We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whistler wonderland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evolution

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evolution
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whistler wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Evolution was a great home base while staying for great skiing at Whistler. We were with our 2 adult children and felt very comfortable. Groceries were just a cross the street. The lifts a short walk away. And free parking. Overall a great trip well above our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    66
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
152
73
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recently found our new calling to Whistler, after 12 yrs of numerous hotel experiences in Whistler, we were referred to try the Evolution. Top notch facility, staff, location and value for your $$. We will be back in the summer for more!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, British Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

our stay was wonderful, friendly staff, very homey rooms, very comfortable beds nice linens!!! Very pet friendly nice touch when a gentleman arrived at our room with a bed for our dog & doggie treats!! Convenient to everything you need. There was lots to do for someone like me who doesn't ski, lovely walking trails, shops, just a short bus ride into the village for all the shopping and restaurants you could imagine. I would highly recommend the Evolution to family & friends. Thank-you for your hospitality!!! The McGrath family

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Our stay had all the makings of funny stories and drama of a comedy vacation but the staff at Evolution made it really special! The rooms were clean and the staff were exceptionally helpful. Thanks for an excellent time!


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MoCha886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was the first time in all my visits since 1997 that I didn't get dumped on with pow. I was pretty depressed at first as I only get to go once a year. It was very cold too with -28 C on the alpine which is also unusual. I was extremely surprised though how much man made snow they created and how incredible the groomers were which I usually try to avoid like the plague. I prefer back country boarding most if all,but I have to say the groomers were great. No ice and you could fly down them. The best snow making and well manicured groomers I have ever ridden. Of course it starting dumping snow the day I left. Oh well... Better luck next year! Whistler is always an amazing trip!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank Nate113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great room with fabulous views and location. Living area has large windows and indoor outdoor fireplace to the balcony. Hot tub is a nice way to end a day of skiing. Some ski storage lockers are difficult to access.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dwayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed as a couple for 3 nights in a 1 bedroom suite in December 2013.

In a nut shell: The hotel allows dogs to stay in all of the rooms, and they can't/don't properly clean the room in a manner that removes the associated allergen-causing entities.

We liked everything about the suite and property, and thought the trip was going great until my partner got sick. He was sneezing *constantly* and felt congested.

I said that it seemed like allergies, but he hadn't had any symptoms like this ever before, so he concluded it was a virus of some wort.

By our 2nd day on the slopes, we figured out that he must be allergic to something because he was sneezing constantly, even while skiing. Something on his clothing and ski jacket seemed to make it worse. The hotel's laundry detergent maybe?

We then realized that Evolution is a "pet-friendly" property. He remembered that in the past he has had some very *mild* allergy symptoms from playing with *some* dogs; (i.e. itchy skin when in *direct contact* with *some* dogs like petting them or if they licked his hand.) These symptoms were always fairly insignificant; he had even lived with a roommate's dog before with no issues.

He had draped his jacket over the arm chair, which contained the decorative throw that we removed from the bed. Now the jacket was making him sneeze.

Further investigation around the room that evening confirmed allergies to things in the room. All of the upholstered furniture and linens that don't get washed by the hotel, as well as anything that had touched the carpet made him sneeze continuously. Basically, any clothing that touched the floor or couch or chair was contaminated.

When we got home we had to wash all clothing that had been in the hotel room, and then the inside of the suitcase was still making him sneeze.

I thought about calling the front desk once I realized what was happening, but we didn't pinpoint the problem until our 3rd night.

I told them what had happened when I checked out, and they said 'oh that's too bad' but made no attempt to reconcile the problem.

I think they made 3 mistakes:
1) Not properly cleaning their rooms to eliminate pet related allergens.
2) If cleaning the rooms is not possible then they should have let know that all hotel rooms hosted pets when I made the reservation.
3) Doing nothing to make up for our disappointing stay.

For the amount that we paid to stay at this hotel, and the fact that we chose it over all other options in Whistler makes us feel really disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legends
Legends
#10 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evolution

Property: Evolution
Address: 2020 LONDON LANE, Whistler, British Columbia VON 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Whistler
#14 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evolution 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, chic lodge is located in Whistler Creekside, just a short walk to the slopes and offers one and two bedroom suites as well as one three bedroom suite. All suites feature a trendy and sophisticated design, full kitchen with high end appliances, dining area, living area with a cozy fireplace, private balconies and an in suite washer and dryer. The amenities are endless with an outdoor heated pool, two hot tubs, a sauna, eucalyptus steam room, fitness centre, a games room and a media room, which provides two daily movie viewings. Come experience all Evolution and Whistler Creekside have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Evolution reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evolution Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing