreat, the home was amazing 3 bedroom each with a full bathroom, open kitchen and cantilevered living room. This is a remote location (about 20 minutes out of Vernon)

Be prepared with all your supplies (its a far trip into town if you forget the coffee) and you will have an amazing trip, the views and accommodation are amazing.

Room Tip: The Ridge homes are simply amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxusTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is a huge complex of condominiums privately owned and caters to owners not rental guests. Units are 4 star on first impression but lots of things are broken, such as appliances and not properly cleaned. As part of a family reunion we rented 8 units and all had the same problems. The lake is not accessible by foot, especially if you have small children and looks like a parking lot full of $90,000 wakeboard boats. Pool was shutdown during our stay a/o health concerns. The staff were not impolite but not exactly accomodating, Rental guests were obviously an inconvenience.
We still had a great time and staying here was not exactly a "hardship". The problem is that the place has no soul. If you enjoy mingling with people who spend more on silicone implants than normal people spend on a car you will love it here. Otherwise get a lakefront house for the same price or less.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the entrance code to the property or you could sit outside waiting to get checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JoeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Overall we really enjoyed our time here. However, although this development is very nice, for those expecting to be pampered in four or five star resort style, this place is not recommended. If you arrive knowing what to expect, you should have a great vacation.
PROS:
Condos are very spacious, modern, clean, and come with quality utensils and full kitchen.
Nice setting, among the trees. The property, which is on rocky bluffs overlooking Lake Okanagan is quite spectacular.
The outlook from our "Trout Lake" (really a pond) condo was nice.
Neighbors the Ellison Provincial Park, which is stunningly beautiful, with magnificent beaches, and a good children's play area.
Staff were polite, and efficient.
Parking and ok. Internet access is included.
Weather was outstanding.
Main pools are heated a little...a nice touch!
Quite accommodating for children (and pets). There are loads of kids, and the kids and their parents are friendly.
Neat to see deer and other wildlife wandering around the resort.

CONS:
This is a massive condo development, more than 150 units / houses. For its size, the facilities provided are inadequate. There are two (fairly small swimming pools), and a total of 5 or 6 sun umbrellas in the whole complex!
Due to the size of the resort, it is a long walk down/up the hill to/from the "beach" or the main amenities from trout lake, a little tiresome for kids. Owners use golf carts.
The childrens playground is a joke...less than many folks would have in their back yard at home! The one at Ellison park is way better, but quite a hike.
The fitness center is too small (one treadmill, eliptical trainer, recumbent bike, weight equipment), is poorly ventilated and does not provide any towels (and the paper ones for cleaning equipment had run out.) The treadmill needs maintenance.
The resort is miles from the nearest grocery store (about 25 minutes by car), and unless you plan well in advance (basically you have to provide everything`), it is a big hassle.
There are essentially no services provided for guests onsite. No coffee bar, no shop at all, no facilities to rent kayaks, bikes, or other equipment, no spa.
There has been little effort to connect to the neighboring park (you have to go through someone's yard and climb a fence.) The resort cannot provide you with walking/hiking/running maps.
Lower floor rooms can be noisy. We awoke to the kid in the level above running around on the hardwood floor at 7 am each morning.
The beaches do not compare to what is available at the park next door or elsewhere. That being said, the resort IS beautiful, well designed and is in a magnificent location.

Room Tip: Arrive with all the groceries you need packing in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martygSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernon hotels
2.7 mi away
Sparkling Hill Resort
10.0 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
10.3 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#4 of 20 in Vernon
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#8 of 20 in Vernon
264 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Pacific Inn
2.5 mi away
Predator Ridge Resort
Predator Ridge Resort
#6 of 20 in Vernon
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outback Resort

Property: The Outback Resort
Address: 9845 Eastside Rd, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 1Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the stunning natural environment of one of the best places on earth, along the rugged shorelines of Okanagan Lake, lies what is perhaps North America's finest 4-seasons waterfront resort. Situated on 60 acres, this resort offers 2 pools, 4 hot tubs, children's playground and tennis courts for your enjoyment. There are hiking and biking trails onsite and adjacent to the resort at neighboring Ellison Park. World renowned Predator Ridge Golf Course and The Rise Golf Course are nearby. The Outback Vacation Homes offers 4 different types of accommodation to suit all budgets. Choose from Trout Lake townhomes, Forest Cabins, Bay Villas and the stunning Ridge Homes. Each vacation home is stylishly furnished and the gourmet kitchens are fully equipped. The perfect location for your family vacation get away, romantic weekend, or fun retreat with friends.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outback Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing