We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful places in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Whistler is the kind of place I would want to live year round. You have no idea how wonderful this place is until you actually visit. The skiing is fantastic, but the town itself is the real gem. All the stuff they did to get ready for the Olympic games really makes this place great. There is so much to do. We stayed at the Fairmont Chateau and it was one of the best hotel experiences of my life. We stayed in the Fairmont Gold and the staff there was one of the best I've ever come across. In a word, it was wonderful. If you ever get a chance to stay there and can stay in the Fairmont Gold, do it. It is well worth it. Hors d'oeuvres and tea are served at 4 every day, and get you through for a late dinner. They have local beer there as well.

Room Tip: Stay in the Fairmont Gold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradjordanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your exceptional experience with us. Our Fairmont Gold team will be thrilled to hear about how positively they influenced your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,043 - 3,049 of 3,548 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed at the Fairmont a few years ago. We were impressed by the restaurants and fitness facilities at the time but felt the rooms were pretty tired and behind the times (think mid 80s style décor). Due to having a pleasant stay (we didn't have a car with us then or a laptop etc.) we decided to use the Fairmont again this year.

We thought as the Olympics had passed by the Fairmont may have had a refit to cater to the crowds. Well it's obvious they decided not to bother and cash in on captive audience with its very tired rooms for a few more years. The room we had this time instead of the fruit pastel pink of last time was old pub brown style. Compared to the other high-end/boutique hotel rooms we had experienced so far on our holiday it was like going back in time. It seems the Fairmont thinks sticking a 40” LCD TV in a room is enough. It really isn't.

The room wasn't that clean, we had toothpaste smears all over the bathroom, marks on the frankly awful carpet that I wouldn't use in a shed. If you get room near the elevators you will hear crowds of Australian package tour folks chatting up and down the corridors well into the late hours. I had to get out twice to ask folks to shut up and party in their rooms instead of the corridors. The rooms are not very well sound proofed, another indication of their old design. The maids also sound like they are doing woodwork in the mornings rather than just folding sheets etc. Oh yes and the maids have this bizzare thing with drinking glasses. Leave a couple of glasses out with some overnight drinking water still in them and you'll find one has been replaced/cleaned and the other left on the dresser with a coaster on top (happened every day)!??!

Other niggles? The Fairmont also shows its age in loving your wallet a bit too much. You pay a lot to stay in a resort hotel so you come to expect a few things included. The Fairmont was the only hotel on our three week trip that still expects you to pay for internet access. You get a card that states you have access but when you connect you are told you have to pay $15 for a days surfing. Look I'm having to pay $30 a day to park my car in your hotel I'm not giving you money for that too. Even say 15 minutes complimentary a day would suffice but no, you have to pay more. We went without, its not worth $15 to us for 10 minutes use.

My other half wanted to use the lap pool, when she got down there in her swimsuit and bathrobe she was told it was closed for cleaning. My other half protested that as they wanted us to pay for everything else it would be nice to use some of the facilities that were already paid for, they just shrugged and said they could arrange for her to use a community pool the other side of town. Well that's handy!

It wasn't all bad, the dining, though pricey is very good and the staff are very attentive. They had several offers on as it wasn't high season so they worked well. The gym and pool when open were very good too and the overall first impression of the hotel is excellent. It's just the rooms are so behind the times and some of the little things you take for granted in other hotels cost a lot extra at this one. Unfortunately, as it caters to a pretty captive audience I'm sure it will get away with this for some years to come. We will stay elsewhere next time and maybe just go there for a meal. Check around the other hotels in Whistler carefully before settling on this one. It's not quite as good as it looks.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daglesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed much of your return stay. However, we were disappointed to learn that your guest room was not to your satisfaction. Please rest assured that providing our guests with an updated room product is a priority. We had the pleasure of renovating a number of our guest rooms in the fall of 2010.

Members of our loyalty program, Fairmont President's Club, do enjoy complimentary access to the internet at any of our hotels and resorts. This is just one of the many benefits of belonging to Fairmont President's Club. It was concerning to read that this appears to not have been an option that was extended to you.

We would welcome you to contact us to discuss your experience in greater detail. The Manager on Duty can be reached by calling 6049382030 or emailing us at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We have been staying at the Chateau almost yearly since we had our wedding there in 1991. I love this hotel, especially in the summer, it is kind of liek a cruise ship, you really don't ahve to leave for anything. HOWEVER, I ahve really noticed in the past 2 years that it feels tired. THe pool area and spa could use an upgrade, the room decor is nice, but, like I said, tired. Still, the restaurants are excellent- Portobello downstairs is the best deal in Whistler, and this really is the best location- the village is really loud. The lobby is gorgeous and I have always found the staff to be excellent. We will continue to stay here, I just hope they renovate soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler over the last twenty years. We were very pleased to read about all the things you enjoy about our property. Please rest assured that we will continue to invest in our property each year. For example, over the last eighteen months we have updated our lobby, renovated one hundred guest rooms, upgraded all of our televsions and added high definition programming, and refreshed all of our pool deck furniture. Improvements such as these will remain a top priority for our hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, and genuinely look forward to continuing to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We used to stay at what was originally called the Delta long before it became the Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Back in those days the rooms were top notch. Now they are still clean and comforatble but a little tired. For instance, there is no stand alone shower in most bathrooms...you have to shower in the smallish tub.

Still the staff are mostly friendly Canadians who try hard to please. And dogs are made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldtimer55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed at the Chateau for ten days as a relaxing getaway/ ski holiday in April 2011 and did not regret it. The room price was relatively low as we booked through Ski Dream and got a good deal but, as is the case with 5*s, dining, drinks and incidental items were expensive.

Six reasons to stay at this hotel:

1. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. In particular the concierge booked all of our ski hire, rentals and passes for us beforehand and made sure we got good deals on everything.

2. The ski concierge service and proximity to the slopes (the Blackcomb 'Wizard Express' lift is literally a minute away from the hotel) was great for a primarily skiing holiday.

3. Rooms were roomy and large with a fridge and kettle so no need to rely on room service all of the time. We asked for and received a great view of the mountains/ slopes.

4. The hotel only seemed to be about 50% occupied despite the excellent snow and consequently there were some good deals on dining options available.

5. The Mallard Bar was very atmospheric for both après ski and evening drinks.

6. Sitting outside overlooking the slopes in the hot tub at the end of the day felt very decadent indeed.

Overall a very well furnished and designed hotel maintained to high standards. Also of note was the complimentary bus service to Whistler Village (only a ten minute walk away) and the free high speed internet/ wifi (but make sure that you enrol - for free - into the Fairmont President's Club to receive this).

We would definitely consider this hotel again for a future stay in Whistler.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We were lucky enough to stay at the fairmont on the gold floor. What a treat. It was fantastic. Lauren and all the staff were so polite and helpful and as a previous writer said the spring rolls were to die for. We had 2 days of luxurynat a very reasonable. My 11 year old daughter,already a seasoned traveller declared it the best hotel. And we stayed at the savoy( before the refit) if you get the chance go and enjoy. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkBobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Such a pleasure to stay in a well run hotel, exceptional service, totally customer focused. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £145 - £892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing