We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unclean hotel, decent location, bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whistler Peak Lodge
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very unclean hotel, decent location, bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

You get what you pay for at this dump. What hotel doesn't allow you to go to your room from the front lobby? Seriously? yeah this place was cheap, but it showed as when you were barely greeted during checkin and when you asked to store snowboards it felt like you were bothering them.

Then, you have to go outside, drag all of your stuff without any assistance, and go through several steps across a communical hot tub area before getting into your room. It feels like some old roadside motel.

Not a great experience, especially when you see other hotels (just next door - Pan Pacific), smiling at families that check in, eager to help with luggage, etc. Saved a few bucks, but a very unpleasant expereience.

Also, there was a dinette set in the room. The stove was dirty, the microwave had leftover popcorn in it, there was a big black stain on the rug that we didn't even want to know what it is (we covered with a towel). I saw some good review earlier on this hotel...have people trashed this place so much? and have they not cleaned it up and restored it to just decent quality?

Next time I will be staying at another hotel, definitely. The cheap price isn't even worth the headaches.

Room Tip: Also, no restaurant at this place...stay at the pan pacific next door, or better yet, stay at the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very disappointed that your experience at our property was not a pleasant one. If you wish to discuss it further please contact me directly at 604-966-3112 or at amcgee@whistlerhi.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    184
    95
    37
    16
See reviews for
117
175
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

First of all, you can't beat the location. It's located in the middle of Whistler Village and walking distance to everything, including Gondola which is like 2 min away. Last time I was in Whistler, I stayed in the Coast Hotel (used to be called Marriott Residence Inn). It was slope side so you ski in and ski out. But it's a hassle to get to all the restaurants and the village. I very much prefer Holiday Inn's location. Also, Holiday Inn's staff were very nice and helpful. Paul at front desk was awesome. I got a room with window and balcony overlooking the village walkway. The room isn't the newest, but it's nowhere near as outdated as some reviewers claimed. I have stayed in some InterContinental hotels that were more outdated than this. Besides, there's a full kitchen, fireplace, full-size dining table, and washer and dryer in unit. How often do you get all that in a hotel room? Overall, I am very satisfied. When I come back to Whistler next time, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

2 years ago for Christmas, we stayed here because I have always enjoyed Whistler and its charm. The rooms for this no frills hotel has stains (given that it's older than most other properties). The washer was broken, it overflowed and caused a huge flood in the room. The rude staff advised that it was our fault and that we did not know how to use a washer. Then, after insisting that they "show" us how to turn on the washing machine, they finally admitted their fault and advised that they would credit the night's stay of points back to us. Instead of doing that, they did only 20% of that. So 3.5 hours later, we were finally able to get our clothes washed, but were extremely tired from the experience and didn't have a great skiing day the next day because of it.

The front office manager (Anita) is extremely rude, continues to cut me off when I was making my point, and decided that this year around christmas she was not allowing any stay less than 9 nights. Needless to stay, extremely disappointed. We stayed there this year too, and they were just as rude about it, and did not resolve the case from last year. It's the attitude that is the worst part about this hotel, from the general manager on down.

Only positive is that the location is great inside Whistler village, but attitude and poor service really ruins a stay.

Did i mention to get to your room you must walk from the lobby to outside??? they sold part of their hotel to the pan pacific and you can't even go straight from the lobby to your room! Many rooms you have to walk through a makeshift hot tub and stare at some unpleasant bodies.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I am very sorry that you had an issue with your washing machine 2 years ago. If you wish to discuss it further please contact me directly. 604-966-3112.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in one of the two room suites. Very tidy, comfortable beds, immaculate bathroom and kitchen. it even had it's own 'in suite' laundry.
Great location, 2 min walk to the gondola.
Scottish fellow who greeted us at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful, will return in the future!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IslandZombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
275 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Last minute, lucky Thanksgiving weekend booking. Reception staff both during phone booking and at check-in were lovely and so helpful. This hotel is very large and has elevators. We arrived very early but were immediately given access to our Deluxe Studio rooms. Comfy queen beds and a large Murphy Bed which looked extremely comfortable, in each studio. We had adjoining studio rooms. As a family of 2 couples, this gave us privacy or we could come and go. Beautiful and clean premises. Amazing full kitchens with top quality equipment and china etc., Domestic size frig, oven, dishwasher and microwave. Enabled cooking up a good meal and eating together.Washing machine and clothes dryer a big bonus. Bathrobes supplied and bathrooms were spacious, as was bedroom, kitchen and lounge area. Different colour schemes in both studios which really shows great attention to detail. All furnishings and fittings were luxurious and heaps of storage. Air-conditioning and heating and fireplace. View out over retail mall from lounge windows. We chose self-parking, at $15 a bargain for safe and easy undercover parking. The studio was outstanding value for money. Loved it. This hotel is very close to many restaurants.Close to grocery store and ATM.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our associates and the property. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA State
Level Contributor
220 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had some business to conduct in Whistler and our own place was not available so we needed reasonably priced one night lodging in Whistler. Many places have a minimum stay of 2 or 3 nights so that already eliminated many. The Holiday Inn had a very good price (still early season).

It met our need of one night lodging at a great price. The location is excellent. Accommodations are adequate but small and basic. If were staying for a several nights you might want to rethink. The biggest drawback was that there were only two straight backed dining chairs in the room. You have to use them or sit on the bed. Lighting to read or work is limited and placed where it does not do any good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent visit to our property. While we do have standard rooms with half kitchens we also have suites with full kicthens, living and dining areas if you want something more spacious during your next visit. Please contact the hotel directly so that our associates can make sure that you have the room type that best suites your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

If you can get a room below $150 (but closer to $100) during the peak season go for it... but I've seen rates from $300-400 for a standard room, searching some dates between Dec and Feb, which would amount to highway robbery of the first degree.

The front desk wasn't very welcoming either - both at check in and checkout, to put it politely, they were stern - not even asking a courtesy question like "How was your stay?" The spa is a joke - it's a small tub that's couldn't hold more than half a dozen people - for a hotel this size that just doesn't make any sense.

Having said all that this is a Holiday Inn - so you need to adjust your expectations, even though it's located in the heart of Whistler next to 5 star hotels with fantabulous spa facilities and the like.

Holiday Inn has been trying to standardize and uplift their brand in the past couple of years, so in this respect the hotel is up to par if not a bit better than limited amount of HIs I've stayed at. Even so, seeing hairs in the shower and this being a very limited service (e.g. no breakfast) hotel put things in perspective. It's in the heart of the village but it's a bit of weird complex in terms of layout so you have to kind of wander around to find your elevator and eventual room so pay close attention at checking or you might get lost.

Room Tip: try to get a top floor room to avoid stomping boots from the floors above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jurajfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that your experience was below your expectations. If you wish to discuss it further please contact me directly at amcgee@whistlerhi.com .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#17 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Peak Lodge

Property: Whistler Peak Lodge
Address: 4295 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistler Peak Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whistler Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Whistler Village Hotel Whistler
Whistler Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing