We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with family in Whistler”
Review of Evolution

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Evolution
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay with family in Whistler”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from 8 days at Evolution. The property is located in Creekside, about 200 steps from the Creekside gondola, at the end of the day a trail takes you within 50 steps of the front door. The Creekside gondola is part of Whistler, so once you go up it you have access to the full mountain and easy access to Blackcomb as well. More skiing than you can do in the 8 days we spent there! Creekside is more quiet and residential than Whistler Village, which is filled with retail and shops. If you are visiting Whistler for the first time and are primarily interested in skiing, boarding, or outdoor activities this is a great spot. Creekside has a good size market, a few restaurants within walking distance (everything from Pizza to the awesome Rim Rock for an adults-only meal). If you want the club, night life and shopping find someplace in the Village. But if you want a comfortable, well-supplied condo, great pool, fantastic hot tubs (2 - one for families, one for adults), Evolution is a great stop. This is more of a condo - so restaurants do require a short (2 minute to 5 minute) walk - not a trip to the lobby. There is a front-desk at the adjacent property which manages this one - so you can check-in there, get bus passes for the trip to the village if you want to shop or have a late night. I've been visiting Whistler for 10+ years. Before kids, I loved the village - and it's still great to visit. But now that I have kids of my own, I've found a new favorite place at Evolution.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool can hear the noise right after skiing (4 pm to 8 pm) - we were part of the probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christophergsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    74
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
164
78
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a well built building - little noise from above or from halls - unusual for Whistler where cheap construction is the norm. The location is great - quieter than Whistler but grocery store and restaurants a block or 2 away. You can ski out to very near the front drive. To access the lifts it is maybe a 5 minute walk. Steam room, pool, adult and family hot tubs, exercise room - we used them all - fantastic and not crowded.
Only problem is the skiing from Creekside. I find skiing Whistler to be second cousin to Blackcomb. The runs are not well planned, not well marked, choppy and often require walking or straight schussing to get to the next section of a run. Its OK for skiers but I saw many boarders walking.
The terrain parks on Emerald chair looked good for boarders and skiers alike.

Room Tip: back rooms face into the hill. Front rooms onto the highway but not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omoishiroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovations, Director of Sales at Evolution, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for your great feedback and for staying at Evolution. With regards to the skiing, please remember the Peak 2 Creek Gondola is accessible from the top of Whistler and can bring you over to Blackcomb in just 11 minutes. This way, you can easily stay in Creekside and still take advantage of skiing on both mountains.

We look forward to welcoming you agian soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We visited Whistler with our three children, and stayed at Evolution. We requested that we stay on the same floor as our friends (who were also traveling with three children) and were were accommodated without an issue .
The condos are roomy, clean, and are stocked with supply of dishes (up to eight) pots, pans, dish soap, dishwasher detergent, even laundry detergent in addition to the typical soap, shampoo, conditioner. kitchens and bathrooms are modern. Beds are super comfortable.
You get one pouch of coffee, so bring some ground coffee with you and extra sugar if you need it (only 3 packets were there when we arrived.)
The manager John Nicholas (spelling) went above and beyond over, and over again. We traveled all the way from Boston, but will probably go back this season because the trip was so incredible.
Only request I would have is for the condos to stock cookie sheets or cake pans that you can sign out if needed. My daughter had her first birthday cake cooked in the oven in a frying pan!
People from the U.S. keep in mind that the front desk will not exchange your currency at this time. Go to the bank across the street ;)

Room Tip: Pool is only open until 10 pm, but if you have small children and don't want the noise, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmitherscsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our visit to Whistler this February!...and we just had to stay at Evolution once again!

You can't find better accommodations in a 4* resort for the value!!
Close to everything! After a day on the slopes...nothing better than the steam room and the spa!!

No skiing the next day, but worked out in the gym!...and then BBQ'd steaks & seafood on the grill! More skiing and then lunch at the Longhorn in Whistler! Back to Creekside...on the greens!..yeah!...I suck at skiing!...but a savant at apres ski!!

The suites at Evolution are amazing! It would cost 3X the cost to stay in Whistler Village...yet it is noisy and very busy day and night! Stay in Creekside!...perfect for a couple or a family!

We're going back!...Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Very nice room. We had 3 guys and we stayed in the one bedroom. The bed was comfortable and the guy who stayed on the sofa bed found it to be comfortable as well. The kitchen was nicely stocked. We made very good use of the washer and dryer with all of our ski clothes. This is one of the main reasons we chose the property and it certainly helped us to greatly reduce the amount of clothes we brought on the trip, and to aid in drying out our wet gloves, jackets and other accessories. It was very nice that both laundry and dishwasher detergent were provided by the hotel.

All of the staff we dealt with were both very nice and helpful. Although it was slightly annoying that the front desk was next door at Legends, the staff was so responsive that I can't say it was really much of a bother. Our first morning we went down and the ski locker area was closed at 5:45am as we were trying to catch a 6am bus to line up for the Fresh Tracks breakfast. I ran over to the front desk at Legends and they had someone there in less than 5 minutes and we made the bus with no problem. They gave us a day pass for our final day of skiing so that we could check out but still use the parking garage and pool area when we were done. One last spin in the hot tub and some fresh showers was just what the doctor ordered after a long day of hard skiing. We called and asked for some towels and they quickly delivered them to us at the hot tub.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovations, Director of Sales at Evolution, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Evolution. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we'll have an opportunity of welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,893 reviews
2.1 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Legends
Legends
#12 of 49 in Whistler
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,654 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,732 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Whistler Village Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evolution

Property: Evolution
Address: 2020 London Lane, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Whistler
#14 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evolution 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, chic lodge is located in Whistler Creekside, just a short walk to the slopes and offers one and two bedroom suites as well as one three bedroom suite. All suites feature a trendy and sophisticated design, full kitchen with high end appliances, dining area, living area with a cozy fireplace, private balconies and an in suite washer and dryer. The amenities are endless with an outdoor heated pool, two hot tubs, a sauna, eucalyptus steam room, fitness centre, a games room and a media room, which provides two daily movie viewings. Come experience all Evolution and Whistler Creekside have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Evolution reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evolution Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing