We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a comfy place.”

The Southside Diner
Ranked #47 of 189 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A popular spot for locals and visitors alike to enjoy a meal, catch up on the latest gossip and maybe even have a few beverages. We hope that you will also become one of our regulars!
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“What a comfy place.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the kind of place you go and expect to see the diner equivalent of Norm of Cheers sitting at the counter. It's a rustic, homely, comfortable place to eat and the food matches. Comfort food is an over used chant but we all know what it is. Breakfast here was great with a pair of huge pancakes and some of the best coffee I've had in a long time.

I remember this building from the 1970s. The building and restaurant is a welcome sanctuary from the over-planned, sterile, over-regulated atmosphere Whistler-Blackcomb presents. The galvanized sheeting under the counter, rough wood and cozy booths are a perfect hiding place.

But don't stay long if it's busy. Read the rules on the place mat. I love stuff like this as, although the rules are meant as humour, one can respect the honest sentiment that drove the place to state them in an effort to guard the staff against superficial, spoiled, phoney urban clowns of the low-fat-double-foam-extra-hot-with-ice-cubes-and-sprinkles-in-a-stemmed-cup-decaf-and-yogurt-for-the-kids crowd.

I'm going back the next time I pass through Whistler, hopefully at a slow time so I can hang around a bit. Good coffee...mmmmm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoqwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    102
    34
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A highlight of our Canada trip”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We loved the ambience and energy of the diner and the staff. But even more than that, we fell in love with the food here. Canadian blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup and bacon, as big as dinner plates, poutine with pulled pork and bbq sauce.....all bigger and better than we possibly imagined! We were sorely tempted to detour on our way home just to fit in another visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice, Low Key Place”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Off the beaten (to death) track of Whistler Village, Southside Diner is a gem in the Creekside Village area. Nothing fancy just great down home food at a reasonable price. The staff is super friendly and the ambiance is funky.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elliot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
227 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delicious food with attitude”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

When we entered this small restaurant, we saw a sign indicating that unattended children will be given a free kitten. The attitude continued as the waitress interacted with us. "It's my job to get you to spend money," she explained when she offered an upgrade to real maple syrup. Our food was delicious and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Real good diner breakfast - and I love diners”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Huge portions of good, down-home breakfast fare. The place is small, and includes a hostel above and laundramat below it, but dont be put off by the slightly wacky look/feel of this place. Its a solid 8/9 for the food and I really like a quirky atmosphere. Its right on 99, just outside the Creekside resort area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueSheeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Southside Diner also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to The Southside Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing