We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whistler Hidden Gems”

Whistler Tasting Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.31*
and up
Fine Dining Dinner Tour in Whistler
More Info
US$82.03*
and up
Whistler's Hidden Gems Dinner Tour
Ranked #1 of 7 Food & Drink in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Progressive Lunch or Dinner Tours where each delicious course of a full meal is provided at a different restaurant. These walking tours also feature wine cellars, champagne sabering demonstrations, blind wine tasting, flights of beer and chocolate shop treats. Truly a unique dining experience that is the perfect way to explore the fantastic dining scene in Whistler.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Whistler Hidden Gems”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a great time on this tour - and thought it was great value for the money. We toured with another couple that have been to Whistler a number of times and they were impressed with it as well. Sonja was an excellent hostess, tons of Whistler knowledge and we got to try restaurants we likely would not have found and can't wait to go back - Elements - you have an amazing menu! It was nice to meet the two other couples attending with us, and share everyone's views of the restaurants and wines. Congrats to the Company Owners for supporting local business - you are what makes Whistler such a special adventure every time. ps - My husband still feels bad he lost a couple Poker Cards :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara L, Manager at Whistler Tasting Tours, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
It was a absolute pleasure having you join us again while in Whistler and please do not worry about the cards, maybe you'll use them again on another tour with us! We greatly appreciate your feedback, as we are always delighted to hear back from our guests.

We will be sure to let Sonja know how you enjoyed your experience and how her knowledge added to your overall evening. Our goal is always to create a fabulous guest experience and that includes the opportunity to find new 'Hidden Gems' and meet others that share in the enjoyment of great food and great times. We're happy that you could join us for a lovely evening out.

We thank you for the recognition for our support of local businesses, as we ourselves are a small venture growing a great community. Look forward to seeing you again while Whistler and we hope you a wonderful stay. Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    60
    4
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWFUL - DON'T DO IT”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently went on the Whistler Tasting - 'Fine Things' Tour. It was the worst dining experience we have ever encountered. Except for the delightful Barefoot Bistro cellar experience, the food was sparse and to a standard no better than a cheap 'pub' experience. The two of us had to share a small entree and the main was just awful. Dessert was not given and three very small pieces of cheese on a platter for two was given - this was not an 'artisan cheese platter' as advertised. We queried this with FireRock and they said this was ordered by the tour and not to the standard of their restaurant if you ate at their venue. We complained about the meal standard and we received a 50% discount. Even at this discounted rate we felt so unhappy with the meal quality and quantity that we would advise anyone considering DONT GO THERE

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 707Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara L, Owner at Whistler Tasting Tours, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Diane,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide feedback as it gives us a valuable opportunity to improve the experience for future guests. However, I am disheartened to see this review and I don't believe it is at all fair. Allow me to explain...

If we ever fail to deliver to the standards that we and our customers have come to expect, we do everything we can to immediately acknowledge and rectify the situation.

Following the tour, you mentioned to your guide that you weren't overly satisfied. She immediately got me on the phone so I could speak with you about the experience. As a token of our commitment to guest satisfaction we immediately issued a 50% refund for your group and asked if there was anything else that could be done. You were very appreciative and acknowledged that our speedy response to an unfortunate situation was outstanding customer service.

I am glad that you enjoyed the experience at the Bearfoot Bistro. They are definitely a highlight of the tour and always enjoyed by our guest. Beyond that, we take pride in all of our partners, as every stop on this tour is an award-wining restaurant and there are definitely no pubs. I would encourage anyone reading this post to visit our partner websites to get a sense of the restaurants we visit on our Finer Things Tour:

Bearfoot Bistro
Hy's Steakhouse
Quattro
Firerock Lounge

In speaking with your guide Marie, one of our best and someone you acknowledged was fabulous, she approached you at the main course location to see if everything was satisfactory as she sensed your mood had changed. You proceeded to tell her that everything was fine. When she continued to feel as though this was not the case she went and asked the restaurant manager to approach you. Again, you told him that everything was fine.

Following the tour we learned that the restaurant made an error by serving you a main course sided with the regular signature pasta that is moderately spicy instead of the special requested non-spicy pasta side. This was unfortunate, but occasional errors do happen at busy restaurants, and we would have been happy to provide a new dish had we been informed.

As advertised, we have two sweet stops on tour, Rogers Chocolates and Rocky Mountain Chocolate. We then finish with artisan cheese plates at the final stop. The cheese is paired to balance the sweet BC icewine served, following a few sweet stops.

That said, it did sound like the cheese plates on that day were not the portion that they should have been and were made by a new restaurant staff member who wasn't properly trained on the procedure. However, as you acknowledged in our conversation the quality was still high. We immediately addressed this with our partner restaurant to avoid this situation in the future.

I hope that readers understand that we take customer service very seriously and strive for 100% guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun time”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a great thing to do your first night in Whistler, then come back to your favorite places. Tamara was awesome, very informative, and the poker trivia game was fun. She makes sure to know all the food allergies before hand so she can make sure you have the best experiences at all the places you go to. She even brought back our umbrella to our hotel without us knowing it when we left it behind, so when we checked out we had it again. Very worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank raininroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great way to see the village and try new places”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I wanted to do something special for the group I was with and arranged to do the tour. It was truly exceptional! From the organizing of it with Skai to the lovely and charming Marie who hosted us, everyone had a great time. The places were wonderful (they are still taking about sabering the chanpagne!) and the format provides an opportunity to connect with different people as the tour moves from place to place. Marie made it interesting and fun. I personally love food tours and attend them in different cities when I can as I think it is a great way to see a place, to learn about the area and to discover new restaurants. Whistler Tasting tours did all that! Definitely worth the experience. You will love it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank patsychom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara L, Manager at Whistler Tasting Tours, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback as we love hearing from our guests on there overall experience. We take great pride in knowing that from the beginning of the reservation to being on the Finer Things tour that you had an exceptional experience with us.

Whistler is a wonderful place to explore fabulous restaurants, meet new people, learn the 'art of sabering' and savour different chef's creations. It is a truly great experience that we're very happy that we can share.

We will be sure to pass along your positive feedback to Skai and Marie and we hope that the rest of your time is Whistler was nothing but fantastic. Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Job!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Whistler Tours,

We all had an amazing time.

Tamara was an excellent tour guide.

We would highly recommend this tour to our friends and family.

Thank you for the great experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BKSBKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara L, Manager at Whistler Tasting Tours, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and having us host your family affair! We appreciate knowing that you had a wonderful tour with great memories to take home.

It was a pleasure meeting such an amazing family and all the best in the year to come. We hope to see your family back again as newlyweds! Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whistler Tasting Tours also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Whistler Tasting Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing