We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and very comfortable”
Review of Evolution

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evolution
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I was in Whistler for a wedding, and wanted someplace quiet to relax at the end of each evening out. Evolution fit the bill perfectly. The one-bedroom suite was really well-equipped, not just with the normal kitchen items you'd expect but some things you don't always find in other places, like a blender. Appliances were newer, like everything else.

It was off season, so maybe even quieter than usual, but I think the Creekside location helps with that as well. The bus stop is located just out front of the building which was really convenient when I chose to leave my car behind and shuttle into the Village.

Really liked the hot tub as well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnGray001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom unit on the mountain side. It was fabulously equipped with everything we needed. Huge baths and good sized bedrooms with very comfortable beds. Decor was a bit dark but that appears to be Whistler-fashionable. The see through fireplace is a bit bizarre and the curtains are useless against the morning sun. The pool was clean if a little small although the hot tubs were terrific.
Our kids loved this setting and we even saw a bear from our window at the back. Will almost certainly book again for a summer break.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimskiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We had stayed in Whistler 6 years previously at the S. undial which we thought was wonderful and were disappointed that we couldn't afford it this time. We thought the Evolution looked good and good value for money. It was just fantastic. Our 2 bedroom apartment was the last word in quality and detail. Everything had been thought about. It was clean and all the equipment and utensils were as new. There were 5 of us and my 19 year old son slept on the sofa bed which was a proper double bed. Room service tidied it all away every morning. The showers were huge, the bath the same. We had a large balcony with outside fireplace, sun loungers and furniture. We had asked for a mountain view, which we got and it wasn't too noisy. The hot tubs were brilliant, again clean and in a lovely setting. It took about 3 minutes to walk to the Creekside lift. I'm nearly 60 and with skis over my shoulder, it wasn't at all arduous - and they were heavy powder skis because of the HUGE amount of snow we had while we were there. I preferred being in Creekside. It was quieter, but only a 10 minute bus ride to Whistler. The bus stop is right outside Evolution, the fare C$2 and the buses run every 10 mins until 2.30a.m.! The grocery store is nearby (although expensive, but I think that's the same everywhere in Whistler these days, especially with the £1 at only C$1.45.) The apres ski atmosphere at Dusty's is brilliant and we had a good and inexpensive meal there one night. The ribs were excellent. Overall, I really couldn't fault it, especially as we got 10 nights for the price of 7.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan56Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We have stayed in Whistler many times. Generally, at the Pan Pacific Mountainside and the Summit Lodge. Evolution was by far the most upscale and the best value on the mountain! The condos have excellent fit and finish and boast only the best in appliances and fixtures…Miele appliances, Kohler fixtures and LG flat screens! Since it is only 2 years old, all the amenities are first rate and are very modern…large tiled shower, big soaker tub, furniture styled vanity, heated floors in the huge bathroom..(and yes it is easy to set the temp with the thermostat on the wall)…air conditioning when you need it…they are adding A/C units in all suites. King size bed and a spacious deck add to the comfort. We used the well equipped gym and the heated pool, hot tubs (one for adults only), the steam room and the sauna!....excellent! They have films in the media room each night…the early showing for the kids and the late show for adults. The games room was fun with a pool table, hockey and foosball! But most of all we enjoyed the peace!..only 5 minutes from Whistler Village…and a 3 minute walk to the Creekside Gondola…no wait time!! Close to Dusty’s, Starbucks, Creekside Market, BC Liquor Store, the Player’s Chophouse and the Rim Rock…a 4* restaurant! There is an onsite concierge…and he was extremely helpful!...free newspapers in the lobby…doesn’t get any better!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngusGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We have stayed at Evolution several times. The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet and modern. The beds are so comfortable that you don't want to get up in the morning. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. There is a grocery store, Starbucks, playground and several restaurants all within walking distance. There are beautiful walking, hiking and biking trails just accross the street. Creekside is a quiet , relaxing village. However it is only a few minute drive away from the main village of Whistler. We found it nice to enjoy the energy of the main village and then escape back to Evolution for some peace.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelvetern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed for the week following Christmas. Our room was essentially a two bedroom condo, with a full kitchen, washer dryer, etc. Clean, comfortable and spacious, a few minor annoyances added up over time. It is definitely not a ski in, ski out experience. The five minute walk wearing boots and carrying skis seems to last forever at the end of the day. There is no lodge at the base of Creekside or anywhere else to store equipment nearby the base, so hump it you must. I would defintely ask for a condo facing away from the square. Snowplows, trash trucks and partyers seem to erupt in noise every half hour all night long. The unit itself tries hard to be modern, but sliding doors with see-through gaps from the living room to the bedrooms don't afford either sound-proofing or privacy. And yes, the glass on both sides gas fireplace does allow you see sit on the couch and see directly into the bedroom. Warm underground parking and a great outdoor pool and hot tub balance some of the negatives.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slightlycranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Arrived on Jan 1 for two nights. We know Whistler well and wanted to give the new spot a try. First, the room wasn't ready at check-in - had to weight 45 minutes with only a "sorry its really busy today" in response. Reception is in another building entirely. finally given key - arriving at our room with garbage still outside the door. The room itself was very small, but nicely appointed and fairly well equipped. the heat is in the floors and we couldn't find a way to turn it down - it was stifling - worse when we turned on the the trendy gas flame fireplace looking thing. Other HUGE downside - we had a room facing the highway and parking lots. Tons of late night noise - snow removal, drunks, traffic. Brutal. When we arrived home from skiing the next day housekeeping showed up saying they wanted to clean our room - given that this is a ski resort they should assume guests are out all day, returning around 4pm. We waved off the making of the bed.

Should also mention that the fan over the bed, the air conditioner in the livingroom, and the stand up fan in the closet all suggest these little units cook in the summer.

There is just too much choice in Whistler to put up with this kind of scenario. If you do stay, make sure you get a mountain side room away from traffic.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trvlr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,967 reviews
2.1 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Legends
Legends
#15 of 49 in Whistler
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,776 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#12 of 49 in Whistler
1,787 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evolution

Address: 2020 London Lane, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Whistler
#14 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £113 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evolution 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, chic lodge is located in Whistler Creekside, just a short walk to the slopes and offers one and two bedroom suites as well as one three bedroom suite. All suites feature a trendy and sophisticated design, full kitchen with high end appliances, dining area, living area with a cozy fireplace, private balconies and an in suite washer and dryer. The amenities are endless with an outdoor heated pool, two hot tubs, a sauna, eucalyptus steam room, fitness centre, a games room and a media room, which provides two daily movie viewings. Come experience all Evolution and Whistler Creekside have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Evolution reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evolution Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing