We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little oasis in hotel hell”

BX Creek Bar & Grill
Ranked #61 of 222 Restaurants in Vernon
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: BX Creek Bar and Grill overlooks our fabulous three-story tropical courtyard and boasts a natural stream running through, it's the perfect setting for a romantic dinner or a casual family meal. Enjoy our diversified menu with something for everyone including succulent steaks, BBQ Ribs, flavourful pastas, house made burgers and daily fresh creations from our culinary team. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will can help you choose the perfect wine from our VQA Okanagan Valley Wine list. Finish your meal with a local favourite Davison Orchards Apple Pie. Your Table is Waiting.
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The service, and food was just excellent...it's too bad it's located in a dump of a hotel. The creek running past this indoor restaurant smelt terrible and looked even worse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at BX Creek Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about your food and service in our restaurant. We use locally sourced products as much as possible and those flavors show in the quality of our food. We are proud to support the small farmers and wineries in our region.

The creek is a natural creek that runs through our unique 3 story atrium that is in the center of our hotel and the location of our restaurant. Early in the spring and summer the creek runs quite high and fast due to the run off of the melting snow and the spring rains. Late summer, fall and winter the creek reduces to not much more than a crystal clear meandering stream.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Waking famished and tired we decided to not go out for breakfast and decided to eat at the restaurant in the hotel.
Breakfast was good, bacon little to greasy and the potatoes way to over seasons, but service was good, and we did enjoy our meal. My over easy eggs were over salted and cooked, and my families eggs benedict were OK, the English muffin was chewy, the eggs and sauce were excellent but the ham was way over powering.
Out major complaint was just the cost of breakfast for 3 people we paid over $50, at which point I was wishing we went across the street to the Timmies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jubajaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at BX Creek Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast even though there were a couple minor issues. I'll be sure to discuss these with our chef. I am surprised that that the cost of your breakfast was so high as our 2 egg breakfast with hash browns, toast, and choice of bacon ham or sausage is currently only $7.00 and our most expensive item is Steak and Eggs with toast and hash browns at only $15.00. I wonder if there was a large number of side dishes, juices etc. ordered as these add on items can add up quickly . Please feel free to contact me at your convenience so I may review your billing to ensure that you were charged correctly.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stay at the Vernon Lodge and Conference Center three or four times a year and when there always ensure we get at least one meal at the BX Grill. The restaurant and bar are located in the internal pool and garden complex which is full of plants and has nice water feature flowing through it that provides both ambience and filters out background noise.
We have never been disappointed. The menu is surprisingly diverse with fusion-type entrees that mix a variety of tastes and cuisines. Last night for example, the Caprese salad was made with yellow tomatoes. There are a lot of Asian tastes on the menu while traditional seafood and meat dishes are there as well.

The staff have always been pleasant and know the menu well. Portions are comfortable but not overly large and the wine list is decent.

For a hotel restaurant you would have to go a long way to do better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at BX Creek Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for your great comments. Very much appreciated.

Sincerely,

Mike Brooks
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of our favourite restaurants in Vernon. Great indoor garden setting and yummy food every time. Nice, quiet place for a visit with friends for lunch or dinner. We will definitely be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lula45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at BX Creek Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We try very hard to provide an excellent dining experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Mike Brooks
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Every day a reasonably priced special is offered. As part of the Vernon Best Western Lodge parking is always convenient and is a great meeting place for a group at lunch. Nice quiet atmosphere with good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at BX Creek Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. Our unique 3 story tropical atrium has an atmosphere that is relaxing and comfortable. We try very hard to offer the best service and food to compliment this wonderful room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BX Creek Bar & Grill also viewed

Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to BX Creek Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing