We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My nineteen year old daughter and I recently enjoyed a three night stay at Fairmont Whistler. The food, facilities, and the excellent staff were all top notch. The entire stay was a real treat for both of us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on your most recent stay with your daughter. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and service during your stay.
We hope you return in the near future.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,453)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,023 - 2,029 of 3,454 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Welcome home!
This was the note that was left for our family in our room upon arriving at the Chateau Whistler.
We live in Vancouver and make whistler a family destination a few times a year. The absolute best place to stay is the Chateau Whistler and the treatment from the staff is second to none.
From the moment you arrive at the Chateau your greeting with a friendly smile from the valet attendants who are quick to help with your luggage.
The front desk attendants are very welcoming as we'll and if you are fortunate enough to meet the front desk manager Stuart Diminie your stay will be that much more special. We were fortunate to have the pleasure of dealing with Stuart years ago and he has been making our trips to whistler special ever since. Stuart goes out of his way to make sure every aspect of your stay is perfect.
Peter and Leigh in the Wild Flower restaurant always made our visits enjoyable, in fact all the staff always have time to share a warm smile and a welcome back Maxwells!
The grounds are beautiful at the Chateau and they have a large pool that is indoor/outdoor as well as four hot tubs, steam room and sauna. There is also a large fitness club with attire as well.
Easter is a favourite time for us to visit the Chateau as they put on a beautiful Easter presentation for everyone especially the kids..
Upon arriving at the Chateau for our recent visit this April we took our private elevator to our room. Upon opening the door we found inside our room robes for the kids accompanied by a card and chocolate eggs for the kids. This was all done by Stuart " Welcome Home" read the note! Our kids each had their own personal note from Stuart as well . Shortly after a knock at the door and there was a welcoming fruit tray brought to our room. This is the special personal service we get at the Chateau!
The hotel has Easter egg hunts for the kids, tours of the hotel and a banquet room full of arts and crafts, egg making , hat making and a bouncy castle and to top it off the Easter Bunny himself knocking at our door Easter morning accompanied by non other than Stuart Diminie himself!
The Chateau Whistler along with Stuart Diminie and the warm friendly staff is a big part of our annual trip to whistler as a family and we would highly recommend having you and your family experience this truly unforgettable experience!
Thank you Stuart and all the friendly staff for making us feel like we've just come home every time!

The Maxwell Family

Room Tip: Slope side deluxe room over looking pool
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,
WOW - thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay at our property! It sounds like you and your family had another great time at The Chateau and the fact that you feel at home while you're here makes us feel like we've done our jobs!

Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Stuart as well as Peter, Leigh and our grounds Team to inform them their efforts are recognized. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel for many more years to come.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

was there 3 days for networking conference
sitting in lobby unpleasant bar/restaurant women came over and told me I need to order something and cant just sit around-it wasn't said politely and was quite unpleasant and half of the lobby bar/restaurant was empty
its a grand old dame with great public spaces and a graceful ambiance

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies in failing to meet your expectations regarding your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests and unfortunately it doesn't sound like you received that. Please know that this was the exception, not the rule.
We do hope that you are able to visit Whistler again in the near future so that we can restore your faith in our brand and have the opportunity to demonstrate the true, high level of service we are known for.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This being our sixth time at the Chateau you would not be surprised if I said it pushes the right buttons. The breakfast is excellent, the bar for food and drinks is welcoming and atmospheric and the ski rental etc makes the actual getting to and from the slopes as easy as it can ever be. The concierge staff go out of their way to book restaurants etc . and you could hardly ask for more. The location too is special and it is easy to walk or get the shuttle ( which always seems to run less often than the competitor Four Seasons shuttle though...) to the lower village where the dining alternatives are getting better every year.
Whistler is a cosmopolitan town with almost every sort of cuisine available..

But do remember it is very popular with locals ( esp. Vancouverites ) too. So at weekends especially the hot tubs and pool are packed with families with children here for the weekend on deals. The Hotel also offers use of those facilities to local timeshare owners and residents....so although you like me may have shelled out a fortune to fly 11 hrs from Europe and then drive 2 more to Whistler, you are in the minority at the Chateau.

If you are not local I suggest trying to avoid weekends and Canadian holidays ..there was a new one last year for families and sometimes teachers meet ....and the children have a long weekend off..check before you book!

But it won't stop us returning,,,,,,just help us with our planning. This is a welcoming and relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
It is an absolute pleasure to hear your return visit was a great one. We were happy to see your comments on breakfast in The Wildflower as well as the menu in The Mallard Lounge. Our upper village location is perfect for those wishing some relaxation and our proximity from the main village is a nice walk any time of day, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it.

We were disappointed to hear that you didn't feel like a valued guest while at our Health Club. Our facilities are exclusive to Fairmont Guests and Health Club members, not time share owners or residents. Although we have been exceptionally busy in Whistler, it does not excuse the shortfalls in service and comfort that you did experience during your stay.

I truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments will be beneficial for us in the future. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a great resort hotel for families and friends. We stayed over the Easter weekend, and the hotel had many events for the kids. They delivered an easter treat to our room, and held an egg hunt. We've stayed several times before and have always come away happy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay over Easter weekend! We are so happy to read your comments on our events, we really had something for everyone. Hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at this conveniently located and wonderful hotel in Whistler a great number of times, and the service is quite consistent and always good. My most recent stay in April 2014 was the best yet.

The front desk service from Andrea was excellent, she dealt with some minor issues very promptly and professionally, and help make for a great stay. The room was great, nice and quiet, furnished with quality amenities. Also great service from the ski valets and restaurant staff as well.

The gluten free options in the restaurants were very nice to see as well! I'm planning on returning in the summer!

Enjoy your travels!

Travel Credentials:
SPG Platinum Ambassador
Fairmont President's Club Platinum Member
Air Canada Super Elite / Aeroplan Diamond
National Car Rental Emerald Club Executive Elite

Room Tip: Rooms away form the elevators are quieter, less foot traffic and elevator noise...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler as your destination!
We were so happy to see your comments on our service, we will be sure to pass along your kind words to Andrea at The Front Desk. We are also happy to see that you enjoyed our many gluten free options in our restaurants! We feel very strongly about having multiple menus and items for people who have different restrictions.
Thank you once again, hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We are paying $350.00 a night on a gold floor with fireplace. We came to relax for couple days and find the heavy doors slamming all night not good for a decent night sleep. Then couldn't even have relaxing cup of coffee in room as the coffee maker doesn't even work. So we informed the front desk. I guess we should have checked when we got back to the room last night. Woke up this morning to find the coffee maker in the same shape we left it, including the coffee and water still in it.
For this kind of money you would think someone would have taken care of this before we arrive as guests. Also on arrival the tv changer didn't work. I realize this is small stuff, but like i said for this money its an Inconvenience thats not needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler.
Although our Fairmont Gold is truly the ultimate in luxury Whistler hotel accommodations, it doesn't sound like you had the opportunity to experience our amenities and service to the fullest and for that, please accept our sincere apologies.

We were concerned to learn that your coffee machine as well as the tv remote was not working, we can assure you that this is the exception, not the rule. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments have been taken seriously.

As a local to Vancouver, we do hope that you are able to visit Whistler again in the near future so that we can restore your faith in our brand and have the opportunity to demonstrate the true, high level of service we are known for.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,707 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £153 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing