We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely…the best!”
Review of Evolution

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Evolution
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely…the best!”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We have stayed in Whistler many times. Generally, at the Pan Pacific Mountainside and the Summit Lodge. Evolution was by far the most upscale and the best value on the mountain! The condos have excellent fit and finish and boast only the best in appliances and fixtures…Miele appliances, Kohler fixtures and LG flat screens! Since it is only 2 years old, all the amenities are first rate and are very modern…large tiled shower, big soaker tub, furniture styled vanity, heated floors in the huge bathroom..(and yes it is easy to set the temp with the thermostat on the wall)…air conditioning when you need it…they are adding A/C units in all suites. King size bed and a spacious deck add to the comfort. We used the well equipped gym and the heated pool, hot tubs (one for adults only), the steam room and the sauna!....excellent! They have films in the media room each night…the early showing for the kids and the late show for adults. The games room was fun with a pool table, hockey and foosball! But most of all we enjoyed the peace!..only 5 minutes from Whistler Village…and a 3 minute walk to the Creekside Gondola…no wait time!! Close to Dusty’s, Starbucks, Creekside Market, BC Liquor Store, the Player’s Chophouse and the Rim Rock…a 4* restaurant! There is an onsite concierge…and he was extremely helpful!...free newspapers in the lobby…doesn’t get any better!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    74
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
164
78
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burnaby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We have stayed at Evolution several times. The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet and modern. The beds are so comfortable that you don't want to get up in the morning. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. There is a grocery store, Starbucks, playground and several restaurants all within walking distance. There are beautiful walking, hiking and biking trails just accross the street. Creekside is a quiet , relaxing village. However it is only a few minute drive away from the main village of Whistler. We found it nice to enjoy the energy of the main village and then escape back to Evolution for some peace.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelvetern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed for the week following Christmas. Our room was essentially a two bedroom condo, with a full kitchen, washer dryer, etc. Clean, comfortable and spacious, a few minor annoyances added up over time. It is definitely not a ski in, ski out experience. The five minute walk wearing boots and carrying skis seems to last forever at the end of the day. There is no lodge at the base of Creekside or anywhere else to store equipment nearby the base, so hump it you must. I would defintely ask for a condo facing away from the square. Snowplows, trash trucks and partyers seem to erupt in noise every half hour all night long. The unit itself tries hard to be modern, but sliding doors with see-through gaps from the living room to the bedrooms don't afford either sound-proofing or privacy. And yes, the glass on both sides gas fireplace does allow you see sit on the couch and see directly into the bedroom. Warm underground parking and a great outdoor pool and hot tub balance some of the negatives.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slightlycranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Arrived on Jan 1 for two nights. We know Whistler well and wanted to give the new spot a try. First, the room wasn't ready at check-in - had to weight 45 minutes with only a "sorry its really busy today" in response. Reception is in another building entirely. finally given key - arriving at our room with garbage still outside the door. The room itself was very small, but nicely appointed and fairly well equipped. the heat is in the floors and we couldn't find a way to turn it down - it was stifling - worse when we turned on the the trendy gas flame fireplace looking thing. Other HUGE downside - we had a room facing the highway and parking lots. Tons of late night noise - snow removal, drunks, traffic. Brutal. When we arrived home from skiing the next day housekeeping showed up saying they wanted to clean our room - given that this is a ski resort they should assume guests are out all day, returning around 4pm. We waved off the making of the bed.

Should also mention that the fan over the bed, the air conditioner in the livingroom, and the stand up fan in the closet all suggest these little units cook in the summer.

There is just too much choice in Whistler to put up with this kind of scenario. If you do stay, make sure you get a mountain side room away from traffic.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trvlr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We stayed 2 nights and would only recommend this as a couple as 4 people would not work. That being said it was fantastic with washer and drier in suite and all the mod cons. If you want lots of service this is not the place as the building is run remotely. We chose not to get our rooms made up as they provided plenty of towels and we didn't want for anything. Full kitchen, dishwasher, cutlery and crokery.

Gym and pools looked good and the bus was right at the door. The Rimrock cafe 3 minutes walk at $49 for a 3 course (2 entrees and a main , think small but quality) was top quality and we went twice.

I can't comment on what it would be like in winter but the bus was at the door and we loved the feel of the place. It cost I think $145 CAD per night plus $15 per night for parking.

This was the highest quality hotel we stayed at for this money on our 3 week trip

Staff at checkin had good tips. It could have a free internet and maybe a drink machine but that was all we missed

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyPhiljane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Evolution is definitely one of the most stylish resorts I have visited in Whistler. The apartments (they can’t really be called rooms) were very impressively furnished and well-equipped with large balconies. The bathrooms were to die for, with more square footage than some bedrooms I have stayed at in Whistler: a giant soaker tub and separate shower, all in the most up-to-date style. High end appliances, LCD TVs sunk in to walls in every room and a very modern fireplace are all testaments to it being a recent development that hasn’t had a chance to age or date yet.
In fact, the fireplace, which is right through the wall between the living room and bedroom, may be the only drawback if you are in a group that needs some privacy but were hoping to use the sofa bed in the living room. It looks great, but isn’t that practical for some.
The resort amenities were all excellent, and again brand new: well equipped gym, large pool, two hot tubs and a sun deck, games room and movie room. There doesn’t seem to be any staff in this location – check in and out is through the reception at Legends just next door, and there are no attached dining facilities, but this didn’t detract from our stay at all.
It’s true that Creekside isn’t for those who want to party non-stop, but it does have everything you need for a great short break in Whistler. There are dining options for all occasions as well as a good market if you want to dine-in, and the proximity to the quieter Creekside gondola in winter and valley trails in summer are hard to argue with.
I’ll be back to Evolution.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeItIs-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Great hotel. It was quiet (compared to the Village) but that was exactly what we wanted. It was a 3 minute walk to the gondola and 3-5 minutes to Starbucks and the grocery market.

My only con was that housekeeping wasn't perfect. It definitely wasn't bad, but it wasn't as full service as I expected. For instance, our bed was sloppily made.

  • Liked — Nice, cozy atmosphere. Great condo.
  • Disliked — housekeeping
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,888 reviews
2.1 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Legends
Legends
#12 of 49 in Whistler
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,653 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,732 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Whistler Village Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evolution

Property: Evolution
Address: 2020 London Lane, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Whistler
#14 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evolution 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, chic lodge is located in Whistler Creekside, just a short walk to the slopes and offers one and two bedroom suites as well as one three bedroom suite. All suites feature a trendy and sophisticated design, full kitchen with high end appliances, dining area, living area with a cozy fireplace, private balconies and an in suite washer and dryer. The amenities are endless with an outdoor heated pool, two hot tubs, a sauna, eucalyptus steam room, fitness centre, a games room and a media room, which provides two daily movie viewings. Come experience all Evolution and Whistler Creekside have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Evolution reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evolution Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing