We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zero customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schell Motel Express

Schell Motel Express
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schell Motel Express
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Zero customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Tried to cancel the booking on the 2nd for a reservation for the 9th. It was free cancellation 7 days out. I guess it is my mistake that 2 plus 7 isn't 9???
Booking.com said only the hotel could waive the $112 charge. Joe Patel (hotel owner) 5 days later won't waive it and won't return my calls to discuss this mater.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kfed63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
8
10
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent four days at this property in Vernon. The motel is well located in the heart of the city and easy to find. It is within easy walking distance to downtown and different restaurants. Our room was freshly painted and, other than the carpet, quite clean. We had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioner, ironing board and iron, free wifi and a hair blower. There was a nice computer desk, a couple of nice, newer chairs and a newer tv. Carpets in motel/hotel rooms.... This will be my new hobby horse! why? Why? Why? (Other than initial cost perhaps). There is flooring out there that is inexpensive, looks good and is easy to clean. Pretty much every place that we have stayed in has carpet that looks like it needs a cleaning (and we have stayed in some fancier, newer and much more expensive places too!). The motel is on a very busy main street, but our unit was in the middle of the complex and we did not notice much noise from the street. The staff are friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the middle of the complex for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skookumchuck
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I spent one night in Vernon. Perfect stopover. On the main highway, clean comfortable older style motel, good price and no complaints about anything. I found the staff very helpful, and was able to check in at 2.00P.M. with no problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Ok....I was tired after a long drive and thought I would take a chance on an older motel based on the number of guests that were filling the courtyard.....Bad decision. I was even asked if I wanted to see the room first so it's all on me not the manager. The room was reeking of a half a century of smokers. The carpet .....well let's say it needs replacing. The manager was very welcoming and I was going to be on my way early so you get what you pay for; Right? Well I paid too much for the learning experience and won't be staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hockeye44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vernon hotels

Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

After a week in Las Vegas paying for EVERY amenity except the beds, the Schell Express was a clean comfortable oasis! Two queen beds, one of them in a separate bedroom, cable TV, FREE internet, a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, and iron & ironing board. The room was freshly painted, no musty old motel smell, the staff was friendly, the exterior was clean and had beautiful hanging flower baskets.

The price was less than $100 a night! This is peak season in the beautiful Okanagan!

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This motel is a money grabber!!! I had one smoke outside my room!! Next day cleaning lady apparently said my room wreaked of cigarette smoke and $200.00 was charged to my credit card. Worst part is you can't even dispute it,because there is no way to prove you didn't. It's their word against yours. So if you smoke don't do it on the property and if the room smells even a little like smoke when you check in report it to them right away or you'll get nailed for it when you leave. Other than being robbed by staff the room itself was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trishylaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I had to travel through Vernon in late August and decided to stay at the Schell Motel Express because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. What a pleasant surprise - the room is not huge but it was exceptionally clean and offered all the amenities that you need - fridge - AC - TV - WiFi etc. I arrived early and they were still cleaning my room but made an extra effort to ensure that it was ready quickly. I had a minor problem getting my tablet on the WiFi so the evening office attendant came to the room himself and set it up - talk about service. I also needed a late departure and was told I could stay as long as I wanted - This motel is all about service!! It may not be a 5 star hotel but their quality of service is better than most 5 star hotels. A great price with clean rooms and great service - it is a perfect overnight stay!! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - away from the main road.They will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePearl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernon hotels
0.3 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pacific Inn
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Village Green Hotel
Village Green Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Vernon
Days Inn Vernon
#9 of 20 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Vernon BC
Super 8 Vernon BC
#4 of 20 in Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schell Motel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schell Motel Express

Property: Schell Motel Express
Address: 3500 32 St, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 5N3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Schell Motel Express 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Schell Motel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing