We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms here are MASSIVE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The rooms here are MASSIVE!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I could not believe how big the rooms in this hotel were - HUGE! I had to find my way through my suite - which had 2 bathrooms - one was larger than my dining room..... a walk in wardrobe!!!! 2 fireplaces..... it keeps going.... wow. Loved it. :-)

still smiling! :-)

The view from the lobby is fantastic.

Ate dinner at The Wine Room - it was really excellent food, a nice varied menu, great service.

Location, not in the main village - this is the only downside to the hotel but there is a gondola so you can ski in and out in season.

Room Tip: Go Fairmont Gold
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffybinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your exceptional experience with us at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read how much you enjoyed your suite on Fairmont Gold as well as your dining experience in The Wine Room.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,177
    681
    246
    88
    51
See reviews for
982
1,127
81
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Nice location, spa is great though pricey. comfortable place for a weekend getaway,

Room Tip: Queen sized eds on the 10th floor are quieter and closer to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 154949Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The health club is nice. Room is clean. The wildflower restaurant offers 50% off special between 5-6pm. The food is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skywalkerinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The staff were very curteous and customer-service oriented making for a hassle free stay. Had our dinners at The Wildflower restaurant and the food was great. During our stay, they had dinner specials which were very economical for the quality of food we got.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 604travellingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I have to agree with Kimperly the hotel has a tired feel, especially the furniture in the bedrooms which has the finish worn off them, the old fashioned tub shower combination etc. ( Having said that, the staff were exemplary. The worst was charging $14.95 a day for internet ! now that's bad, in this day and age when even the lowest of motels include it for free and I can't remember when I last had to pay for a connection. We did however enjoy an excellent meal in the Wildflower on one of their 50% of nights and later a 2 for 1 in the Wine room which was also excellent although slightly marred by the main course being luke warm. The basement has a cafeteria style sandwich and pizza place which is very good .. it wouldn't take too much to update the place, it has the wonderful location excellent staff but it is feeling tired..

Room Tip: if you are on the 10th floor stay away from the elevators as the machinery emits a whine every time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diselhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferTice, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the service and our dining experience.

We do offer complimentary internet to our Fairmont President’s Club members which is a free program that all guests can sign up for online or at the front desk in the hotel. Not only will you receive complimentary internet at all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts, you will have access to exclusive offers and the opportunity for free upgrades and extra amenities.

If you would like to discuss your recent stay with us in more detail, please feel free to contact our front office staff at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Pros - Nice pool, nice hotel, steam room, sauna, hot tubs, large indoor/outdoor pool. They offer towels flip flops, sunscreen. The rooms are a little dated but not too bad value for what you get. It is in the upper village so no screaming drunks, quite a bit more quiet and calm at blackcomb base. Only 5min walk to lower village down a lit path. Blackcomb base always has farmers market on weekends and kids fun zone in summer. I would stay again, especially if you are looking for more of a relaxing trip but still close enought to the party (lower village)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We spent two nights at the Fairmont Chateau and had a very lovely stay. The room was nice and large and the bed was heavenly. However, we were put at the very end of the hall, farthest away from the elevators, which was quiet but quite a far walk as I am currently 7 months pregnant.
The main restaurant seemed overpriced for breakfast but then I discovered Portobello Market & Fresh Bakery which was extremely affordable and had fantastic food. Plus, the chef was cheerful and helpful, which was a bonus.
The hotel is far from the village, but we already knew that so it was not a surprise or a drawback for us. The nice part about Tripadvisor is that there is map showing you where the hotel is when you are looking at different hotels.
The only drawback is the lack of extra parking in the hotel parkade. Though we managed to find parking both nights, it always seemed as though we got the last spot and sometimes quite a trek away from the elevators. Not sure how/if this can be remedied.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing