We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We (2 adults and a 14 yr-old) stayed 1 week in a 7th floor 1-bed valley view suite and loved every minute of it. The view up the Blackcomb side of the valley is delightful, even if not a full-on mountain view. We had no problem with noise from down below - or from other rooms - and reckon this must easily be one of the best hotels for peace and quiet in the vicinity of the skiers' plaza, where most hotels are above bars or the main street. Maybe rooms lower down, mountain-view/above the pool would be noisier. The access to the Blackcomb and Whistler gondolas is less than 60 paces - utterly wonderful - especially with children. Although the in-house ski lockers are smallish, having them on the ground floor makes life blissfully easy...and (on the advice of a concierge) we took our boots upstairs to our bathroom each night to create more space. We were impressed with how well equipped our kitchen was - the only downside being the blunt kitchen knives. The extras that make staying here amazing include, the free chocolate cookies delivered each evening to children, the pool terrace and hot pools for restoring sore limbs when you come down from the slopes, the full-sized bath and shower in the apartment, and the in-house Salomon rental store. There is also an exclusive view of the Fire and Ice show every Sunday from the pool terrace, with complimentary hot chocolate to keep you warm while watching. We did not have a problem with WiFi connection, although it was a bit slow. Other hotels may have slightly larger rooms, but you simply cannot beat the location and overall experience here.

Room Tip: If you value quiet - go for 5th floor and up and maybe valley view rather than mountain or village v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for kindly sharing your experiences of our property from your time here in Whistler with us.

I am so happy to read that your family had such a great time whilst staying here and it is very pleasing to see that you enjoyed the beautiful views from your suite, the serenity and convenience to everything local.

There's certainly a lot to be said for not needing to walk more than a few steps from your front door to the slopes and as for soaking those weary limbs after a hard day on the hill - nothing beats a great hot tub!

Glad to read that the childrens winter cookie program was a big hit along with the hot chocolate on our pool deck for the regular fire & ice shows - Thank you greatly for sharing these tips.

Just for your reference, we do have some larger 2 bedroom suites other than the 1 bedroom your family stayed in, should you wish to consider this for the future.

Thank you once again for your generous review and hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We could not have asked for a more perfect location, or more helpful and accommodating hosts, when it cam to the Pan Pacific Mountainside Whistler. We booked a 2 bedroom mountainside suite and it lived up to all of our expectations. The ski rentals were right inside the accommodation, the lifts were right outside our back door and we were located right on the village walk for a 3 min stroll into "town". It was the first time we have stayed in a ski in/ski out location, and I think we are hooked, and won't stay out of the snow again. When we come back, we are certainly staying here. Thanks Pan Pacific, keep up to your lofty standards.

Room Tip: Try for a higher corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obie00011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you kindly for generously sharing your experiences with us online here.

I am thrilled to read that everything from your 2 bedroom suite, the rental store set up in our lobby and our convenient location so perfectly suited your needs allowing for ski in / ski out access.

It sounds like you had a great time and we shall look forward to hopefully welcoming you back for many more.

Best regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Pan Pacific Mountainside for 8 nights with our 5 year old son during the week before Christmas. We got a great deal by making an early reservation for a one bedroom suite as well as discounts on ski rentals, lift tickets, and lessons. Pan Pacific Guest Services handled everything for us, including making restaurant reservations and arranging for a babysitter, so a couple of emails and everything was taken care of and quickly confirmed. We traveled to and from Vancouver airport on Pacific Coach which is about a 2 1/2 hour ride and delivers and picks up right at the hotel, so no need for a car, especially since Whistler is a pedestrian village. We have stayed at Whistler before but this was the first time at the Pan Pacific Mountainside. As other reviewers have noted, the location is perfect. The room was large, the bed comfortable and the fold out sofa in the living room was perfect for our son. Bathroom was large enough and well fitted out. It was very convenient having a kitchen, which had everything we needed to make breakfast most mornings before going out to ski. There is a well stocked village market not far from the hotel where you can buy everything you need in the way of food and provisions -- for a small fee, the hotel will even do your shopping for you prior to your arrival so everything is already waiting in your room. The hotel staff is well trained, professional and friendly. The chocolate chip cookies delivered to our room every evening were a big hit with our son. The fold up drying rack in the room was an excellent addition and well used after a day of skiing. The Irish pub in the hotel is fine for a beer and live music in the evening, but the breakfast menu is fairly mediocre and not a big draw in the morning. There are much better places for lunch and dinner, but the food is acceptable as pub food if what you want is something to eat while you have a beer. I would say that the ski locker room (each hotel room is assigned a ski locker on the ground floor) is way too small and the aisles too narrow, especially when there are a lot of people trying to get in and out in the mornings and evenings. The floor also tends to get very slick with people walking in with wet boots. There is only really enough room for 3-4 pair of skis in the lockers, definitely not enough room for boots and other equipment. It might be better to turn the locker room space into a ski concierge where guests could just turn in their skis and have them held until the next day, In any event, this is the only real weakness in the services provided by the hotel. Whistler is a great ski resort and the Pan Pacific Mountainside is well positioned to contribute to a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mountain have a great view, but also overlook the pool. Activities in the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hi Richard,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to provide some invaluable feedback to us all on travel site.

We are thrilled to hear that you all had a very enjoyable stay here with us in Whistler just before Xmas. It is very pleasing to read that our suites and their amenities were to your satisfaction as were your interactions with our onsite team.

Your comments and feedback for your other experiences have of course been duly noted and as always, these will be considered by our management team as we strive for continuous improvment in our efforts to constantly attain high standards and nothing but fond memories for all of our visiting guests.

I trust you all returned home and had a great Xmas and New Year and hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Best regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The location was great, right next to the gondolas/lifts for both Blackcomb and Whistler, and the staff were super helpful. However I took a star off for the horrible wifi. I wish I had read an earlier April 2013 review that said "the free wi-fi in this room was worthless. Either the pages wouldn't load and, if they did, it would have been faster to walk to the library and look up the information." I completely agree. Internet connection was intermittent for all of our three laptops (two versions of macs, and a PC), and the lack of connection kept booting me off of my work's VPN. We called the IT help desk two days in a row. We tried to get the direct ethernet cable to work, but it didn't. The IT help desk worked with us, concluded the problem was on the hotel's end, and called them Jan 2. We called the front desk three days in a row (Jan 2, 3 and 4) before being told that the problem was on our end and we should call their IT help desk (does this sound like a vicious cycle to you?). This internet was worse than in Morocco, and certainly not the standard we expect. We have traveled all over Asia and Europe and have never had anything this bad.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool have a fantastic view of the Fire and Ice show. However the pool is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Li L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on this site.

I am very pleased to read that our convenient location and all interactions with our Pan Pacific Whistler team were to your satisfaction.

Naturally, it is very disappointing to learn that you experienced a number of challenges with our Wi Fi throughout your stay that it appears we were unable to resolve.

Your candid and honest feedback on this issue has already been passed onto our senior management team and everything has been done to try and ensure that these issues will not be experienced again.

Warm regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have stayed at the Pan pacific three times and it really is the best location bar none. there are other more luxe properties at whistler (4 seasons, westin etc) but you just cant beat the location. rooms are starting to look just a little rough around the edges and it could use a renovation, but overall its still a strong 4* property.
highlights other than location: the outdoor pool facing the mountain, and the irish pub on the main floor.
suggestions: a full service restaurant on site.
Bonus: if you are intermediate or better, and the budget allows, book the whistler heli skiing experience just next door at Carleton lodge. Its completely un forgettable!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Robert,

Thank you ever so kindly for taking the time to share your thoughts with our online community here.

We are thrilled to see that you felt so positively about the benefits of our location at the foot of the slopes and managed to take advantage of the amazing views from our pool deck and sample some of the delights from our Dubh Linn gate restaurant and pub.

Your comments are appreciated and your feedback will most certainly be taken into consideration.

Here's hoping we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013 (using our Amex points) and had a great time. The room, which had a king size bed in one room and a pull out full couch in the living room (for our teenage son) was separated by a gas fireplace worked out perfectly. We had a full kitchen so we ate breakfast and lunch at home and went out for supper. We had a small balcony but it looked out on the mountain. The staff were very nice but the parking fees are really high if you drive up. I had read the restaurant reviews on tripadvisor and they were all great. Our place had a small balcony which looked out on the mountain which was ok. We rented (me skis and my son snowboard) right there at the hotel. Unfortunately, my son didn't get fitted correctly (his boots were hanging over the board)and we spent a couple more hours at another shop on the mt. getting refitted. We learned that you always need to check your equipment before you jump on the gondola. I complained when we finally got back to the hotel and the shop credited us his rental for the day. We also met a great mountain host that showed us where to go and gave us a voucher for two great coffee drinks at the mountain lodge. Skiing in Canada is definitely different then skiing the east and even in Denver or Utah. There are not many crowds and the trails are wide and long.....loved it. Next on the list is Banff!
I want to go to Banff next.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethBO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you kindly for your review and comments you've shared with our online community.

We are very pleased to read that you had a great time here in Whistler resort and Canada has etched a place in your memory.

It is always pleasing to read that our guests find our room layout and size to their liking and that yours worked out so well for your visit with us.

We are, of course, sorry to hear that you had a few teething problems with your rental equipment, although I'm very glad to read that they remedied their issue and hopefully there was no lasting damage done.

Naturally we'd love to see you back here in Whistler, but wish you nothing but fond memories from wherever you travel.

Best regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Rooms are amazine, even Village view exposes the imposing moutains nearby. Each room has its own balcony and open fire. Loved the rooms, cleanliness was amazing. Facilities include a wicked Irish Pub and you can ski from the moutain straight to your ski locker in the hotel. Young but attentive staff and no issues, wil stay here again.

Room Tip: No tips needed, but do consider paying $40 buck more for a room on levl 6/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 97CarlW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with the online travel community.

I am very happy to see that you so enjoyed your stay here with us in resort.

It is great to read that you thoroughly appreciated your suite and its amenities, the amazing views of the mountains from your room and balcony and sounds like you may have partaken in one or two glasses within our Dubh Linn Gate pub.

We might just hold you to you word and of course, we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back some day.

Best regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
2,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside

Address: 4320 Sundial Pl, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#6 Family Hotel in Whistler
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £107 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside is Whistler's Best Address, ideally located in the heart of the pedestrian-only Whistler Village and the closest you can get to both the Whistler and Blackcomb gondolas. This award winning, full-service, boutique hotel offers an intimate ambience while featuring 121 well-appointed luxurious hotel suites all complete with full kitchen, fireplace, balcony, floor-to-ceiling windows, deluxe Embrace amenities and spectacular valley or mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Whistler Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing