We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a few minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a 3 night stay in deluxe slope side view king room early December with a buy two, third night free deal. Check in was friendly and efficient, though our safe didn't work when we got to our room. We went out and had our luggage moved to another room for our return, which also had a broken safe. Not a huge issue, but it should have been checked. The staff handled it well though, and gave us free wifi for our stay, though for a hotel of this class/price level it should be included for free. Rooms were clean with very comfortable beds.

We rented snowboard gear in the shop downstairs, staff were helpful and knowledgeable, and quick to check in/out gear. Views from the room were nice, and only a 5 minute walk to the main village. Check out El Furno for a good cheap meal after a good days snowboarding.

Would stay here again if we could get a similar deal next time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,229 - 2,235 of 3,506 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Staying for the first time at the Fairmont Whistler. The service has been amazing, from front desk to turn down service. We have a child with severe food allergies, and there hasn't been one person or place in this hotel that hasn't bent over backward to make sure that he got what he wanted to eat and in a safe manner for him, even Chocolate cake! I've never seen better handling of this issue anywhere! So grateful for the great staff here!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank MamaPKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Guest,

WOW - Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay. I'm so glad that you and your family felt comfortable dining with us, even with your child's severe allergies. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests.

We look forward to wlecoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Group of us stayed at the Fairmont in Whister for meetings in early December. Check in was quick and efficient, room was very well appointed - even the hallways are attractive. Over the week we had lunches catered to our meeting room - all timely, good variety and excellent food. Very nice lounge with good service. Restaurant has an excellent breakfast buffet - very attentive servers as well. Hotel is a short walk (less than 15 min) from the heart of Whistler. We had attendees in from a number of countries and all were impressed.

Room Tip: I'm sure there are no bad rooms. I had a magnificent nite view out the front as all the trees we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Great resort at the base of Blackcomb! The room and housekeeping was excellent. The bar area was great fun for après ski for the whole family! Only negatives were that the spa did not provide friendly service and we were not able to check until after 4. All in all very fun though!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Bruce,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay here at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We are so pleased to see your comments about The Mallard Lounge, and I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our team.

I am disappointed to hear that you didn't experience friendly service in the spa. December certainly has been a busy month in Whistler, however, it does not excuse the shortfalls in service and that you did experienced during your stay.

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

First, the hotel is in a perfect location, the restaurants serve tasty food and the rooms are nice. However, all of that is nearly ruined by staff that clearly do not care for the guests in the slightest. It is the only place I have ever been in Canada where hotel staff have been openly rude to their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests and it doesn't seem that you had a chance to experience this during your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay.

Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent one night here in a luxurious room on our way from Vancouver to Clearview. Check in was seamless with a friendly staff. We ate dinner in their restaurant and though we were late for our reservations, the staff afforded us a delicious dinner complete with excellent wine. The next morning we enjoyed their bountiful buffet breakfast and then explored the village of Whistler before setting out again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 973Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler for a longer stay in the future!
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

What a lovely break from it 'all' before Santa's arrival and the big turkey dinner!

We managed to find a great last minute room rate for this property which made the stay even more enjoyable using the WhistlerBlackcomb.com site and literally booked a day or two before we went up.

The GOOD...

First, way to go FAIRMONT - with such a wonderful collection of family-friendly, holiday-themed activities for the family including: gingerbread house decorating, ornament making, build a bear, carols by the campfire, roasted chestnuts, hot cider/cocoa stations... such a nice treat considering the snow on the mountains was quite poor. We also really appreciate that this is a PET FRIENDLY resort so pooch made the trip up too.

Being a Fairmont President's club member was also lovely and provided us with free internet and a generous reception. We asked for a room 'close to the doors/outside' as we did bring our very young puppy... which meant we did not stay on the club level. These rooms were okay. They were quite spacious and good but basic.

Check in and Check out were a breeze.

Valet was wonderful. Quick and friendly.

Turndown service was good - bottled water and chocolates and clean towels. All nice touches.


The COULD BE BETTER...

The room was a bit dirty... the shower curtain had some build up along the bottom, the glasstops on the desk, side table and round table were also dirty and dusty. It wasn't too bad but I tend to notice these sorts of things.

Our request for slippers and an extra housecoat was met eventually but a few hours after it was made and unfortunately after our return from the pool. Of course, we were there during the holidays so things were quite busy so we were understanding.

Since the snow was poor, we (and many others) did not hit the slopes as anticipated and I think this sort of trips up the housekeeping staff as people are in their rooms when normally they'd be on the slopes. When housekeeping came by in the morning we were just starting our showers so ask they return in 30 minutes.... of course and understandably they needed to move along... when they returned it was 5pm and we were just starting to get ready for a reception and so we declined. This meant that we did not get housekeeping after our first (of 2 nights) stay. We were offered clean towels, etc. so efforts were made to accommodate us as best as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tooareist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,750 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,956 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £111 - £694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing