We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply breathtaking view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle on the Mountain
Ranked #3 of 17 Vernon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Though only spent a night at this magnificient B&B but it was like castle in heaven as compared to the many heritage B&B we stayed the past week travelling through the Canadian Rockies. Our party of 5 were much impressed by the cleanliness and excellent beddings (if am not mistaken - Egyptian Cotton??) and very English breakfast (what else to expect from the excellent English host and hostess Ryan & Liz.. We have stayed in countless B&Bs all over the world, the Castle on the Mountain is one of the best

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grandmaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2008

My husband, myself and our nine month old son stayed at COTM for three nights. It took us awhile to find a B&B that was not 'adult oriented' that we could stay in with our son. Not only did COTM accomodate us but Ray and Liz found a playpen for our son to sleep in. This saved us from buying one and having to set it up when we got there which was appreciated after a nine hour car/ferry trip to get to Vernon. We were able to check in in the evening with no problems.

The main area where we stayed had just been extensively renovated and updated and is beautiful. We were in the Valley Vista room which lived up to its name. Our room didn't have an ensuite but we had our own bathroom across the hall. The amazing view made up for the very short commute to the bathroom. Housecoats and a blow dryer are available.

We took advantage of the hot tub that overlooks the valley. There is also a fridge to store snacks or drinks. The breakfast was amazing - so much good food! After the third day though we were ready for a change of menu so it was good that that was our last meal. The only criticism is that the coffee was weak and tasteless and let the meal down a bit.

We found the room rate around the same as most of the hotels/motels we would have stayed at in town and the breakfast was included so it was good value overall. It was nice to be able to put our son to bed and then go into the hot tub or watch some tv and have a drink in the common area in the evening. We would definately stay at COTM again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Our first (charming) surprise was to be greeted with English accents. Ray and Liz have recently taken over COTM, and they were very keen to receive feedback on all aspects of our stay. The location is great, with fine views across the valley, although our room was a little dated (1980's style), and not as warm as it's bathroom, though Ray told us he would now sort that out. B & B guests have the run of the downstairs, with a kitchen area to brew up in, so there's that nice blend of being left alone, but the owners are just upstairs. Breakfast was very enjoyable, and again Ray and Liz asked for truthful answers of what we thought. They are also picking up quickly on places to recommend locally, so ask them if you're unsure of wherte to visit. Overall it was a nice stay, more personable than a hotel, but not too intrusive. Of the places I've stayed in Vernon this is the best.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Deiffenbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainmanCanada, Owner at Castle on the Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2009

Hi Guys, I hope you are both well. As promised Liz & I have renovated all the B&B rooms and they are now well and truely out of the 80's. If you get chance you can visit our website and see the new guestrooms, better still come and join us again one day. I hope you like the new look. Best regards Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2006

We were in need of a one night stopover during a drive from Vancouver to Banff. A "traveling angel" must have been sitting on my shoulder when I made a reservation at Castle on the Mountain. It is a lovely Swiss-like chalet, high on a hill, away from the busy-ness and hustle and bustle of Vernon. We were greeted like old friends from the warm and gracious Sharon and her charming husband, Eskil. Our room was perfect, the bathroom, huge and inviting - you feel as though you have run of the entire home and there is a wonderful art gallery in the loft area, to boot! In the evening, we went into their hot tub and watched as the sun went down and the town of Vernon - off in the distant valley, shimmered like a brooch, encrusted with rubies, emeralds and diamonds. What an unforgettable sight!
In the morning, we had a lively discussion at breakfast with their other guests from Scotland and Calgary and the best breakfast of our two week stay - anywhere! Scrumptious and served with
such outstanding hospitality. That one night stand was one of the highlights of our entire trip and we will look for a way of getting back there - just to see them both, again. Highly recommended!

1  Thank bp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2006

In June we stayed for a few days at this B&B in Vernon. We had a perfect stay; wonderful weather, clean room, very warm welcome by the owners and some good tips for our next stop. We especially loved the hot tub with the awesome view and the breakfasts!! Reallu try the hot oatmeal!

Thank leinschotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2004

October 2004 - On our trip driving across B.C. from Vancouver to Calgary we picked Vernon as an overnight stop-off. From the B.C. Tourism Guide we selected the Castle on the Mountain B&B from a short written description....wow! Superb hospitality from Sharon and Eskil, a fabulous hot-tub and the most amazing Breakfast that we have had! They are located about a 10 minute drive up the Mountain from Vernon itself and have a lovely view down across the valley. We're so glad that we didn't just opt for one of the Motels on the main street through Vernon (not that there is anything necessarily wrong with them), but staying at this place was a real find after a long day driving. Check out some of the rooms and suites that are available and also Eskils' picture gallery, plus, Sharon and Eskil actually built the place themselves! Sharon and Eskil have great local knowledge and set us on an alternative route to Revelstoke that took in stunning scenery, two free ferry rides and a stop off at Halcyon Hot Springs. Would love to return one day :-)

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ZoeHolidayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norbert1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernon hotels
6.0 mi away
Vernon Lodge and Conference Centre
13.2 mi away
Sparkling Hill Resort
1.1 mi away
Silver Star Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Turtle Mountain Inn
Turtle Mountain Inn
#1 of 17 in Vernon
26 reviews
5.3 mi away
Richmond House B&B
Richmond House B&B
#2 of 17 in Vernon
54 reviews
10.9 mi away
OKeefe's Landing B&B
OKeefe's Landing B&B
#4 of 17 in Vernon
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on the Mountain

Address: 8227 Silver Star Rd, Vernon, British Columbia V1B 3M8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range: £83 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodations just minutes Silver Star resort, Sovereign Lake and downtown Vernon BC. Guests can choose from Private Cottage, Apartments, Honeymoon Suite and 4.5 Star B&B Guestrooms.Easy access to nearby Lakes and Golf courses. Long term rentals welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing