We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont continues to not meet expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fairmont continues to not meet expectations.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Here for a ski. 4 nights. Fairmont gold at nearly 800 per night. To be honest, not worth it...hr. Suite claustraphobic...rooms very dry and cannot control the heat. The gold level is not worth it....wanted you to pay north of 15 cad for a glass of wine. Let me get this straight...we have a sure on your gold level with lounge access and you want me to pay for a glass of wine? Next time ....Four Seasons.....thx.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akoeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. As a landmark property within the resort, we strive to preserve the classic alpine setting of the hotel along with continuous upgrades and enhancements. We are concerned to hear that you were unable to get a consistent temperature in your guestroom throughout your stay, that is certainly not up to our normal standards.

I truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and will be beneficial in assisting us in the future.


Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,263
    719
    255
    90
    52
See reviews for
1,032
1,179
82
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Spring Break at the Chateau was the best decision that we could have made. Our entire family, including the teens had a marvelous time at the Health Club: the pools, hot tubs, exercise room, steam baths, sauna and amazing staff made our day away from the ski hill a re-energizing experience. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Kathryn,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay.

It is great that you had a chance to experience our newly renovation health club facilities, a serene place to relax the in the sun in this spectacular Whistler mountain resort setting.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I spent a week in Fairmont Chateau for an International Conference. The very first view of the hotel itself is a breathtaking experience. Situated right in the base of the mountain covered with snow all around, it provides an amazing place to spend your holidays or a business meet. Easy shuttle transfer from Vancouver airport. Very good sight seeing place all around. Whistler village is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel where one can find lot of places to eat and hang around. The most common thing about the hotel is "ski", everyone in the hotel with ice boot on, ready to go out and ski. Room is very beautiful with amazing view outside. Nice bathroom and amazing bed. I was provided with free wi-fi and complementary breakfast which was not common and cost a lot to other people. Nice spa and heated pool. Extremely friendly staff ready to help anytime. One of the best hotel I have ever been to, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imransiddiqui82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property, I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the service and our facilities during your visit with us. We also loved the photos you posted, you can't beat the view of the hotel on a sunny day, it's just gorgeous, thanks for sharing.

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberts creek
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Well we splurged for a couple nights in a gold suite at the Chateau and it was well worth it-for us anyways! The ski/boot storage is really efficient. The restaurants are great and the best is the gold lounge on the 8th floor with your own concierge. Here you get a great breakfast-the full eggs and bacon thing if you like, then in the evening they have appys with drinks(honour bar) and then dessert later-all part of the deal with such excellent service and friendly people. We had a non-skier in the group and they enjoyed the lounge whilst we others skied. The hot tubs/pool were super with a persistent bartender who just kept the drinks coming. This is not a place to be worrying about a budget for sure!

Room Tip: Go for the gold suite if budget is not an issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM8868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property. I am very pleased to hear you and enjoyed their visit to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler and had the opportunity to experience our Fairmont Gold product during your trip.

The Fairmont Gold floor at our hotel is ranked in the top 5 of the company and our gold floor staff strives to make every guest’s stay personalized and memorable. Our newly renovated health club facilities are becoming a hot spot for our guests, with sunshine, hot tubs and a poolside bar, there's no better place to relax in Whistler.

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned after an 11 night stay. Fairmont was great if a little expensive in bars etc. Fairmont slopeside room was more than adequate. Spacious room, massive bed, bathroom big and well equiped. We found the service very efficient and proffesional. It is well worth a visit. You have to pay for the best! Location perfect for us, on the slopes, out of the town, but only 10 minutes walk away.
Whistler itself was fantastic. Thought the whole set up and the way they run things(lifts, transport, lessons etc) was great.
Special thanks to Ian Inniss from Fairmont concierge who sorted all our needs before we arrived. Everything went perfectly. Holiday to remember. Thank you.
Oh and the skiing is fantastic!

Room Tip: Floor 10 slopeside Fairmont room was great. Very quiet great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidwquarrybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear David,
It is an absolute pleasure to hear your return visit was a great one. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Ian Inniss and our ConciergeTeam to inform them their efforts are recognized and appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share you review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel for many more years to come.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here for a conference/ski trip. Large hotel and facilities with good service. Deluxe room was nice and classically styled with comfy bed. Good bathroom. Service is good and with ski storage and your boots are warmed ready to ski out in the morning to the Blackcomb mountain. Good service on check-in, and we got in at 11am. I highly recommend the outdoor jacuzzi and fitness centre - it gets packed in the afternoon and I would suggest going around midday - sitting in a hot tub while its snowing is awesome! In the upper village which is a bit quieter, means a bit more of a walk to the restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfwayhome101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Whistler experience. I am very pleased to hear you conference enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you had a chance to experience our newly renovation health club facilities, a serene place to relax the in the sun in this spectacular Whistler mountain resort setting.
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We live in Vancouver but the Fairmont Whistler is like our home away from home. Whenever we need to get away this is our go-to family destination. Consistent friendly service; we always feel welcome by all of the staff. Some hotels and destinations can make families with small children feel like a burden. The staff here take extra care of the children. My son has a peanut allergy and every meal they come to check in with him and call him by name. We go here in all seasons. In Winter obviously for the skiing and in spring/summer for the golf/cycling/swimming and again, quick fantastic family getaway. We barely leave the hotel when here. My boys love the breakfast buffet and parents and kids alike love the Mallard Lounge. Parents can enjoy the Mallard while kids play out on the grass. In summer my husband golfs and I go to the spa. Again everything convenient and best-in-class for a great family getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Wendy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us! It's so nice to hear that you enjoy your visits with us so much! We love having you so frequently.
Being that Whistler is such a family oriented resort, it is really important to us to really provide families with outstanding service during their stays.
We are looking forward to once again welcoming you and your family 'home' to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing