We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buy a bottle of their BC Hopped Whisky before it is gone”

Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery
Ranked #3 of 50 things to do in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Okanagan Spirits is Western Canada's oldest craft distillery spanning over a decade in the production of award-winning B.C. spirits. Internationally acclaimed as North America's only designated World Class Distillery (World Spirits Awards), our portfolio includes a range of spirits from Vodka, Whisky and Gin, to Liqueurs and Brandies (Eau de Vie) as well as Canada's first genuine Absinthe.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Buy a bottle of their BC Hopped Whisky before it is gone”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stopped in with a Japanese student today to do some sampling. We tried Sea Buckthorn (very unique) and their award winning Black Current liqueur as well as Taboo Absinthe. all were excellent. I can imagine the black currant liqueur with your favorite sparkling water or dry sparkling wine as an awesome summer cocktail. I was convinced by their staff to buy a bottle of the BC Hopped Whisky and I am very glad I did. Nice malty start with a hop finish. Yummy and very unique. I may head back for a 2nd bottle as this one won't last long....PS Get on their mailing list for the lottery for the single malt Lord of Fintry. I missed out on this last year so try again. Only 600 bottles were produced in 2013.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaleL943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic tasting experience and wonderful award winning product”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We sampled some brandy and liquor yesterday with my parents and really enjoyed ourselves. This is a quick little stop and prepare to drop some $$ because after you taste the quality of the product you will be coming home with a variety of bottles. I love the Gin and the pear brandy was well received. The staff was friendly, entertaining and knows their stuff. Highly recommend this place and products for tourists and locals! Buy three bottles and they ship for free! They will also wrap your purchases in bubble wrap for your plane ride home.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chicorayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste of the Okanagan”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Unique, liquers and beverages sourced from fruits from local farms. Great tours of the distillery-shop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desiree Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is where distilling in BC all started”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Had a great visit with my wife to these guys Beautiful Kelowna Distillery but then found out that the original distillery (BC's first craft distillery apparently) was in downtown Vernon, so we just had to visit on our way through to Banff. This location is less posh than the Kelowna distillery but we were able to have a great visit with their Master Distiller (I think his name was Peter.?), and we were blown away to find out how internationally acclaimed these guys really are. The distiller was quite lovely and modest but when we looked around and saw all of the awards from this years World Alcohol awards we couldn't help[ to think that we were in the realm of greatness! Way to go Okanagan Spirits for putting this part of the world on the world stage of alcohol production right along side the wonderful wineries that we have had such a lovely time visiting on our visit to the Okanagan Valley.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canuckroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldstream, BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spirits”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had heard that our local Vernon distillery was producing some really interesting products but were surprised and delighted with the quality of both the wine based "liquers" and the distilled spirits, in particular, the gin. We were welcomed by Tony, given a tour of the premises and an explanation of the processes they use. Very knowledgeable people, friendly, helpful, warm and engaging. It is really a hidden gem in Vernon, well worth visiting, learning about, tasting and purchasing some samples. Really enjoyed our time there. We'll definitely be back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery also viewed

 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing