We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast”

Friesen's Countrytyme Gardens
Ranked #28 of 219 Restaurants in Vernon
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Deep fried perogies and farmers sausage (the real stuff). Need I say more? Ofay, I guess I have to. I'm sure the rest of the brunch food was good....but...deep fries perogies????? Yes!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Isn't what it was...”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We travel to the OK every year. Every year we have brunch at Friesen's. Every year the it changes for the worse. Kids brunch is like $12 if you are 11 yr old hulking boy or a 4 yr old petite girl. They previously charged children $1 per year of age. Quite reasonable. They previously had eggs Benedict on the brunch buffet. Now it is a separate charge. The farmer's sausage was out of this world. Now it is forgettable. The baked goods are still wonderful. We may be back for those only.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were taking a day trip around the top of Lake Okanagan from Kelowna and had planned on having lunch in or around Vernon, so I looked through various reviews in TA. Friesens sounded interesting and not far off teh direct route from Vernon to Kelowna, so we decided to give it a try. We were very happy with food, service and prices.
We each had the corn chowder with sausage pieces, served with a cheese scone. Very delicious and filling. With it we had a glass of raspberry iced tea. Refreshing. For dessert we decided to try their delicious looking pies. Waitress told us the peach pie was just freshly made that day, so that convinced us - was a right choice.
There were three of us and together it came to $38.-

Outdoors there is a terrace with a number of tables and beside it a large garden with two pagodas with tables and chairs.

We discovered there is a weekend all you can eat brunch buffet, that we are going to try to get to next Saturday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manfredz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, BC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home Cooking:)”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a fabulous restaurant for old fashioned cooking by mom! The food is excellent. We really enjoy the patio, so inviting.

The only negative things I can say is that the bathrooms need updating and the outdoor cooking area with the bar-b-que needs a good clean/scrub down very badly. Grease and cobwebs, not so inviting. I hope the owners read this and look into the situation because as a guest it is the only thing that turns me off is dirty cooking area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Okanagangang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Old time breakfast! Homemade bread, jam, etc. not greasy healthy feeling breakfast. Will make an effort to come back here next time we are near.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friesen's Countrytyme Gardens also viewed

Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Friesen's Countrytyme Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing