We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and convenient”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #10 of 17 Vernon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We took a side trip to Vernon and did not have reservations for any hotel prior to arriving. We wanted something convenient for our dog who is getting on in years and liked the easy access to our suite and the parking lot looked relatively clean despite it being early autumn when the leaves tend to blow every where. The room was quite roomy, but we always question the need for two queen size beds in a room... we both think a sofa bed and one queen would be more appropriate, if traveling with kids, the sofa bed should suffice for them and the last time I shared a room with another couple was, well never.

The room was clean, and appeared to have been renovated recently. Our only complaints were the two kitchen chairs had stains on them, a 2" by 3" piece of carpet was missing, and could quite easily have been replaced, the carpet edging was more appropriate for outdoor use rather than indoor use, and we had to be careful to not trip over it when walking, and the cupboard lining seemed to have gotten wet at one time, and had torn and was not attractive. We did not use the kitchen, despite asking for a kitchenette, as we spent our time there out and about. We travel with food supplies, so like to have the refrigerator. The bathroom was nice and very clean and it was great to have a smart TV and Wifi. Front desk was pleasant enough and I glanced at the continental breakfast and it was not at all appealing. I think there was one or two types of dry cereal and bread for toasting. Everything was right in the office as well and I think a room set aside with waffles, juices, coffee, maybe some in season fruit and pastries would have been nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maitiemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeVernon13, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are continually making improvements to our rooms and property. Your comments are helpful as we continue our room renovations.
We hope that the next time you are in Vernon, you will come back to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived in Vernon without a hotel reservation for the night and decided to inquire at the Econo Lodge after checking that the parking lot could accommodate our vehicle and trailered boat. A couple of weeks before, I had researched the place online and it seemed to be a decent option for both price and location. I must admit, however, that had I not looked online previously, I may have been dissuaded by the property's curb appeal. The exterior doesn't look as nice as it should, given the quality of renovations that the rooms have obviously undergone.

We were given a standard room (1 queen bed) on the ground level, opposite the pool. This is a motel, so the entrance to the room is from the back, where you would park your vehicle. The room has a set of patio doors leading to an inner common courtyard where you can access barbeques and picnic tables. This area is not actually secured from outsiders, but it is mostly hidden from view of the cars that pass by on Highway 97, as the pool, hot tub and sauna area - as well as a laundry and ice machine - is situated at the front of the property. (We weren't bothered by noise from the highway at night.) Your electronic door key (just tap - no awkward sliding required) gets you access to all of the above.

Inside amenities include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, wall-mounted flat screen TV, a somewhat noisy AC unit, and a heater in the bathroom. The bathroom is well laid out, with generous counter space and bright lighting. There is no exhaust fan, but you can open up a small window located high above the tub for venting outside. The room itself had a bureau unit with drawers, a good-sized closet, a full length wall mirror, a large writing desk, and a corner table with two chairs. We found the bed to be comfortable. It would be unfair to call this room "basic"; we stayed at a Holiday Inn on this trip with less amenities.

Wi-fi is included, although I never did get it to work properly for me. (Since we were just there for one night and we had a data plan on one of our cell phones, it wasn't a big deal.) The property's basic continental breakfast in "served" in the front office/reception area, so while it's an appreciated option, it's more like a "to go" option.

All in all, for the amount charged, the Vernon EconoLodge provided good value, a convenient location (many, many good options for dining located within a short walking distance) and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boromach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeVernon13, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our motel. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.
We strive to keep our rooms and property clean and in good condition.
We look forward to seeing you again, the next time you are in Vernon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed here for two nights during a business trip in September of 2013. I booked it due to high customer ratings online. It definitely did not live up to that billing but it was okay. The "free" breakfast looked pretty skimpy so I went to Denny's, directly across the street. The room was very basic and water pressure wasn't great in the shower. There were a lot of undesirable types wandering around the area of the hotel so I kept an eye on my car. Overall, it was fine and decent value for the price but two nights was more than enough.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back parking lot away from the main drag to keep noise down but don't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeVernon13, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Vernon.
We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.
We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in Vernon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I was drawn by the very fair rates, based upon AMA membership. The managers were amazingly friendly and courteous. The room was a very decent size and all appliances worked. The lighting was a bit too dim for my liking, but I didn't spend a lot of time inside it. This is the first hotel I have every stayed at, with patio doors. I was disappointed that you couldn't lock them from the outside, so it didn't seem safe to use them to go to the pool. Speaking of the pool, it was a good size although I didn't try it out, other than to have a quick cool down. The staff kept the bedding and towels pretty clean, but the chair covers and curtains weren't well aged. I have to admit, that the air conditioning was loud but for me that was good. As it is by the highway, there is a lot of street and hallway noise but the air conditioning drowned it all out when I had it on. I was thrilled that I never heard noise from the sides though. For the price and location, I was happy. The Wi-Fi was fast but the breakfast was better in other similar establishments. In fact, we ended out eating at Denny's more often than not. All in all, glad I came. My only real complaint was that the beds are too firm, but it was great to have extra pillows in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a kitchenette suite... Very good. Rooms have recently been updated with new floors, bathroom, tv. Wifi was available, but super-slow. Pool and hottub were really nice, and a hit with the kids. Free breakfast included was pretty limited, but adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

he room was very clean, working fridge, and hi tech touch type electronic entry card. We stayed only for a night.

We asked for a late checkout at 10 am with still an hour to go for regular checkout, and the lady said no with a bit of rudeness that the housekeeping is waiting for us to get out. It as as if they wanted us out sooner.

Another strange thing was the wall mounted aircon unit; it was installed so high uo that you had to climb over a chair to actually switch it on/off.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriniIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Myhe135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeVernon, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernon hotels
0.1 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Vernon
Days Inn Vernon
#9 of 20 in Vernon
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Pacific Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vernon
0.1 mi away
Sandman Inn & Suites Vernon
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Vernon BC
Super 8 Vernon BC
#6 of 20 in Vernon
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 4100 32 St, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 5P1, Canada (Formerly Hillside Plaza Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range: £42 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing