We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Fine...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Kelowna, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's Fine...”
Reviewed 3 November 2008

I was very nervous after reading some reviews on this site ... we stayed for 1 night at the Sandman Vernon for easy access to a hockey tournament in Lumby. No, it's not a 1st class hotel like we'd all love to stay in, but it was just fine for our hockey team. Although it's an older hotel, the beds were actually very comfortable, the room was clean, and the front desk staff were super friendly and hospitable, even giving us a later checkout due to our game times. No, don't go on your honeymoon here ... but if you're looking for 1 or 2 nights of convenience then this place is just fine.

  • Liked — beds were really comfy.
  • Disliked — the pool was OK for the kids but looked really shabby.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kelowna71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    53
    27
    17
    10
See reviews for
35
28
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

This is one of the worst hotels, if not the worst hotel we have ever stayed at!!! The carpets in the hall were urine stained (assuming it was from pets??), the carpet in our room was dirty, the shower head in the bathroom was falling out of the wall, some light bulbs were burnt out in our room, and the "internet connection" consisted of a cable that was so old and worn out it wouldn't stay connect to my laptop. On top of this, there were no screens on the window and it was extremely warm the weekend we were in Vernon. We had to close the window at night as we didn't feel safe leaving it open at night. The pool is in need of repair (cracked tiles). We had originally booked for two nights but checked out after one night. When the manager was approached about the the urine stains in the hallway he denied they were urine stains and asked "what do you want me to do about it?"
(Perhaps - clean the carpets???) Stay far, far away from this hotel. The Super 8 across the street is cheaper, and much, much, much cleaner!!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Absolutely everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationerLangley_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vernon hotels

Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

We were looking for a hotel in Vernon and stopped at this one. The price was alright so we took a room. The room we had was the tiniest hotel room I have ever stayed in. You literally tripped over your spouse. We peeked into the pool, NO, we will not go there. There certainly is a need for some maintenance, but overall, it was okay. I'm not sure I will stay here again, but if you are looking for a good price, and a clean bed for the night, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Tiny size of the room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Love_Grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
373 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

This hotel is located about 10 minutes from the Vancouver Intl. Airport. It is clean, comfortable, nice rooms, friendly staff, and has a restaurant. There are standard rooms, business rooms, and even rooms with jacuzzis. It is located just off the Hwy 99 freeway leading into Vancouver. They also offer a parking package.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2006

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. The property is somewhat run down, but overall acceptable for the price. There are two sections (an older section, and much newer tower). The rooms in the tower section are much nicer (specifically request a room here)

If you want to sleep in, ask for a room not facing the train tracks which run directly behind the hotel (we wanted to sleep in, but were awakened at an early hour by a train).

The level of customer service is far lower than at other hotels we have stayed at in the area. We are not demanding guests at all, but felt more like a nuisance than like paying guests while checking in. Staff morale appears to be low and is reflected in the lack of service they offer [On the morning when we were checking out, we witnessed a disagreement in the lobby between the front desk person and various cleaning staff.] On the other hand, the staff in the attached Denny's restaurant was very helpful and friendly.

For hotels of approximately the same price, next time we will stay at either the Prestige Inn or Holiday Inn Express which looked like better properties in the same price range.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VCRtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2004

Well that would be the last place on earth I would spend a weekend. The hotel is very run down no screens on the windows and with the threat of west nile you think there would be. Plus they do not patrol their parking lot so if you plan on leaving anything in your car be warned you might not have it the next morning. There are no signs telling hotel guests to watch. The pool was 3 or so hotel rooms that were convertied and it was dirty. The managers live on site but I don't think they smile much. Even though it's God's Country. I think I will keep heading south into the great USA and leave the home town trips to other Canadains.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelingCouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernon hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Pacific Inn
0.1 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#8 of 20 in Vernon
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vernon
Prestige Hotel Vernon
#3 of 20 in Vernon
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon

Property: Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon
Address: 4201 32 St, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 5P3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Silver Star Ski Resort and nearby Kalamalka and Okanagan Lakes, Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon features 86 newly renovated guest rooms, full kitchen and studio bedroom suites, and a business centre, making it the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon Hotel Vernon
Sandman Inn And Suites Vernon
Sandman Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing