We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Small Room”
Review of Schell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schell Motel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Super Small Room”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The room we were assigned was super small and so so clean. The motel location is downtown and within walking distance of good eateries. The room was small enough that it didn't even have space for a chair let alone a table. I had to use the ironing board from the room to set up my lap top computer on. Was also surprised that while talking to front desk attendant that there is no onsite management or supervision from midnight to 8am. That shocked us. And the so called breakfast wasn't open until 8am when the dayshift attendant showed up. Who waits until 8am to have their breakfast bar open. Most travellers have long since left. I was pretty disappointed and would likely not stay at this motel again unless in a larger room.

Room Tip: Look at the size of the room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    21
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
16
26
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

While passing through the Okanagan a year ago, we stayed one night and chose this property again because it is a few blocks off the main highway, quiet, reasonable priced, and the pool was warm. This time the pool was so cold and I could only stand being in it for five minutes. The bathroom was unclean, specifically the bathtub, shower curtain, and toilet. Also, some of the outdoor common areas were not clean. We will stay elsewhere next time based on this. A good clean up and some updating would make a difference. Friendly staff though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiTravelsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vernon hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we wanted a room near downtown. The room was tired and not overly clean. It smelled like old smoke even though it was non smoking. Would not stay here again. It's only value us central location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

we stayed here about 2 weeks ago, room was dirty feet got dirty just from walking on the floor bathroom was gross hair and dirty water marks all over the floor and wall, looks like they mopped the floor with dirty mop water thats if they even have mops! pool is freezing cold they say heated but if it is must be heated from the sun cause out daughter wouldnt even go in it. closet to hang your coats or whatever had cob webs in it, light on dresser had cob webs in it when you went to turn off the light thats something you would love to put your hand threw just before going to bed. they dont give extra rolls of toilet paper first night there we ran out of toilet paper,so asked for a roll and we had to wait took about 20 - 30 mins before we got 1 roll for the room.those bathmats rolled up on the tub look disgusting you should just throw them out makes the bathroom even worse then it already is dirty dirty! we had to move the bed about foot up against the wall cause we have a baby and they had no play pen. chips,pills, peanuts, and dirt and when they did up the room the next day they didnt even vaccum it up, i had to ask for a vaccum and did it myself, oh and you guys need to invest in a new vacuum cleaner! i can see why the housekeepers wouldnt even bother plug it in takes forever to suck anything up and if your trying to do your job quickly that would just be a waste of time trying to run it back and forth cause its not gonna do much anyways !!. i should have taken pics it is not clean anyone who says there room was clean i would hate to see where you have been that you consider dirty! price is decent so we figured as long as nothing is biting us might as well stay instead of hauling all our stuff and kids to another place, but we defiantly wont be back! on a positive note the lady at the front desk on night shift was very friendly and helpful, this could be a nice place if they did some serious cleaning and updated it

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

we stayed here in May 2013 for 4 nights in 30 degree weather; was really hoping the pool & sitting area would of been opened but it wasn't; that was my only disappointment. close to downtown 30th ave. and a Safeway right next door along with a little park bench area; it was clean, quiet and safe area. their is stream that flows threw next to the property and you will see the ducks and some wildlife. well worth your money especially having a kitchenette and seating area. was told the same owner for 20 years. only suggestion is a electric fan for the living room as the air conditioner is in the bedroom. my buddy had his own room no balcony and it stayed nice and cool.

Room Tip: ask for a room view of the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed here for a month last year whilst visiting family in the Okanagan. I liked the separate full kitchen /dining/lounge area from the bedroom making it easier for friends/family to visit. My dog was also able to stay for a little while
The staff (owners etc) were very helpful and couldn't do enough for me!
I have already booked for a month for this year's visit.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stopped there on our way from Vancouver to Calgary, as it's almost exactly half-way between those two cities. The room was very clean, equipped with microwave, coffe maker, iron + board. There were many towels in the bathroom + the hair dryer. It was one of the chepest motels we found within the area and I think it was a great value for the price. There was also a complimentary breakfast, nothing fancy, but it was ok - cereals, tosts and muffins. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernon hotels
0.6 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#8 of 20 in Vernon
265 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon
1.3 mi away
Best Western Pacific Inn
0.4 mi away
Schell Motel Express
Schell Motel Express
#16 of 20 in Vernon
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schell Motel

Property: Schell Motel
Address: 2810 35 St, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 6B5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Schell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing