We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is where distilling in BC all started” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery

Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Okanagan Spirits is Western Canada's oldest craft distillery spanning over a decade in the production of award-winning B.C. spirits. Internationally acclaimed as North America's only designated World Class Distillery (World Spirits Awards), our portfolio includes a range of spirits from Vodka, Whisky and Gin, to Liqueurs and Brandies (Eau de Vie) as well as Canada's first genuine Absinthe.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is where distilling in BC all started”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Had a great visit with my wife to these guys Beautiful Kelowna Distillery but then found out that the original distillery (BC's first craft distillery apparently) was in downtown Vernon, so we just had to visit on our way through to Banff. This location is less posh than the Kelowna distillery but we were able to have a great visit with their Master Distiller (I think his name was Peter.?), and we were blown away to find out how internationally acclaimed these guys really are. The distiller was quite lovely and modest but when we looked around and saw all of the awards from this years World Alcohol awards we couldn't help[ to think that we were in the realm of greatness! Way to go Okanagan Spirits for putting this part of the world on the world stage of alcohol production right along side the wonderful wineries that we have had such a lovely time visiting on our visit to the Okanagan Valley.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canuckroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coldstream, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spirits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had heard that our local Vernon distillery was producing some really interesting products but were surprised and delighted with the quality of both the wine based "liquers" and the distilled spirits, in particular, the gin. We were welcomed by Tony, given a tour of the premises and an explanation of the processes they use. Very knowledgeable people, friendly, helpful, warm and engaging. It is really a hidden gem in Vernon, well worth visiting, learning about, tasting and purchasing some samples. Really enjoyed our time there. We'll definitely be back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Don't miss going to Okanagan Spirits in Vernon or Kelowna to taste their delicious liqueurs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

If you have an absence of Absinthe or enjoy drinking your seven daily fruits in a glass, go to Okanagan Spirits and try everything they make! You won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“This place is AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I hate wine, so finding this place was great because I could do a tasting of Liqueurs and other fun things! So tasty and ended up buying a bottle of Blueberry Liqueur to take home with me. Tasting prices are very reasonable $5 for three tastings and if you end up buying a bottle they waive the charge. Awesome place, highly recommend!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really educational and interesting... plus there was booze!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was a lot of fun. We were surprised when they were actually distilling the spirits right out where you could see it. The facility is incredible clean, and their spirits were fantastic to try. You can try them all for free, but they are so good you will likely end up buying something.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan1984Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery also viewed

Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing