We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Couldn't fault the attentiveness of the staff at the Fairmont Whistler. Nothing is too much of a problem. Being from New Zealand it took awhile to get used to seeing dogs lying on the furniture in the lobby but dogs seemed to have a high level of importance there. I dined at two lovely restaurants. The food was of a very high standard. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,559 - 2,565 of 3,575 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. One thing to know ahead of time is that Whistler is expensive. You will end up spending a good deal of money at any hotel you stay at and this is true with the Fairmont as well. However, I feel that every penny you pay at this hotel is worth it. The place is amazingly beautiful and the staff is great. It was my wife and I's anniversary and the manager had a gift delivered to our room waiting when we arrived back from a day of snowboarding. The service of finishing your final run, dropping off you snowboard with the staff and being handed a warm cup of hot cocoa can't be beat. The hotel is in a great location with the slopes, village, snowshoeing, etc nearby. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a memorable experience at a great location and hotel!

Room Tip: higher floors have beautiful rooms on both sides of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheridda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary, we are glad our team was able to make it a memorable one for you and your wife.

Thank you again for sharing this great feedback of your recent stay which will help to let other people know of the great service we provide here at Fairmont. I hope we can welcome you and your family back to Whistler again soon!

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was our third visit to a Fairmont hotel in Canada. We'd tried Chateau Lake Louise and Mont Tremblant and we think that Whistler comes in between the two. .( Mont Tremblant being the best) It is a very comfortable hotel, especially the gorgeous beds. The breakfasts were nice but a bit expensive. You can choose between the hot or cold buffet. We chose the cold and this includes toast. I think parts of the hotel are starting to be a bit tired, particularly the rooms, but it's still a smart hotel to stay in.

It 's situated in a good location for the hill and the frequent Fairmont shuttle bus to the village was brilliant. The drivers were great with suggestions for dinner venues and kindly waited for us one night when we had to run to catch it. One suggestion was the Spaghetti House. Family friendly it suited us fine and was one of the nicest meals we had.
There was little, if anything much to do with my 2 year old grandson but we passed the time walking to the small adventure park, or swimming in the hotel pool, or riding on the shuttle bus to different parts of the village. One day we took the gondola up to meet the rest of our group and did the Peak to Peak trip. That was beautiful and shouldn't be missed. Another great treat was the Fire and Ice show on Sunday evening, and it's free. On a separate occasion we went to the Sliding Centre where Amy Williams achieved her Gold medal. I'm told the skiing was challenging in places but the area is vast with runs to suit everyone. just a shame I wasn't skiing this year. May try next year if we return and when the little one is ready for some skis.

Room Tip: If you can, try and avoid rooms near the lifts as ours was noisy at times. It had a good view as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you were able to visit a number of the attractions in Whistler and make the most of your time in Whistler with small children.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Ski school in Whistler starts at age 3, so before you know it your grandson will be able to enjoy skiing as well!

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Excellent ski in/ski out set up. Close to Blackcomb lifts and straight up the mountain! Ski Blackcomb or take the Peak to Peak to Whistler mountain.

Great attentive team in the boot & ski check area.

Excellent concierge service with handy tips.

Front desk also great. Appreciated service and understanding on checkout from Madison and duty manager Stu.

Room Tip: 9th floor slopeside had a good view of the mountains. Higher would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WLG-NZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont for a long recent weekend, during my first trip to Whistler. Prices were RIDICULOUS as it was peak ski season, but we paid since the hotel's location and reputation are so great. It's located right at the base of Blackcomb and a short walk/shuttle to Whistler (Mountain) and Whistler Village.

This hotel was comparable to other Fairmonts I've stayed at, so it definitely met expectations, sometimes exceeding. There are a lot of spas and pools, both indoor and out, to enjoy, plus steam rooms. There was even spa-side drink service; we didn't even have to leave the hot tub to get some beverages. The view from our room was of very charming, snowy trees. Service was great and the hotel had a nice lodge-y feel that I'd hope for in Whistler. You can also call the concierge ahead of arrival to make arrangements for ski lessons/rentals/lift tickets. This was really helpful, and you can pick up all your gear there at the hotel. Downsides: There were no robes in our room and we had to request them before we could head down to the spa. We got a handicapped room, which is just a bit of a bummer (as the door handles were SUPER low and we're SUPER tall, stuff like that) and nothing to fault the Fairmont for really. The bed was lumpy and not particularly comfy; I was happy to sleep in my own when I got home. Drinks and food and everything was VERY expensive (but delicious, of course).

I'd stay here again, although I'd try to come when it's not peak season to try and get a better deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srlndstrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights over the weekend and are glad we stayed at the Fairmont. In a nutshell, I would recommend the hotel as a consistently good place to stay. I have been here before and always appreciate the level of service. There was a slight misstep at check-in and without question, the front desk clerk corrected the issued immediately and even compensated us for the inconvenience. Not needed but it was great to see how empowered the front desk was.

I have stayed here many times and enjoy the amenities though the room seemed like a candidate for refurbishment in the next while. One small inconvenience was the sound of the pipes which we heard a few times. Nothing that caused us to switch rooms but just a note. Overall, the hotel is in a great location and the level of service made out stay super comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay with us at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We are glad to hear to our service and amenities have brought you back to stay with us several times.

We certainly strive here at the hotel to empower all of our colleagues to make a difference in a guests stay and we are glad to hear this was positively received. I hope we can welcome you back to Whistler again soon for another ski holiday!

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

5 stars for location and ease in getting your skis in the morning and walking up a flight of stairs to get on a ski lift.

5-stars-very kid-friendly

Someone else had mentioned this earlier in one of the reviews-no robes in the rooms.

Bathrooms need an upgrade.

Need more dinner options for kids and adults-if you call yourself a resort-need more variety-the wildflower needs to have daily specials.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Brit II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,974 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £176 - £1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing