We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views ever whether lake or mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sparkling Hill Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Best views ever whether lake or mountain”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Unfortunately we only got to stay one night. They are very strict about not allowing guests to use ANY facilities if you haven't checked in or once you have checked out. Disappointing as most hotels say sure, and will take your bags and let you go to the pool at least. They said it was because everyone uses the same towels and robes. Hmmmmm...

THE ROOM: Certainly has the wow factor for sure! We had a lake view and it was just divine. It seemed like a super high end room with all the finishings, the gorgeous soaker tub and crystal art work. We found that they don't pay attention to details though

tp holders were coming off the wall
the thermostat in the bathroom showed the wrong time
no coffee in the room (this one bugs me just like Vegas, I want to get out of bed and make coffee and enjoy that gorgeous view!).
Shoddy internet (this was a big deal as we were working and couldn't connect)
Tub plug came out
The handle on the shower actually came off
Seem odd that there aren't more spots to hang wet clothes too. We saw many folks hanging off the windows.

The tub (I want one) was great and not sure why they don't provide bubble bath. We have been to numerous resorts that do. Makes it fun!

The above are just little details and have to state again the room is spectacular. Just seem like there might be an issue since care isn't taken for everything or check-lists done.

THE BREAKFAST
We had a complimentary buffet breakfast with was just great. No complaints!

THE HIKING
We went for a hike in the am and brought the trail map and found the trails are NOT marked well at tall. We did the loop (kind of) and when we got to the bottom and it said to to right there were 2 roads with no markings. We took the wrong one we think after double checking the map and looking for markings for some time.

THE POOL

This infinitely pool is to die for! Wow, I wished we had more time. What is odd about the design is that they certainly didn't make the lounge area big enough. You have to step over peoples loungers to move around which is uncomfortable for us in the loungers. :-) It could have easily been twice the size but man was that pool and view nice!


HELPFUL TIP

We had heard some bad reviews about the restaurant from friends and family in the area as it being overpriced and kind of nothing too fancy. They told us to request a shuttle to Predator Ridge for dinner. Free plus tip there and back. It was a fantastic meal with lively ambiance looking over the golf course. We would do it again in a heart beat!

Have a great time if you go. Though pointing things out about does not mean we won't go back, we sure will! It is a lovely resort, the front staff were really nice and so were the wait staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view but the mountain view is still fantastic! Apparently they have a lower rate in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlarocqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,030
    451
    194
    98
    61
See reviews for
173
1,119
49
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Beautiful facility. Our room was well appointed, clean, and had an awesome view, however the service was unacceptable. Thursday evening we had reservations for dinner at 7:00, half of the dining room was closed as they were doing a photo shoot for new pamplets. With such a busy time of the year/day I question why they would choose the busiest time of the day to close half of the dining room at the expense of their paying guests. Prior to dinner we went to the bar/bistro for a drink. There were two other tables outside; we were the only table seated inside. After appx half an hour and serving ourselves water, a server came to take our order. We asked what they offered, she said that she would bring us a menu, which she did; one bar menu for the five of us to share. She did not mention anything outside of the bar menu such as coffee or other non alcoholic drinks. She later returned with the drinks we had ordered, however she did not return to see how we were doing or to deliver our bill. We had to go to the counter to pay our bill. When we got to the dining room we were shown to a very large round table, it didn't have a view and it was much too large for our little group; as the dining room was full, we had no other option. The service continued to deteriorate. The service staff appeared harried and unsure of their job, on two occasions we witnessed staff walking with orders asking several tables if that was their order. We had to send two of our meals back, one steak was cooked very well done - the order was for medium rare, and the other steak dinner was cold. We ordered two cheesecakes and two apple strudels for dessert - we recieved three apple strudels and one cheesecake. Last week I sent an email to the general manager, Hans-Peter Mayer, outlining these deficiencies, however as at today he has not responded. Service quality starts at the top.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel was unlike any we have ever stayed in! Amazing views, amazing service, excellent food, the rooms were incredible! Definitely a resort to keep coming back to!

The customer service we had was great! They greeted us as the door and were more than happy to help us with anything we needed!

The rooms were great too!! Beautiful decor, awesome walk through shower and Jacuzzi tub overlooking the lake! We really couldn't ask for more! We have stayed there twice now and are planning a trip in September!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great place to take your other half for a get away from the busy world , Massages and pampering most people need.One thing is that kids under 16 not alowed in th 8 different types of spa rooms . Got to try the -110 degree room

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dvkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We enjoyed Sparkling Hill so much that we have returned 3 times already in the past year!! It is truly a tranquil experience! The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful in every way! From Valet parking to a delicious breakfast included in our stay we were very happy with our overall experience at Sparkling Hill! Every room has a beautiful view of the Okanagan! The rooms are superior, extremley comforatable beds and all the luxuries you could ask for, including robes and slippers!! The spa is a whole other amazing experience, which is also included in the stay! There are several aromatic steam saunas and dry saunas as well... the outdoor infinity pool is really cool too!! The architecture, with all the beautiful crystal structures, is incredible!! We are always so relaxed and rejuvinated while and after we have stayed at Sparkling Hill, it is such a great healing destination!! We plan to go back as soon as possible!!

Room Tip: If possible try to book a corner room on the higher levels, beautiful view and so much natural sunli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

What a plush place on the planet. I found the resort exceptional and dining great.
can't say enough of the beauty and elegance of this resort. although pricey, it is a once in a lifetime you shouldn't miss out on if at all possible.
We chose this as the last stop on a special weekend on a very special day and waited with excited anticipation for weeks prior.
Sadly upon arrival we were greated with a 20 min confusion to sign in as our king lakeview room that we booked and confirmed was switched to 2 queens and it required me to present the emailed confimation to prove it. This caused a stammering and the clerk retreated for some time to come up with an excuse, I mean, reason and in the end much to our disappointment given no option "take it or leave it".
We took it. and....
Chocked it up to using a discount rate advertised for the month and that someone else was paying full rate and that trumps early bookings at some hotels
Happily we had an someones ear.....see there is this fantastic concierge named Mike "the great".
he meet us in the parking lot and said he overheard our plight and was able to offer us a king lakeview room that was for special designated guests as it was vacant.
Thanks again you saved a very special evening for us.
The Dining experience was again awesome, Food , Service and Views..... "World Class"
Again Sadly... I must warn other guests as upon checkout I found we were billed full rate and took extra time to correct the errors made by the front desk staff.
Aside from these inconveniences it was a great evening.

Room Tip: try to find a discounted rate to reduce the ouch factor. Bring your email confirmations with descri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellin49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I booked this hotel through Travelzoo and didn't know what to expect. From the moment I entered the front doors I was amazed at it beauty. Everything has been detailed with Swarskovski Crystal. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked into our room. It was nicely appointed with a king bed and a lakeview. There is a nice soaking tub, walk in shower and double sinks. There are bathrobes and slippers, which we were told needed to be used when using the spa and pool facilities. This is a good thing as they were lush robes. The sauna and steam rooms were wonderful each having their own special characteristic. The tea room is also a nice place to visit as they have neat tea flavors to try and looks out on to the Predator Rigde Golf Course. The Serenity room is just that. They have comfy lounge chairs and soft blankets for cover with beautiful soft music playing in the background. The pool and hot tub area was spa like and they had special toiletries in the bathrooms. The ceiling in the pool area had little lights that twinkled like a night sky and if you put your head under the water you can hear beautiful music in the water....a treasured peaceful environment. The restaurant was elegant and although a bit pricey had a decent menu and the food was very good. Breakfast was on the house in the form of a wonderful buffet which included fruits, yogurt, sausages, muffins, toast and several choices of juices, teas and coffee. I felt like a princess in this hotel. The crystal detail throughout the hotel was just beautiful. I would return to this resort in a heartbeat. I was sorry when we had to leave, but when they brought our car back to us, there were two chilled bottles of water, which was appreciated as we continued our summer holiday journey.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#4 of 20 in Vernon
258 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Property: Sparkling Hill Resort
Address: 888 Sparkling Place, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vernon
#2 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 3.5 million crystals infused within this modern oasis – a most remarkable hotel and wellness centre with European-inspired design elegance. Nestled in the mountains near Vernon, BC, and overlooking Lake Okanagan, your personal journey to whole body health and wellness begins at our standout among British Columbia resorts. Wellness Packages at KurSpa Sparkling Hill’s reputation as an internationally-renowned wellness center and health retreat is unparalleled. What better way to spark your journey towards a new you than our Wellness Packages, providing savings on spa and wellness treatments at KurSpa. Learn more about our Weeklong Wellness Packages. Also be sure to explore our fitness classes and meditation workshops to promote well-being in mind, body and spirit. KurSpa: A Holistic Health Spa The heart of our Lake Okanagan resort is KurSpa, our 40,000 square foot European-inspired spa, clinic, and wellness center. It is the largest spa in Canada and shines brightly as a worldwide wellness destination. Relax, renew, and revitalize at KurSpa's seven unique aromatherapy, steam, and sauna rooms. Swim in Kurspa's serenity pool featuring underwater music and a Swarovski crystal night sky. Choose from over 100 transformative spa treatments and therapies to detoxify the body and promote optimum health. Consult with our professional team including our naturopathic physician, psychiatrist, massage providers and kinesiologists and view their renowned clinic services. Enhance your relationships with the help of our SHaRP program, which can range from romantic to work relationships. Schedule yourself a mini silent retreat in our Serenity Room. Or, experience the first European Cryo Cold Chamber (-110°C) in North America, our signature KurSpa treatment. Our Luxurious British Columbia Resort Take in the stunning beauty of the Okanagan Valley from our BC resort’s luxury guest rooms and penthouses, which feature sweeping lake and mountain views and operable floor to ceiling glass window walls that can be opened to instantly transform your room into an outdoor oasis. Swarovski crystals illuminate fireplaces, fixtures and ceilings, lending a luminous and luxurious ambience to every space. Fresh Fine Dining Sparkling Hill Resort is also home to the best fine dining destinations in Vernon, BC. PeakFine, our signature restaurant, serves a menu emphasizing the freshest and finest ingredients the Okanagan Valley has to offer. Known as the "Napa of the North" the region's spectacular wines are on offer at PeakFine and Barrique & Java, our more casual wine, tapas, and coffee bar. Stunning Swarovski crystal chandeliers and accents imbue our dining spaces with glamour and elegance, and those seeking an elegantly rustic setting for private dining or special events will find it in Gernots. Discover Sparkling Hill Recognized as a trendsetter in healthy living and wellness hospitality, our Okanagan Lake resort is a distinctive destination for the modern sophisticated traveler. Whether planning a couple's escape, corporate wellness retreat, or incentive travel, our British Columbia resort delivers an unforgettable blend of relaxation, restoration, and wellness. Please explore our website; we look forward to welcoming you to Sparkling Hill Resort on your personal journey to whole body health and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing