We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and unique holiday experience”

Klinker Opal Property
Ranked #42 of 48 things to do in Vernon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Canada's first precious opal mine is operated by Opal Resources Canada Inc. Arrange a day trip to go opal digging to unearth your own treasure. Advanced booking required for digging trips.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and unique holiday experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We went to the opal mine in August 2012 for my daughter's birthday experience as she loves rocks and gems and jewelry. We'd been to the shop on a previous holiday two years earlier and learned about the "You Dig" opportunity. Bob and his wife (I'm sorry I didn't catch her name) are the nicest people and were very helpful and knowledgable guides. For the dig itself, we rented an SUV as the road up to the site is rather rocky. Take sunscreen and some kind of beach umbrella/sunshade if you go in summer. The site is out in the open but the scenery is quite beautiful and peaceful up on the mountainside. Bob gave a great tutorial on finding common and precious opals. Obviously no one could ever guarantee that you will find something. We were fortunate to find one good precious opal each but also found agate and lots of the white common opal. Their son Chris is a talented jeweller and will be cutting our stones for us into some beautiful pieces. Just looking at the pieces we collected, he knew exactly what could be done with them and it fit our tastes perfectly. Since getting home, I've told many friends about our wonderful and unique holiday and some plan on going themselves. Can't wait to see the cut opals!! Thank you to Opal Resources for making my daughter's 20th birthday a fun and memorable experience!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Donnaw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    3
    3
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Rather deceiving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We went looking for opals and no one in our group found anything worth having. We worked the slag heap and not the mine. The only person who "found" a nice piece was one of the owners who just happened to look down and see it. The rest of us hammered away for several hours for little reward. We did learn a bit about opal mining, but this trip was definitely not worth the price.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your opinion.

First and foremost it is necessary to clarify, as I'm sure we did when you visited, that mine regulations preclude allowing fee diggers from entering our mine workings. Furthermore, our insurance would not cover us for such activities.

Secondly, the piles of material set aside for diggers is not "slag" or waste rock as that term suggests. The material set aside for diggers is a mix of material resulting from our mine development and operations.

The digging piles do contain precious opal which is yours when you find it -- there is also common opal and agate which everyone finds and it is worth keeping as it can be worked to make jewellery. I would suggest that if the owners trained eye could find opal and you could not it is more a matter of experience; as perhaps is the opinion that what you did find was not worth having.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The opals were lovely but unless you "look" like you can afford them the staff doesnt pay much attention to you. But if you have some extra time its worth stopping in just to see the opals we have in BC

Helpful?
4 Thank pinkysimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your review. Our staff tries to treat all our customers politely and courteously and we do not pick and choose based on apparent affluence -- we learned long ago that appearance can be deceiving. We do not have a large staff and although we try to greet everyone as they enter we cannot drop a customer we are working with in deference to a new arrival. Come in, look around and above all ask for help.

As for expensive – this is a relative term, some of our high-end Canadian Precious Opal stones set in one-of-a-kind 14K gold mountings can be pricey, and deservedly so; however, we have Canadian opal jewellery items and cut opal stones to meet all budgets and tastes. We will work with you to create something just for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I had the opportunity to be at the Opal Mine in the months of June, July and August of 2011. It was great fun, in a beautiful part of British Columbia that a lot of people, tourists especially would not normally see. I learned that you don't find opals everywhere and after some helpful input and coaching from Bob (the owner of the mine) learned where to look for the opals or more accurately learned to recognize the material where you are most likely to find opal. They have made it a lot easier for the uneducated to find the stones by extracting opal bearing material and placing it in an area of the mine which allows more light to reach the ground. This is extremely important for the finding of the opals as they reflect light and are nearly invisible without it. And as an added bonus, I met a lot of good people having a great time on the mountain top mine.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A unique adventure for all to enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Be prepared to get down and get dirty in your search for those opals and you won't be disappointed with your trip to the mines. There can be no guarantee that you will find what you're looking for but the anticipation that opals are there hidden amongst the rocks and open ground prepared for you should be enough to make this an unique experience not to be missed. With the ever helpful Bob on hand giving you advice and encouragment throughout the day, I for one will not forget my visit to the mines. I'm already looking to next season.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the experience enough to make a return visit. Practice makes perfect. Hope to see you again in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Klinker Opal Property also viewed

 
Chilliwack, British Columbia
 

Been to Klinker Opal Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing