We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coziest place I have ever stayed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle on the Mountain
Ranked #1 of 17 Vernon B&B and Inns
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“coziest place I have ever stayed”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I absolutely LOVED castle on the mountain. This was my first bed and breakfast experience and I loved everything about it - it was ideal with our 3 year old son as they have a large common area where we could sit up with pizza for dinner at the table and he could watch a video and play. The room was spacious and comfy with a gorgeous view and the bathroom across the hall was huge ( it was our own bathroom but our particular room involved a separate washroom - this was no big deal). We enjoyed the hot tub and its spectacular view both nights we were there and the breakfast was huge and delecious!! fluffiest little pancakes I have ever had. We ended up visiting with the hosts and two other guests for over an hour and felt right at home - my son even rode bikes for an hour with the son of the hosts!! I would stay here absolutely again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
47
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Didsbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Best place I have ever stayed. Liz & Ray are excellent hosts. Marvellous breakfast. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lescrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2010

What an enjoyable stay. Settle in and feel just like you are at home. Five minutes with Ray and Liz and you feel like you have been friends for many years and would like to remain this way for many more to come. The view from the mountain adds to the enjoyment of the whole stay. When you rise, be prepared for a breakfast that will leave you very full and satisfied. Our plans will definitely include a stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billwmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We loved the hot tub position, it gave great veiws across Vernon to Kalamaka and Okanagan lakes. The twinkling of lights at night in Vernon were as spell binding as the stars above.
A great place to stay, a good hub for the activities nearby.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank setev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpruceGrove
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Thank you again Ray and Liz., what wonderful hosts you are. This was our second visit to The Castle and we just had to bring along our good friends to experience the view, food and lovely home with us. Glad the 'Spruce Grove' blend coffee is still going strong! We will definatley be back again. Until then, keep up the good work. Cheers!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daleadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We are not regular B&B travellers but this one was excellent. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The hosts are very friendly, accessible and helpful. The breakfasts are 5star and prepare you for the day - we did not need lunch. The location provides outstanding views of the valley and city below. We found the location to be very peaceful and we had no trouble sleeping. The common room provided a nice spot to relax at the end of the day. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2010

This was excellent place to stay. The rooms were nice and very clean. The view of the valley was gorgeous. The owners are great; very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was delicious, great start before a full day of boarding or skiing!
Great proximity to the hill.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller2Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernon hotels
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
13.2 mi away
Sparkling Hill Resort
3.4 mi away
The Castle at Swan Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Turtle Mountain Inn
Turtle Mountain Inn
#2 of 17 in Vernon
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Star Bed & Breakfast
10.9 mi away
OKeefe's Landing B&B
OKeefe's Landing B&B
#4 of 17 in Vernon
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on the Mountain

Property: Castle on the Mountain
Address: 8227 Silver Star Rd, Vernon, British Columbia V1B 3M8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodations just minutes Silver Star resort, Sovereign Lake and downtown Vernon BC. Guests can choose from Private Cottage, Apartments, Honeymoon Suite and 4.5 Star B&B Guestrooms.Easy access to nearby Lakes and Golf courses. Long term rentals welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing